Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Beckmann

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Beckmann (b. 1955) conducts research in the field of sports psychology, primarily focusing on motivation and volition, and performance achievement under stress. The aim of his research is to understand the processes of motivation and volition, and to use these findings in high performance sport and in preventative health. A major focus of his research is trying to understand the neurophysiological processes which underlie motivation, learning and control of movement in stress situations.

After studying social sciences with a major in psychology at Bochum University (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) (1981), Professor Beckmann earned a PhD (1984) and acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) (1988) in psychology at the University of Mannheim (venia legendi for psychology; and in 1992 Dr. habil. LMU). From 1984 he was project director at Max-Planck Institute for Psychological Research in Munich. In 1990 he was the recipient of a Heisenberg scholarship from the German Research Foundation (DFG) and was subsequently given a faculty appointment at Florida Atlantic University in 1993. Prior to being appointed to the Chair of the Department of Sports Psychology at TUM in 2006, he held a professorship position in the Sports Psychology Department of the University of Potsdam (1997). Visiting professorships have taken him to the University of Oslo and the South West Jiao Tong University, China.


  • Heisenberg-Stipendium der DFG (1990)
  • Jungwissenschaftlerpreis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (1984)

Key Publications

Beckmann J, Elbe A: Sport Psychological Interventions in Competitive Sports. Cambridge: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2015.

Gröpel P, Baumeister RF, Beckmann J: "Action vs. state orientation and self-control performance after depletion". Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin. 2014; 40(4): 476-487.

Nixdorf I, Frank R, Hautzinger M, Beckmann J: "Prevalence of Depressive Symptoms and Correlating Variables among German Elite Athletes". Journal of Clinical Sport Psychology. 2013; 7(4): 313-326.

Beckmann J, Gröpel P, Ehrlenspiel F: "Preventing motor skill failure through hemisphere-specific priming: Cases from choking under pressure". Journal of Experimental Psychology: General. 2013; 142: 679-691.

Beckmann J, Kellmann M: “Self-regulation and recovery: Approaching an understanding of the process of recovery from stress”. Psychological Reports. 2004; 95: 1135-1153.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Beckmann

Professur

Sportpsychologie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

 Prof. Beckmann (*1955) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Sportpsychologie in den Bereichen Motivation und Volition. Sein Ziel ist, insbesondere die Prozesse der Motivation und Volition zu verstehen und diese Erkenntnisse im Leistungssport und in der Gesundheitsprävention zu nutzen. Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Verständnis der neurophysiologischen Prozesse, die der Motivation und der Bewegungssteuerung in Stresssituationen zugrunde liegen. Angesichts der in den letzten Jahren deutlich werdenden psychischen Probleme im Leistungssport entstand am Lehrstuhl ein Schwerpunkt in klinischer Sportpsychologie. Dazu gehört auch die achtsame Nutzung der Natur als Präventionsmaßnahme (Green Exercise) in einem europäischen Projektverbund.

Nach dem Studium der Sozialwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Psychologie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (1981) promovierte (1984) und habilitierte (1988) er an der Universität Mannheim in Psychologie (Venia Legendi für Psychologie; zusätzlich 1992 Dr. habil. LMU). Ab 1984 war er Projektleiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Psychologische Forschung in München. 1990 erhielt er ein Heisenberg-Stipendium der DFG und war in dieser Zeit 1993 an der Florida Atlantic University tätig. Nach einer Berufung auf die Professur für Sportpsychologie an der Universität Potsdam (1997) übernahm er 2006 den Lehrstuhl für Sportpsychologie an der TUM. Gastprofessuren führten ihn an die Universität Oslo und die Südwest Jiao Tong Universität, China. In 2018 wurde er zum Honorary Professor an der University of Queensland (School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences) ernannt.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Honorarprofessor an der University of Queensland (2018)
  • Heisenberg-Stipendium der DFG (1990)
  • Jungwissenschaftlerpreis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (1984)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Beckmann J, Gröpel P, Ehrlenspiel F: "Preventing motor skill failure through hemisphere-specific priming: Cases from choking under pressure". Journal of Experimental Psychology: General. 2013; 142 (3):679-691.

Abstract

Nixdorf I, Frank R, Hautzinger M, Beckmann J: "Prevalence of Depressive Symptoms and Correlating Variables among German Elite Athletes". Journal of Clinical Sport Psychology. 2013; 7(4):313-326.

Abstract

Kuhl J, Beckmann J: Volition and personality: Action and state orientation. Seattle, USA: Hogrefe and Huber Publishers, 1994.

Abstract

Heckhausen H, Beckmann J: "Intentional action and action slips". Psychological Review. 1990; 97(1): 36-48.

Abstract

Kuhl J, Beckmann J: Action control: From cognition to behaviour. Berlin, New York: Springer Science, 1985.

Abstract