TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Peter Böni

Professorship

Neutron Scattering

Department

Physics

Academic Career and Research Areas

Using the scattering of neutrons and photons, Prof. P. Böni (*1955) investigates the static and dynamic properties of magnetic and superconducting materials on an atomic scale in order to understand their macroscopic behavior und to make them useful for technical applications. Key questions of his research include investigations of the fundamental properties of strongly correlated electron systems near phase transitions and of magnetic heterostructures for data storage and spintronics.

After receiving the diploma in physics from ETH Zurich, Prof. P. Böni received a doctor’s degree from ETH in the field of dynamic light scattering in 1983. Prior to his employment as full professor at TUM, he worked as scientist at Brookhaven National Laboratory (until 1988) and at the Paul Scherrer Institute (until 2000), where he occupied the position of the deputy of the Laboratory for Neutron Scattering ETH & PSI. Prof. Böni is founding member of the company SwissNeutronics AG. Since 1999, he has acted as chairman of the board of management and CEO of SwissNeutronics. Prof. Böni is involved in the board of the Transregional Research Centre TRR 80 of the DFG.

Awards

  • EPS CMD Europhysics Prize of the Condensed Matter Division of the European Physical Society for outstanding achievements in condensed matter physics (2016)
  • Award for extraordinary work, Paul Scherrer Institute (1997)
  • IBM Prize of the Swiss Physical Society (1992)

Key Publications (all publications)

Weber T, Waizner J, Tucker GS, Georgii R, Kugler M, Bauer A, Pfleiderer C, Garst M, Böni P: "Field dependence of nonreciprocal magnons in chiral MnSi", Physical Review B. 2018; 97: 224403-(1-8). 

Abstract

Kreuzpaintner W, Wiedemann B, Stahn J, Moulin JF, Mayr S, Mairoser T, Schmehl A, Herrnberger A, Korelis P, Haese M, Ye J, Pomm M, Böni P, Mannhart J: "In situ Polarized Neutron Reflectometry: Epitaxial Thin-Film Growth of Fe on Cu(001) by dc Magnetron Sputtering", Physical Review Applied. 2017; 7: 054004-(1-7). 

Abstract

Mühlbauer S, Binz B, Jonietz F, Pfleiderer F, Rosch A, Neubauer A, Georgii R, Böni P: “Skyrmion Lattice in a Chiral Magnet”. Science. 2009; 323: 915-919.

Abstract

Böni P: “New Concepts for Neutron Instrumentation”, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A. 2008; 586: 1-8.

Abstract

Birgeneau RJ, Chen CY, Gabbe DR, Jenssen HP, Kastner MA, Peters CJ, Picone PJ, Thio T, Thurston TR, Tuller HL, Axe JD, Böni P, Shirane G: “Soft phonon behaviour and transport in single crystal La2CuO4”. Physical Review Letters. 1987; 59: 1329-1332.

Abstract

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Prof. Dr. Peter Böni

Fakultät

Physik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. P. Böni (*1955) erforscht mit Hilfe der Streuung von Neutronen und Photonen die statischen und dynamischen Eigenschaften von magnetischen und supraleitenden Materialien auf einer atomaren Skala, um deren makroskopisches Verhalten zu verstehen und für technische Anwendungen nutzbar zu machen. Schwerpunkte der Forschung beschäftigen sich mit stark korrelierten Elektronensystemen in der Nähe von Phasenübergängen und mit magnetischen Heterostrukturen für die Datenspeicherung und Spintronik.


Nach dem Physikstudium an der ETH Zürich promovierte Prof. P. Böni 1983 an der ETH Zürich auf dem Gebiet der dynamischen Lichtstreuung. Seine Tätigkeiten als Wissenschaftler führten ihn zunächst nach Brookhaven National Laboratory (bis 1988) und an das Paul Scherrer Institut, wo er zuletzt die Position eines stellvertretenden Leiters des Labors für Neutronenstreuung ETH & PSI inne hatte. Seit 2000 ist Prof. Böni Ordinarius des Lehrstuhls für Neutronenstreuung an der TUM. Prof. Böni ist Gründungsmitglied und seit 1999 Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender und CEO der Firma SwissNeutronics AG. Prof. Böni engagiert sich im Vorstand des Transregio TRR 80 der DFG.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • EPS CMD European Physics Preis der Abteilung kondensierte Materie der Europäischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft (2016)
  • Auszeichnung für aussergewöhnliche Leistungen, Paul Scherrer Institut (1997)
  • IBM Preis, Schweizerische Physikalische Gesellschaft (1992)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Weber T, Waizner J, Tucker GS, Georgii R, Kugler M, Bauer A, Pfleiderer C, Garst M, Böni P: "Field dependence of nonreciprocal magnons in chiral MnSi", Physical Review B. 2018; 97: 224403-(1-8). 

Abstract

Kreuzpaintner W, Wiedemann B, Stahn J, Moulin JF, Mayr S, Mairoser T, Schmehl A, Herrnberger A, Korelis P, Haese M, Ye J, Pomm M, Böni P, Mannhart J: "In situ Polarized Neutron Reflectometry: Epitaxial Thin-Film Growth of Fe on Cu(001) by dc Magnetron Sputtering", Physical Review Applied. 2017; 7: 054004-(1-7). 

Abstract

Mühlbauer S, Binz B, Jonietz F, Pfleiderer F, Rosch A, Neubauer A, Georgii R, Böni P: “Skyrmion Lattice in a Chiral Magnet”. Science. 2009; 323: 915-919.

Abstract

Böni P: “New Concepts for Neutron Instrumentation”, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A. 2008; 586: 1-8.

Abstract

Birgeneau RJ, Chen CY, Gabbe DR, Jenssen HP, Kastner MA, Peters CJ, Picone PJ, Thio T, Thurston TR, Tuller HL, Axe JD, Böni P, Shirane G: “Soft phonon behaviour and transport in single crystal La2CuO4”. Physical Review Letters. 1987; 59: 1329-1332.

Abstract