Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Bungartz

Department

Informatics

Contact Details

Visitenkarte in TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Bungartz’s (b. 1963) Chair researches the informatics of scientific computing. This covers the entire range of simulation pipeline topics – from modeling through numerical algorithms and their efficient implementation on parallel systems to HPC software and data analysis. On the applications side, his focus lies on computational fluid dynamics.

After studying mathematics, computer science and economics at TUM, he went on to complete his doctorate (1992) and lecturer qualification (1998). After that he took up the position of associate professor of mathematics in Augsburg and Chair of Computer Science in Stuttgart. He returned to TUM in 2004. Prof. Bungartz is a member of the board of the Leibniz Data Center and is an advisory board member of several HPC centers. He is spokesman of the elite Bavarian Graduate School of Computational Engineering and the Munich Center  of Advanced Computing. He is the director of the Ferienakademie, a joint program between TUM and the Universities of Erlangen and Stuttgart and is involved in the German National Academic Foundation.

Awards

  • Adjunct Professor, Fakultät für Maschinenwesen, Universität Belgrad (2008)
  • Bayerischer Habilitations-Förderpreis (1994)
  • Siemens-Promotionsstipendium (1989–1991)
  • Stipendiat der Studienstiftung (1984–1988)

Key Publications

Bungartz HJ, Mehl M, Neckel T, Weinzierl T: „The PDE framework Peano applied to fluid dynamics: An efficient implementation of a parallel multiscale fluid dynamics solver on octree-like adaptive Cartesian grids“. Computat. Mech. 2010; 46(1): 103-114.

Bungartz HJ, Zimmer S, Buchholz M, Pflüger D: Modellbildung und Simulation: Eine andwendungsorientierte Einführung. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer, 2009.

Brenk M, Bungartz HJ, Mehl M, Muntean IL, Neckel T, Weinzierl T: „Numerical simulation of particle transport in a drift ratchet“. SIAM SISC, 2008; 30(6): 2777-2798.

Abstract

Bungartz HJ, Griebel M: „Sparse grids“. Acta Numerica. 2004; 13: 147-269.

Bungartz HJ, Griebel M: „A note on the complexity of solving Poisson’s equation for spaces of bounded mixed derivatives“. J. Complexity. 1999; 15(2): 167-199.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Bungartz

Fakultät

Informatik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Bungartz (* 1963) und sein Team adressieren Informatik-Aspekte des Wissenschaftlichen Rechnens aus der gesamten Simulationspipeline – von der Modellierung über numerische Algorithmen und deren effizienter paralleler Implementierung bis hin zu HPC-Software und Datenanalyse. Anwendungsseitig reicht das Spektrum von Strömungsmechanik über Plasmaphysik und Molekulardynamik bis hin zu Algorithmen für quantenmechanische Simulationen.

Dem Studium der Mathematik, Informatik und Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der TUM schlossen sich Promotion (1992) und Habilitation (1998) ebenda an. Es folgten ein Mathematik-Extraordinariat in Augsburg und ein Informatik-Lehrstuhl in Stuttgart, bevor Prof. Bungartz 2004 an die TUM zurückkehrte. Er ist Mitglied des Direktoriums des Leibniz-Rechenzentrums, Beiratsmitglied mehrerer HPC-Zentren und Institutionen, Sprecher des Elitestudiengangs BGCE sowie Direktor der Ferienakademie Sarntal. Prof. Bungartz stand sieben Jahre der Kommission für IT-Infrastruktur der DFG vor, ist seit 2011 Vorsitzender des Vorstands des Deutschen Forschungsnetzes und seit 2016 Mitglied im Steering Committee des Council for Doctoral Education der European University Association.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • ISC PRACE Award (2013)
  • Adjunct Professor, Fakultät für Maschinenwesen, Universität Belgrad (2008)
  • Bayerischer Habilitations-Förderpreis (1994)
  • Siemens-Promotionsstipendium (1989–1991)
  • Stipendiat der Studienstiftung (1984–1988)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Jarema D, Bungartz HJ, Görler T, Jenko F, Neckel T, Told D: "Block-structured grids for Eulerian gyrokynetic simulations". Computer Physics Communications. 2015; 198:105-117.

Abstract

Peherstorfer B, Butnaru D, Willcox K, Bungartz HJ: "Localized discrete empirical interpolation method". SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing. 2014; 36(1): A168-A192.

Abstract

Bungartz HJ, Zimmer S, Buchholz M, Pflüger D: Modellbildung und Simulation: Eine anwendungsorientierte Einführung. Berlin, Heidelberg: Springer, 2. Auflage, 2013. Englische Ausgabe 2014.

Bungartz HJ, Mehl M, Neckel T, Weinzierl T: "The PDE framework Peano applied to fluid dynamics: An efficient implementation of a parallel multiscale fluid dynamics solver on octree-like adaptive Cartesian grids". Computational Mechanics. 2010; 46(1): 103-114.

Abstract

Bungartz HJ, Griebel M: "Sparse grids". Acta Numerica. 2004; 13: 147-269.