Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Darius Burschka

Associate Professor

Robotics and Embedded Systems

Department

Informatics

Contact Details

Visitenkarte in TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Burschka (b. 1966) conducts research into sensor systems in robotics and human-machine interfaces. Video-based navigation is one of his particular interests. This involves simulation of complex sensor systems through the analysis and fusion of sensor properties of physical sensor units and 3D reconstruction from the fusion of multimodal sensor data.

After completing his studies in electrical engineering and his doctorate (1998) at TUM, Prof. Burschka became a postdoctoral researcher at Yale University, New Haven, USA. There, he made advancements in the development of laser-based map generation and position tracking. After that, he worked as an associate research scientist at Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA. His research topic was sensor-based navigation and 3D reconstruction (1999-2005). He was appointed assistant research professor at the university in 2003. Since 2005, Prof. Burschka has held the position of associate professor of robotics and embedded systems at TUM. He works closely with the Institute for Robotics and Mechatronics of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen.

Awards

  • Airtec 2010 Silver Award für DLR-TUM Kooperation (2010)
  • Best paper award von Intelligent Vehicles Konferenz 2010 in Kooperation mit der BMW AG (2010)
  • Best paper finalist IROS (Robotik) 2003 und 2009
  • Best paper award von the MICCAI (Medizin) 2005

Key Publications

Mair E, Hager GD, Suppa M, Burschka D: “Adaptive and Generic Corner Detection Based on the Accelerated Segment Test.” Computer Vision. European Conference on Computer Vision ECCV 2010. 2010; 6312: 183-196.

Abstract

Burschka D, Mair E: “Direct Pose Estimation with a Monocular Camera”, Robot Vision 2008, Lecture Notes in Computer Science. 2008; 4931: 440-453.

Abstract

Burschka D, Li M, Taylor R, Hager GD, Ishii M: “Scale-Invariant Registration of Monocular Endoscopic Images to CT-Scans for Sinus Surgery”. Medical Image Analysis. 2005; 9(5):413-439.

Abstract

Burschka D, Hager GD: “V-GPS - Image-Based Control for 3D Guidance Systems”. Proc. of IROS. 2003: 1789-1795.

Abstract

Brown MZ, Burschka D, Hager GD: “Advances in Computational Stereo”. IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence. 2003; 25(8):993-1008.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Darius Burschka

Fakultät

Informatik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Burschka (*1966) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Sensorsysteme in der Robotik und der Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf video-basierter Navigation,  Nachbildung komplexer Sensorsysteme durch Analyse und Fusion von Sensoreigenschaften von physikalischen Sensoreinheiten und 3D Rekonstruktion aus Fusion von multimodalen Sensordaten.

Nach dem Studium der Elektrotechnik und der Promotion (1998) an der TUM wurde Prof. Burschka als Postdoctoral Researcher an der Yale University, New Haven, USA, tätig, wo er laser-basierte Kartengenerierung und Merkmaldetektion weiterentwickelte. Anschließend arbeitete er als Associate Research Scientist an der Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA an sensor-basierter Navigation und 3D Rekonstruktion (1999- 2005) und wurde dort im Jahre 2003 zum Assistant Research Professor berufen. Seit 2005 ist Prof. Burschka Extraordinarius für Telerobotik und Sensordatenfusion an der TUM, wo er eine enge Kooperation mit dem Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Oberpfaffenhofen betreibt.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Airtec 2010 Silver Award für DLR-TUM Kooperation (2010)
  • Best paper award von Intelligent Vehicles Konferenz 2010 in Kooperation mit der BMW AG (2010)
  • Best paper finalist IROS (Robotik) 2003 und 2009
  • Best paper award von the MICCAI (Medizin) 2005

Schlüsselpublikationen

Mair E, Hager GD, Suppa M, Burschka D: “Adaptive and Generic Corner Detection Based on the Accelerated Segment Test.” Computer Vision. European Conference on Computer Vision ECCV 2010. 2010; 6312: 183-196.

Abstract

Burschka D, Mair E: “Direct Pose Estimation with a Monocular Camera”, Robot Vision 2008, Lecture Notes in Computer Science. 2008; 4931: 440-453.

Abstract

Burschka D, Li M, Taylor R, Hager GD, Ishii M: “Scale-Invariant Registration of Monocular Endoscopic Images to CT-Scans for Sinus Surgery”. Medical Image Analysis. 2005; 9(5):413-439.

Abstract

Burschka D, Hager GD: “V-GPS - Image-Based Control for 3D Guidance Systems”. Proc. of IROS. 2003: 1789-1795.

Abstract

Brown MZ, Burschka D, Hager GD: “Advances in Computational Stereo”. IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence. 2003; 25(8):993-1008.

Abstract