Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Jia Chen

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Jia Chen’s research focuses on the study of greenhouse gas emissions and understanding the metabolism of pollutants in urban environments. Besides the development of novel, compact optical sensors, she is also interested in establishing a regional sensor network with differential column measurements. Her research topics include atmospheric measurements with solar-tracking instrumentation, Fourier transform spectrometry, tunable diode laser absorption spectroscopy with surface emitting lasers, fiber-based gas sensors, satellite based remote sensing (OCO-2), and atmospheric modeling.
Jia Chen studied electrical engineering at KIT (Dipl.-Ing.) and was awarded a PhD with distinction (summa cum laude) from TUM. From 2011 to 2015 she was a postdoctoral fellow in the Environmental Science & Engineering department at Harvard University. During that time she was a co-investigator of the NSF project “MRI: Acquisition of Mesoscale Network of Surface Sensors and Solar-tracking Spectrometers”. Since 2015 Jia Chen has headed the Environmental Sensing and Modeling group at TUM. She is also an Associate at Harvard University. She is (co-)author of more than 60 publications and has filed 11 patents.

Awards

Key Publications

Chen J, Viatte C, Hedelius JK, Jones T, Franklin JE, Parker H, Gottlieb EW, Wennberg PO, Dubey MK, Wofsy SC: "Differential Column Measurements Using Compact Solar-Tracking Spectrometers". Atmos. Chem. Phys. Discuss. 2016; doi:10.5194/acp-2015-1058.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Strzoda R, Amann MC: "VCSEL-based Calibration-free Carbon Monoxide Sensor at 2.3 µm with in-line Reference Cell". Applied Physics B. 2011; 102(2): 381-389.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Strzoda R, Amann MC: "Laser spectroscopic oxygen sensor using diffuse reflector based optical cell and advanced signal processing". Applied Physics B. 2010; 100(2): 417-425.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Strzoda R, Fleischer M, Amann MC: "Low-Level and Ultra-Low Volume Hollow Waveguide Based Carbon Monoxide Sensor". Optics Letters. 2010; 35(21): 3577-3579.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Amann MC: "Simplified Model of the Dynamic Thermal Tuning Behavior of VCSELs". IEEE photonics technology Letters. 2008; 20(13): 1082-1084.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Chen beschäftigt sich in ihrer Forschung mit Treibhausgasemissionen und dem Metabolismus der Schadstoffe in urbanen Gebieten. Neben der Entwicklung neuartiger optischer Sensoren ist der Aufbau eines regionalen Sensornetzes zur Durchführung von differentiellen Säulenmessungen für sie von besonderem Interesse. Ferner forscht sie zu den Themen atmosphärische Messungen mit Solar-Tracking-Instrumenten, Fourier-Transform-Spektrometrie, Absorptionsspektroskopie mittels durchstimmbarer Laserdioden (TDLAS) mit Oberflächenemittern, faser-basierte optischen Gassensoren, Satelliten-gestützte Fernerkundung (OCO-2) und atmosphärische Modellierung.
Jia Chen studierte Elektrotechnik (Dipl.-Ing.) an der Universität Karlsruhe und promovierte (summa cum laude) an der TUM. Von 2011 bis 2015 war sie Postdoktorandin am Lehrstuhl für Environmental Science & Engineering an der Harvard University. Während dieser Zeit war sie Co-Investigator des NSF-Projekts „MRI: Acquisition of Mesoscale Network of Surface Sensors and Solar-tracking Spectrometers“. Seit 2015 leitet Prof. Chen die Forschungsgruppe Umweltsensorik und Modellierung an der TUM. Sie ist (Co-)Autorin von über 60 Fachpublikationen und hat 11 Patente angemeldet.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

Schlüsselpublikationen

Chen J, Viatte C, Hedelius JK, Jones T, Franklin JE, Parker H, Gottlieb EW, Wennberg PO, Dubey MK, Wofsy SC: "Differential Column Measurements Using Compact Solar-Tracking Spectrometers". Atmos. Chem. Phys. Discuss. 2016; doi:10.5194/acp-2015-1058.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Strzoda R, Amann MC: "VCSEL-based Calibration-free Carbon Monoxide Sensor at 2.3 µm with in-line Reference Cell". Applied Physics B. 2011; 102(2): 381-389.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Strzoda R, Amann MC: "Laser spectroscopic oxygen sensor using diffuse reflector based optical cell and advanced signal processing". Applied Physics B. 2010; 100(2): 417-425.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Strzoda R, Fleischer M, Amann MC: "Low-Level and Ultra-Low Volume Hollow Waveguide Based Carbon Monoxide Sensor". Optics Letters. 2010; 35(21): 3577-3579.

Abstract

Chen J, Hangauer A, Amann MC: "Simplified Model of the Dynamic Thermal Tuning Behavior of VCSELs". IEEE photonics technology Letters. 2008; 20(13): 1082-1084.

Abstract