Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Thomas Fässler

Department

Chemistry

Contact Details

Business Card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Fässler (b. 1959) conducts research on the synthesis, characterization and theoretical description of materials on the basis of inorganic solid matter and molecular compounds. Based on the substance classes of the intermetallic compounds and Zintl phases with soluble Zintl ions his research examines new kinds of main group element-based materials during the transition from molecular compounds to solid matter. The material classes examined in this research have potential in fields such as energy storage materials, energy conversion materials, solar cells, superconductors, and catalysts.
Professor Fässler studied chemistry and mathematics at the University of Konstanz and received his doctorate in chemistry from the University of Heidelberg in 1988. After working as a research fellow at the University of Chicago he acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habili­tation) in the field of inorganic chemistry at ETH Zurich in 1999. Before joining TUM as a full professor he held the Chair of Inorganic Chemistry and Solid State Chemistry at TU Darmstadt from 2000 to 2003. Since 2004 Professor Fässler has headed the Advanced Materials Science elite study program, was dean of studies between 2007 and 2010 and has been elected a member of the board of the Wöhler Association for Inorganic Chemistry of the German Society of Chemists (GDCh) and has been its chairman from 2010 to 2014.

Awards

  • Wilhelm-Klemm-Prize, Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (2015)
  • DFG research grant recipient (1989)

Key Publications (all publications)

Zeilinger M, van Wüllen L, Benson D, Kranak VF, Konar S, Fässler TF,  Häussermann U: „LiBSi2: A tetrahedral semiconductor framework from B and Si atoms bearing Li atoms in channels“. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2013; 52(23): 5978-5982.

Abstract

Stegmaier S, Fässler TF: „ Na2.8Cu5Sn5.6 – A Crystalline Alloy Featuring Intermetalloid 1∞{Sn0.6@Cu5@Sn5} Double-Walled Nanorods with Pseudo-Five-Fold Symmetry“. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012; 124(11): 2701-2704.

Abstract

Stegmaier S, Fässler TF: “A Bronze Matryoshka – The Discrete Intermetalloid Cluster [Sn@Cu12@Sn20]12− in the Ternary Phases A12Cu12Sn21 (A = Na, K)”. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011, 133(49): 19758-19768.

Abstract

Fässler TF (Ed): Zintl Ions: Principles and Recent Developments. Book Series: Structure and Bonding, Vol. 140. Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag, 2011.

Abstract

Fässler TF (Ed): Zintl Phases: Principles and Recent Developments. Book Series: Structure and Bonding, Vol. 139. Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag, 2011.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Thomas Fässler

Fakultät

Chemie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Fässler (*1959) erforscht die Synthese, Charakterisierung und theoretische Beschreibung von Materialien auf der Basis anorganischer Festkörper und molekularer Verbindungen. Ausgehend von Substanzklassen der intermetallischen Verbindungen und Zintl-Phasen mit löslichen Zintl-Ionen untersucht er neuartige Hauptgruppenelement-basierte Materialien am Übergang von molekularen Verbindungen zu Festkörpern. Die untersuchten Materialklassen besitzen potentielle Anwendungen in den Bereichen Energiespeicher- und Energiewandlungs­materialien sowie Solarzellen und Supraleiter als auch Katalysatoren.

Prof. Fässler studierte Chemie und Mathematik an der Universität Konstanz und wurde an der Universität Heidelberg im Fach Chemie promoviert (1988). Nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt an der Universität Chicago folgte die Habilitation im Fach Anorganische Chemie an der ETH Zürich (1999). Vor seiner Tätigkeit als Ordinarius an der TUM war er von 2000 bis 2003 Lehrstuhlinhaber für Anorganische Chemie und Festkörperchemie an der TU Darmstadt. Prof. Fässler leitet seit 2004 den Elitestudiengang „Advanced Materials Science“, war von 2007 bis 2010 Studiendekan und ist gewähltes Mitglied im Vorstand der Wöhler‐Vereinigung für Anorganische Chemie der Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh), von 2010 bis 2014 war er außerdem Vorstandsvorsitzender.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Wilhelm-Klemm-Preis, Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (2015)
  • Forschungsstipendiat der DFG (1989)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Zeilinger M, van Wüllen L, Benson D, Kranak VF, Konar S, Fässler TF,  Häussermann U: „LiBSi2: A tetrahedral semiconductor framework from B and Si atoms bearing Li atoms in channels“. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2013; 52(23): 5978-5982.

Abstract

Stegmaier S, Fässler TF: „ Na2.8Cu5Sn5.6 – A Crystalline Alloy Featuring Intermetalloid 1∞{Sn0.6@Cu5@Sn5} Double-Walled Nanorods with Pseudo-Five-Fold Symmetry“. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012; 124(11): 2701-2704.

Abstract

Stegmaier S, Fässler TF: “A Bronze Matryoshka – The Discrete Intermetalloid Cluster [Sn@Cu12@Sn20]12− in the Ternary Phases A12Cu12Sn21 (A = Na, K)”. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011, 133(49): 19758-19768.

Abstract

Fässler TF (Ed): Zintl Ions: Principles and Recent Developments. Book Series: Structure and Bonding, Vol. 140. Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag, 2011.

Abstract

Fässler TF (Ed): Zintl Phases: Principles and Recent Developments. Book Series: Structure and Bonding, Vol. 139. Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag, 2011.

Abstract