Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Julien Gagneur

Chair

Computational Biology

Department

Informatics

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Julien Gagneur (b. 1977) conducts research in the field of computational biology. The primary focus of the research group is to advance our understanding of gene regulation through quantitative modeling and develop methods to study the mechanisms by which genetic variants condition phenotypes (systems genetics). The strength of this group lies in the statistical modeling of large-scale genomic datasets and its close working relationships with experimentalists.
Gagneur studied engineering, majoring in applied mathematics, at École Centrale Paris and machine learning at École Normale Supérieure de Cachan. He received a PhD in applied mathematics in 2004 from École Centrale Paris for work performed at Heidelberg-based biotech companies Lion Bioscience and Cellzome AG. Subsequently, Gagneur joined the Genome Biology Unit of EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory). In 2012 he moved to the Gene Center at LMU Munich where he led a junior research group. In 2016 he accepted an appointment as associate professor for computational biology at TUM.

Key Publications (all publications)

Bader DM, Wilkening S, Lin G, Tekkedil MM, Dietrich K, Steinmetz LM, Gagneur J: “Negative feedback buffers effects of regulatory variants”. Mol Syst Biol. 2015; 11(1): 785.

Abstract

Gagneur J, Stegle O, Zhu C, Jakob P, Tekkedil MM, Aiyar RS, Schuon AK, Pe'er D, Steinmetz LM: “Genotype-environment interactions reveal causal pathways that mediate genetic effects on phenotype”. PLoS Genet. 2013; 9(9): e1003803.

Abstract

Bauer S, Gagneur J, Robinson PN: “GOing Bayesian: model-based gene set analysis of genome-scale data”. Nucleic Acids Res. 2010; 38(11): 3523-3532.

Abstract

Zinzen RP, Girardot C, Gagneur J, Braun M, Furlong EE: “Combinatorial binding predicts spatio-temporal cis-regulatory activity”. Nature. 2009; 462(7269): 65-70.

Abstract

Gagneur J, Sinha H, Perocchi F, Bourgon R, Huber W, Steinmetz LM: “Genome-wide allele- and strand-specific expression profiling”. Mol Syst Biol. 2009; 5: 274.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Julien Gagneur

Extraordinariat

Computergestützte Biologie

Fakultät

Informatik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Die Forschung von Prof. Gagneur (*1977) befasst sich mit dem Gebiet der computergestützten Biologie. Hauptziel dieser Forschungsgruppe ist ein besseres Verständnis der Genregulation durch quantitative Modellierung sowie die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Untersuchung der Mechanismen, mit deren Hilfe Genvarianten Phänotypen (Systemgenetik) konditionieren. Die Stärke dieser Gruppe liegt in der statistischen Modellierung umfassender genomischer Datensätze und ihrer engen Beziehungen zu Experimental-Wissenschaftlern.
Prof. Gagneur studierte Maschinenbau mit Schwerpunkt angewandte Mathematik an der französischen Ingenieursschule École Centrale Paris und Maschinelles Lernen an der Hochschule École normale supérieure de Cachan (ENS Cachan). 2004 promovierte er im Bereich angewandte Mathematik an der École Centrale Paris. Die Forschungsarbeit dafür verrichtete er in den Heidelberger Biotechnologieunternehmen Lion Bioscience und Cellzome AG. Anschließend war Prof. Gagneur in der Arbeitsgruppe Genombiologie am Europäischen Laboratorium für Molekularbiologie (EMBL) tätig. 2012 wechselte er zum Genzentrum der LMU München als Nachwuchsgruppenleiter. Mit einem Ruf an die TUM ist er seit 2016 Associate Professor für computergestützte Biologie.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Bader DM, Wilkening S, Lin G, Tekkedil MM, Dietrich K, Steinmetz LM, Gagneur J: “Negative feedback buffers effects of regulatory variants”. Mol Syst Biol. 2015; 11(1): 785.

Abstract

Gagneur J, Stegle O, Zhu C, Jakob P, Tekkedil MM, Aiyar RS, Schuon AK, Pe'er D, Steinmetz LM: “Genotype-environment interactions reveal causal pathways that mediate genetic effects on phenotype”. PLoS Genet. 2013; 9(9): e1003803.

Abstract

Bauer S, Gagneur J, Robinson PN: “GOing Bayesian: model-based gene set analysis of genome-scale data”. Nucleic Acids Res. 2010; 38(11): 3523-3532.

Abstract

Zinzen RP, Girardot C, Gagneur J, Braun M, Furlong EE: “Combinatorial binding predicts spatio-temporal cis-regulatory activity”. Nature. 2009; 462(7269): 65-70.

Abstract

Gagneur J, Sinha H, Perocchi F, Bourgon R, Huber W, Steinmetz LM: “Genome-wide allele- and strand-specific expression profiling”. Mol Syst Biol. 2009; 5: 274.

Abstract