TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Agnes Görlach

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Görlach (b. 1964) explores the biology of oxygen. She investigates the role of hypoxia, reactive oxygen species and oxidative stress in the developing and adult organism. She studies their impact on the pathogenesis of cardiovascular, inflammatory and tumor diseases and translates this into diagnostic and therapeutic options.

Professor Görlach studied medicine in Munich and Bochum, and business administration in Augsburg and Hagen. She completed her doctoral thesis at the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Physiology in Dortmund. Following research at Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, USA and at the University of Zurich, she acquired her postdoctoral teaching qualification in physiology in 2001 at the Johann Wolfgang von Goethe University in Frankfurt. She subsequently took on the leadership of the Department for Experimental Paediatric Cardiology at the German Heart Centre Munich at TUM. She was guest professor at University of Aix-Marseilles (2009) and has been Principal investigator of the German Center of Cardiovascular Research (DZHK) since 2011. Since 2009, she has been professor for experimental and molecular pediatric cardiology at TUM.

    Awards

    • Otto Hahn Medal for outstanding scientific achievements, Max Planck Society (1992)
    • Lederle Award for Biomedical Research (1992)
    • Nick Mc Nally Award, International Society of tumor hypoxia (1991)
    • De Castro-Heymans-Neil Preis der Internationalen Gesellschaft für arterielle Chemorezeption (1991)

    Key Publications

    Zhang Z, Trautz B, Kračun D, Vogel F, Weitnauer M, Hochkogler K, Petry A, Görlach A: "Stabilization of p22phox by Hypoxia Promotes Pulmonary Hypertension". Antioxid Redox Signal. 2019 Jan 1; 30(1): 56-73. 

    Abstract

    Petry A, Zhang Z, Trautz B, Rieß F, Görlach A: "Cross Talk Between p22phox and ATF4 in the Endothelial Unfolded Protein Response". Antioxid Redox Signal. 2019 Jan 1; 30(1): 40-55. 

    Abstract

    Rzymski T, Petry A, Kračun D, Rieß F, Pike L, Harris AL, Görlach A: "The unfolded protein response controls induction and activation of ADAM17/TACE by severe hypoxia and ER stress". Oncogene. 2012 Aug 2; 31(31): 3621-34. 

    Abstract

    Diebold I, Petry A, Hess J, Görlach A: "The NADPH oxidase subunit NOX4 is a new target gene of the hypoxia-inducible factor-1". Mol Biol Cell. 2010 Jun 15; 21(12): 2087-96. 

    Abstract

    Diebold I, Djordjevic T, Petry A, Hatzelmann A, Tenor H, Hess J, Görlach A: "Phosphodiesterase 2 Mediates Redox-Sensitive Endothelial Cell Proliferation and Angiogenesis by Thrombin via Rac1 and NADPH Oxidase 2". Circ Res. 2009; 104(10):1169-77.

    Abstract

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Prof. Dr. Agnes Görlach

Fakultät

Medizin

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Görlach (*1964) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Biologie des Sauerstoffs. Sie untersucht den Einfluss von Hypoxie, reaktiven Sauerstoffspezies und oxidativem Stress auf die Entwicklung und den adulten Organismus. Schwerpunkte ihrer Forschungstätigkeit liegen dabei auf dem Gebiet der Herz-, Kreislauf- und Gefäßerkrankungen, Entzündungs- und Tumorforschung.

Prof. Görlach studierte Humanmedizin in München und Bochum und fertigte ihre Dissertation am Max-Planck-Institut für Molekulare Physiologie in Dortmund an. Nach Forschungsaufenthalten am Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, USA, und an der Universität Zürich habilitierte sie für das Fach Physiologie im Jahr 2001 an der Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Universität Frankfurt, bevor sie am Deutschen Herzzentrum München an der TUM die Leitung der Abteilung Experimentelle Kinderkardiologie übernahm. Nach einer Gastprofessur an der Universität Aix-Marseille (Frankreich) 2009 ist sie seit 2009 Professorin für Experimentelle und Molekulare Kinderkardiologie der TUM. Seit 2011 ist sie Principal Investigator des Deutschen Zentrums für Herz-Kreislaufforschung.

    Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

    • Otto Hahn Medaille für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen, Max Planck Gesellschaft (1992)
    • Lederle-Preis für Biomedizinische Forschung (1992)
    • Nick McNally Preis, Internationale Gesellschaft für Tumorhypoxie (1991)
    • De Castro-Heymans-Neil Preis der Internationalen Gesellschaft für arterielle Chemorezeption (1991)

    Schlüsselpublikationen

    Zhang Z, Trautz B, Kračun D, Vogel F, Weitnauer M, Hochkogler K, Petry A, Görlach A: "Stabilization of p22phox by Hypoxia Promotes Pulmonary Hypertension". Antioxid Redox Signal. 2019 Jan 1; 30(1): 56-73. 

    Abstract

    Petry A, Zhang Z, Trautz B, Rieß F, Görlach A: "Cross Talk Between p22phox and ATF4 in the Endothelial Unfolded Protein Response". Antioxid Redox Signal. 2019 Jan 1; 30(1): 40-55. 

    Abstract

    Rzymski T, Petry A, Kračun D, Rieß F, Pike L, Harris AL, Görlach A: "The unfolded protein response controls induction and activation of ADAM17/TACE by severe hypoxia and ER stress". Oncogene. 2012 Aug 2; 31(31): 3621-34. 

    Abstract

    Diebold I, Petry A, Hess J, Görlach A: "The NADPH oxidase subunit NOX4 is a new target gene of the hypoxia-inducible factor-1". Mol Biol Cell. 2010 Jun 15; 21(12): 2087-96. 

    Abstract

    Diebold I, Djordjevic T, Petry A, Hatzelmann A, Tenor H, Hess J, Görlach A: "Phosphodiesterase 2 Mediates Redox-Sensitive Endothelial Cell Proliferation and Angiogenesis by Thrombin via Rac1 and NADPH Oxidase 2". Circ Res. 2009; 104(10):1169-77.

    Abstract