Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Gschwend

Chair

Urology

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research interests of Professor Gschwend (b.1962) focus primarily on operative, clinical and experimental urooncology. He carries out research projects on the molecular oncology of the bladder and prostatic carcinoma focusing particularly on micrometastasis and signal transduction.

After completing his medical studies at LMU Munich and the University of Ulm and earning his PhD in 1988, Professor Gschwend continued his clinical training at the University Hospital in Ulm working with Professor Hautmann. A German Research Foundation (DFG) scholarship took him to the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York where he worked with Professor W.R. Fair (1995-1996). He acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) in 1998 for his work on apoptosis induction in prostatic carcinoma. Since 2006 he has been a full professor of urology at TUM, having succeeded Professor Hartung’s as chair of the department. Professor Gschwend is also a spokesperson for the Working Group for Urological Oncology (AOU) of the German Cancer Society (DKG), board member and guideline coordinator of the German Society of Urology (DGU), spokesperson for the Urological Oncology Research Group of the DGU and acting spokesperson for the Tumor Centre in Munich.

    Awards

    • Lehrpreis der medizinischen Fakultät und der Fachschaft Medizin der TUM (2008)
    • Maximilian Nitze-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Urologie (2000)
    • Merckle-Forschungspreis der Universität Ulm (2000)

    Key Publications

    Hautmann RE, Gschwend JE, de Petriconi RC, Kron M, Volkmer BG: “Cystectomy for transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder: results of a surgery only series in the neobladder era”. J Urol. 2006; 176(2): 486-492.

    Abstract

    Syrovets T, Gschwend JE, Büchele B, Laumonnier Y, Zugmaier W, Genze F, Simmet T: “Intercepting I-κB kinase activity triggers apoptosis in androgen-independent prostate cancer”. J Biol Chem. 2005; 280(7): 6170-6180.

    Gschwend JE, Dahm P, Fair WR: “Disease specific survival as endpoint of outcome for bladder cancer patients following radical cystectomy”. Eur Urol. 2002; 41: 440-448.

    Abstract

    Maier S, Reich E, Martin R, Altug V, Hautmann RE, Gschwend JE: “Tributyrin induces differentiation, growth arrest and apoptosis in androgen-sensitive and androgen-resistant human prostate cancer cell lines”. Int J Cancer. 2000; 88(2): 245-251.

    Abstract

    Gschwend JE, Fair WR, Powell CT: “Bryostatin 1 induces prolonged activation of extracellular regulated protein kinases in and apoptosis of LNCaP human prostate cancer cells overexpressing Protein Kinase C α”. Mol Pharmacol. 2000; 57: 1224-1234.

    Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Gschwend

Lehrstuhl

Urologie

Fakultät

Medizin

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Die wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten von Prof. Gschwend (*1962) konzentrieren sich auf den Bereich der operativen, klinischen und experimentellen Uroonkologie. Hierbei stehen Forschungsprojekte zur molekularen Onkologie des Harnblasen- und des Prostatakarzinoms mit den Schwerpunkten Mikrometastasierung und Signaltransduktion im Vordergrund.    

Nach dem Abschluss des Studiums der Humanmedizin an der LMU München und der Universität Ulm mit dem Staatsexamen in Medizin und der Promotion im Jahr 1988 verfolgte Prof. Gschwend die klinische Ausbildung am Universitätsklinikum Ulm bei Prof. Hautmann. Ein DFG-Stipendium führte ihn zu Prof. W.R. Fair an das Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York (1995/1996), bevor er sich 1998 zum Thema Apoptoseinduktion beim Prostatakarzinom habilitierte. Seit 2006 ist er Ordinarius für Urologie an der TUM und Lehrstuhlnachfolger von Prof. Hartung. Prof. Gschwend ist außerdem Sprecher der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Urologische Onkologie der Deutschen Krebsgesellschaft (DKG), Vorstandsmitglied und Leitlinienkoordinator der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Urologie (DGU), Sprecher des Arbeitskreises Urologische Onkologie der DGU sowie stellvertretender Sprecher des Tumorzentrums München.

    Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

    • Lehrpreis der medizinischen Fakultät und der Fachschaft Medizin der TUM (2008)
    • Maximilian Nitze-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Urologie (2000)
    • Merckle-Forschungspreis der Universität Ulm (2000)

    Schlüsselpublikationen

    Hautmann RE, Gschwend JE, de Petriconi RC, Kron M, Volkmer BG: “Cystectomy for transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder: results of a surgery only series in the neobladder era”. J Urol. 2006; 176(2): 486-492.

    Abstract

    Syrovets T, Gschwend JE, Büchele B, Laumonnier Y, Zugmaier W, Genze F, Simmet T: “Intercepting I-κB kinase activity triggers apoptosis in androgen-independent prostate cancer”. J Biol Chem. 2005; 280(7): 6170-6180.

    Gschwend JE, Dahm P, Fair WR: “Disease specific survival as endpoint of outcome for bladder cancer patients following radical cystectomy”. Eur Urol. 2002; 41: 440-448.

    Abstract

    Maier S, Reich E, Martin R, Altug V, Hautmann RE, Gschwend JE: “Tributyrin induces differentiation, growth arrest and apoptosis in androgen-sensitive and androgen-resistant human prostate cancer cell lines”. Int J Cancer. 2000; 88(2): 245-251.

    Abstract

    Gschwend JE, Fair WR, Powell CT: “Bryostatin 1 induces prolonged activation of extracellular regulated protein kinases in and apoptosis of LNCaP human prostate cancer cells overexpressing Protein Kinase C α”. Mol Pharmacol. 2000; 57: 1224-1234.

    Abstract