Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Franz Hagn

Assistant Professor

Structural Membrane Biochemistry

Department

Chemistry

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Hagn's (*1977) research is focused on nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy of membrane proteins. This protein class is essential for signal transduction and the transfer of proteins and small molecules across the biological membrane barrier. The key to understanding these processes is to study these systems in a native environment provided by a phospholipid bilayer. Biologically relevant systems of interest are membrane proteins in mitochondria and chloroplasts, characterization of the dynamical aspects of intramembrane proteolysis, and G-protein coupled receptors (GPCRs) and their associated G-proteins, which are involved in metabolic diseases, neurological disorders and cancer.


Prof. Hagn studied biochemistry at Bayreuth and Stockholm and received his doctorate from TUM for a thesis on structural and functional studies of molecular chaperones, tumorsuppressor and spider silk proteins. After a short postdoctoral stay at TUM, he went to Harvard Medical School in 2010. In 2014, he accepted a Rudolf Mößbauer assistant professorship at the TUM Institute for Advanced Study and has been a group leader in structural biology at the Helmholtz Zentrum München since 2015.

Awards

  • Helmholtz Young Investigators‘ Group (2015)
  • Arnold Sommerfeld of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences (2012)
  • Friedrich-Weygand Award oft he Max-Bergmann Kreis for Peptide Chemistry (2011)
  • Hans-Fischer Award of the Hans-Fischer Society (2011)
  • Human Frontier Science Program Long-Term Fellowship (2011)

Key Publications

Miehling J, Goricanec D, and Hagn F: “A split-intein-based method for the efficient production of circularized nanodiscs for structural studies of membrane proteins”. ChemBioChem. 2018; 19(18): 1927-1933. 

Abstract

Goricanec D, Stehle R, Egloff P, Grigoriu S, Plückthun A, Wagner G and Hagn F: ”Conformational dynamics of a G-protein alpha subunit is tightly regulated by nucleotide binding”. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2016; 113(26): E3629–E3638. 

Abstract

Hagn F, Etzkorn M, Raschle T, Wagner G: „Optimized phospholipid bilayer nanodiscs facilitate high-resolution structure determination of membrane proteins". J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013; 135(5): 1919-1925.

Abstract

Hagn F, Lagleder S, Retzlaff M, Rohrberg J, Demmer O, Richter K, Buchner J, Kessler H: "Structural analysis of the interaction between Hsp90 and the tumor suppressor protein p53". Nat. Struc. Mol. Biol. 2011; 18(10): 1086-1093.

Abstract

Hagn F, Eisoldt L, Hardy JG, Vendrely C, Coles M, Scheibel T, Kessler H: "A conserved spider silk domain acts as a molecular switch that controls fibre assembly". Nature. 2010; 465(7295): 239-242.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Franz Hagn

Assistant Professor

Strukturelle Membranbiochemie

Fakultät

Chemie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Hagns (*1977) Forschungsgebiet ist die magnetische Kernresonanz-Spektroskopie (NMR) an Membranproteinen. Diese Proteinklasse vermittelt die Signalweiterleitung und den Transfer von Proteinen und Metaboliten durch biologische Membranen. Die Entwicklung und Etablierung von neuartigen Membransystemen zum Studium der Struktur, Dynamik und Interaktion von Membranproteinen ist dabei essentiell, um biologisch interessante Systeme, wie mitochondriale Membranproteine, G-Protein gekoppelte Rezeptoren (GPCRs) und deren G-Proteine zu verstehen. Diese stehen in Verbindung mit Stoffwechselerkrankungen, neurologischen Krankheiten und Krebs.

Prof. Hagn studierte Biochemie in Bayreuth und Stockholm und promovierte an der TUM über strukturelle Studien an Molekularen Chaperonen, Tumorsuppressoren und Spinnenseiden-Proteinen. Nach einer kurzen Zeit als Postdoc an der TUM wechselte er 2010 an die Harvard Medical School und arbeitete an neuartigen Membransystemen zum Studium von Membranproteinen mit NMR. Seit Herbst 2014 ist er Rudolf-Mößbauer Tenure Track Assistant Professor am TUM Institute for Advanced Study, und seit 2015 Juniorgruppenleiter am Institut für Strukturbiologie am Helmholtz Zentrum München.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Helmholtz Young Investigators‘ Group (2015)
  • Arnold Sommerfeld Preis der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (2012)
  • Friedrich-Weygand Preis des Max Bergmann Kreises für Peptidchemie (2011)
  • Hans-Fischer Gedächtnispreis der Hans-Fischer Gesellschaft (2011)
  • Human Frontier Science Program Long-Term Fellowship (2011)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Miehling J, Goricanec D, and Hagn F: “A split-intein-based method for the efficient production of circularized nanodiscs for structural studies of membrane proteins”. ChemBioChem. 2018; 19(18): 1927-1933. 

Abstract

Goricanec D, Stehle R, Egloff P, Grigoriu S, Plückthun A, Wagner G and Hagn F: ”Conformational dynamics of a G-protein alpha subunit is tightly regulated by nucleotide binding”. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2016; 113(26): E3629–E3638. 

Abstract

Hagn F, Etzkorn M, Raschle T, Wagner G: „Optimized phospholipid bilayer nanodiscs facilitate high-resolution structure determination of membrane proteins". J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013; 135(5): 1919-1925.

Abstract

Hagn F, Lagleder S, Retzlaff M, Rohrberg J, Demmer O, Richter K, Buchner J, Kessler H: "Structural analysis of the interaction between Hsp90 and the tumor suppressor protein p53". Nat. Struc. Mol. Biol. 2011; 18(10): 1086-1093.

Abstract

Hagn F, Eisoldt L, Hardy JG, Vendrely C, Coles M, Scheibel T, Kessler H: "A conserved spider silk domain acts as a molecular switch that controls fibre assembly". Nature. 2010; 465(7295): 239-242.

Abstract