Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Ulrich Kaspar Heiz

Department

Chemistry

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Heiz investigates properties of small material grains with sizes in the non-scalable size range. Here the properties are determined by the exact number of atoms. The results are used to understand nanocatalysis, asymmetric catalysis and photocatalysis. He has developed several novel experimental methods to investigate such clusters on surfaces.

After studying chemistry at the University of Bern (1987), he received his doctoral degree in Physical Chemistry (1991). With scholarships from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the Swiss National Science Foundation, Heiz conducted research at ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company and at the University of Pittsburgh, USA. He then habilitated in Physics at the University of Lausanne in 1998. This was followed by stays abroad in Japan and Berlin (Alexander von Humboldt Fellow) until he was appointed to the University of Ulm in 2000. Since 2004 he has been professor of Physical Chemistry at TUM. He declined several appointments at foreign universities (e.g. UC Berkeley, Georgia Tech, USA). 

Awards

  • Speaker of the Cluster of Excellence e-conversion (2018)
  • Member of the Chemistry Forum of the DFG (2013)
  • ERC Advanced Grant (2010)
  • Alexander von Humboldt Committee Member (2006)
  • Andrew Mellon Fellow (1992)

Key Publications (all publications)

Crampton, AS.; Rötzer, MD.; Ridge, CJ.; Schweinberger, FF.; Heiz, U; Yoon, B; Landman, U: "Structure sensitivity in the nonscalable regime explored via catalysed ethylene hydrogenation on supported platinum nanoclusters". Nature Communications. 2016; 10389.

Abstract

Wettergren, K.; Schweinberger, FF; Deiana, D.; Ridge, CJ; Crampton, AS; Rötzer, M; Hansen, TW; Zhdanov, VP; Heiz, U; Langhammer, C: “High Sintering Resistance of Size-Selected Platinum Cluster Catalysts by Suppressed Ostwald Ripening". Nano Letters. 2014; 14 (10): 5803-5809.

Abstract

Nesselberger, M; Roefzaad, M; Fayçal HR.; Biedermann, UP.; Schweinberger, FF.; Kunz, S; Schloegl, K; Wiberg, GKH; Ashton, S; Heiz, U; Mayrhofer, KJJ; Arenz, M: "The effect of particle proximity on the oxygen reduction rate of size-selected platinum clusters." Nature Materials. 2013; 12: 919-924.

Abstract

Schweinberger, FF; Berr, MJ; Döblinger, M; Wolff, Ch; Sanwald, KE; Crampton, AS; Ridge, CJ; Jäckel, F; Feldmann, J; Tschurl, M; Heiz, U: "Cluster size effects in the photocatalytic hydrogen evolution reaction". J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013; 135 (36): 13262-13265.

Abstract

Yoon, B; Haekkinen, H; Landman, U; Woerz, AS.; Antonietti, JM; Abbet, S; Judai, K; Heiz, U: "Charging Effects on Bonding and Catalyzed Oxidation of CO on Au8 Clusters on MgO". Science. 2005; 307 (5708): 403-407.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Ulrich Kaspar Heiz

Fakultät

Chemie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Heiz erforscht die physikalischen und chemischen Eigenschaften von kleinsten Materieteilchen mit Größen im nicht-skalierbaren Bereich. In diesem Größenbereich werden die Eigenschaften der Teilchen (Cluster) durch die exakte Anzahl von Atomen bestimmt. Die daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden zum Verständnis der Nanokatalyse, der asymmetrischen Katalyse sowie der Photokatalyse verwendet. Zudem erfolgt eine Charakterisierung und Entwicklung von neuen optischen Materialien, basierend auf größenselektierten Clustern.

Nach seinem Chemiestudium an der Universität Bern (1987) promovierte Prof. Heiz dort in Physikalischer Chemie (1991). Mit Stipendien der Andrew Mellon-Stiftung und des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds forschte er im Laboratorium der Exxon Research and Engineering Company sowie an der Universität Pittsburgh, USA.  Anschließend habilitierte er sich 1998 im Fach Physik an der Universität Lausanne. Es folgten Auslandsaufenthalte in Japan und Berlin (Alexander von Humboldt Fellow) bis er im Jahr 2000 einem Ruf an die Universität Ulm folgte. Seit 2004 ist er Ordinarius für Physikalische Chemie an der TUM. Er lehnte mehrere Rufe an ausländische Universitäten ab (University of California at Berkeley, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA). Prof. Heiz ist Ausschussmitglied der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. Im Jahr 2010 erhielt er den ERC Advanced Grant.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • ERC Advanced Grant (2010)
  • Alexander von Humboldt Ausschussmitglied (2006)
  • Alexander von Humboldt Fellow (2000)
  • Andrew Mellon Fellow (1992)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Harding C, Habibpour V, Kunz S, A. Farnbacher ANS, Heiz U, Yoon B, Landman U: “Control and manipulation of gold nanocatalysis: effects of metal oxide support thickness and composition”. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2009; 131: 538-548.

Abstract

Roettgen MA, Abbet S, Judai K, Antonietti JM, Woerz AS, Arenz M, Henry CR, Heiz U: “Cluster chemistry: size-dependent reactivity induced by reverse spill-over”. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2007; 129: 9635-9639.

Abstract

Yoon B, Haekkinen H, Landman U, Woerz AS, Antonietti JM, Abbet S, Judai K, Heiz U: “Charging effects on bonding and catalyzed oxidation of CO on Au8 clusters on MgO”. Science (Washington, DC, U. S.). 2005; 307: 403-407.

Abstract

Judai K, Abbet S, Woerz AS, Heiz U, Henry CR: “Low-temperature cluster catalysis”. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2004; 126: 2732-2737.

Abstract

Hakkinen H, Abbet S, Sanchez A, Heiz U, Landman U: “Structural, electronic, and impurity-doping effects in nanoscale chemistry: supported gold nanoclusters”. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2003; 42: 1297-1300.

Abstract