TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Andreas Herkersdorf

Professorship

Integrated Systems

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Herkersdorf (b. 1961) and his team conduct research in the fields of architectures, coprocessors, design methods and accelerators for application-specific multicore processors (MPSoC). IP packet processing, embedded automotive systems and visual computing are among the main target applications. In addition, his Chair has proven expertise in prototype development on FPGA platforms, bio-inspired, self-organizing MPSoC solutions and techniques to improve fault tolerance and energy efficiency at system level.

After studying electrical engineering at TUM, Professor Herkersdorf received his doctorate at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich in 1991. He then joined the research team at IBM Research – Zurich in the communication systems department and became manager of the network processor hardware group in IBM’s research division. In 2003, Professor Herkersdorf was appointed to the Chair of Integrated Systems at TUM. He is a member of the editorial boards of various international journals and, since 2012, an elected member of the German Research Foundation (DFG) Review Board for computer architecture and embedded systems.

Awards

  • IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (2001)
  • IBM Master Inventor (1998)
  • IBM Innovation Achievement Award (four times, 1996-2003)

Key Publications (all publications)

Möstl M, Schlatow J, Ernst R, Dutt N, Nassar A, Rahmani A, Kurdahi F, Wild T, Sadighi A, Herkersdorf A: "Platform-Centric Self-Awareness as a Key Enabler for Controlling Changes in CPS". Proceedings of the IEEE. 2018; 106(9).

Abstract

Richter A, Herber C, Wild T, Herkersdorf A: "Denial-of-Service attacks on PCI passthrough devices: Demonstrating the impact on network- and storage-I/O performance". Journal of Systems Architecture. 2015; 61(10): 592–599. 

Abstract

Lankes A, Wild T, Wallentowitz S, Herkersdorf A: "Benefits of Selective Packet Discard in Networks-on-Chip". ACM Transactions on Architecture and Code Optimization (TACO). 2012; 9(2): 1-21.

Abstract

Teich J, Henkel J, Herkersdorf A, Schmitt-Landsiedel D, Schröder-Preikschat W, Snelting G: "Invasive Computing: An Overview". Hübner M., Becker J. (eds): Multiprocessor System-on-Chip. 2011; New York: Springer.

Wang Z, Herkersdorf A: "An efficient approach for system-level timing simulation of compiler-optimized embedded software". 46th Design Automation Conference (DAC 09), San Francisco, USA, July 26-31, 2009.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Andreas Herkersdorf

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Der Lehrstuhl von Prof. Herkersdorf (*1961) forscht in den Bereichen Architekturen, Coprozessoren, Entwurfsmethoden und Entwurfsbewertungswerkzeugen für  anwendungsspezifische Mehrkern-Prozessoren. IP Paketvermittlungsknoten, eingebettete Systeme der Automobilelektronik und Visual Computing gehören zu den primären Zielanwendungen. Darüber hinaus hat sein Lehrstuhl eine ausgewiesene Expertise in der Prototypenentwicklung auf FPGA Plattformen, dem Bereich bio-inspirierter, selbstorganisierender MPSoC Lösungen sowie Techniken zur Verbesserung der Fehlertoleranz und Energieeffizienz auf Systemebene.

Nach dem Studium der Elektrotechnik an der TUM promovierte er 1991 an der ETH Zürich. Es folgte die Anstellung als Wissenschaftler am IBM-Forschungslabor Rüschlikon in der Abteilung Kommunikationssysteme. Danach war er Manager der Gruppe Netzwerkprozessor Hardware in der IBM Research Division. Seit 2003 leitet Prof. Herkersdorf den Lehrstuhl für Integrierte Systeme an der TUM und ist zudem Mitglied des Professorenkollegiums der Fakultät für Informatik. Er sitzt im Editorial Board internationaler Fachzeitschriften, ist European Representative des IEEE/ACM ICCAD Executive Committees und Mitglied des CAR@TUM Steuerkreises zwischen der TUM und der BMW Group. Seit April 2012 ist er Mitglied im Fachkollegiat “Computer Architecture and Embedded Systems“ der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (2001)
  • IBM Master Inventor (1998)
  • IBM Innovation Achievement Award (viermal, 1996-2003)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Wang Z, Herkersdorf A: “An efficient approach for system-level timing simulation of compiler-optimized embedded software”. 46th Design Automation Conference (DAC 09), San Francisco, USA, July 26-31, 2009.

Wild T, Herkersdorf A, Lee GY: “TAPES – Trace-based architecture performance evaluation with SystemC”. Design Automation for Embedded Systems, Special Issue on SystemC-based System Modeling, Verification and Synthesis. 2006; 10(2–3): 157–179.

Abstract

Taylor DE, Herkersdorf A, Döring A, Dittmann G: “Robust header compression (ROHC) in next-generation network processors”. IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. 2005; 13(4): 755–768.

Abstract

Ohlendorf R, Herkersdorf A, Wild T: “FlexPath NP – a network processor concept with application-driven flexible processing paths”. CODES+ISSS 2005, Jersey City, NJ, USA, September 19-21, 2005.

Abstract

Chakraborty S, Künzli S, Thiele L, Herkersdorf A, Sagmeister P: “Fast and accurate performance evaluation of network processor architectures: combining simulations with analytical estimation”. Computer Networks. 2003; 41(5): 641–665.

Abstract