Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Thomas Horstmann

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Horstmann (b. 1961) researches in the field of conservative and rehabilitative orthopedics with the goal of early recognition of orthopedic pathology, improving preoperative care and accelerating postoperative return of patients to everyday life.

Professor Horstmann studied medicine at the University of Freiburg, completing an additional course in sports science. He earned his PhD (1987) in Freiburg and acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) (1999) at the University Hospital of Tübingen where he headed the Sports Orthopedics Department. Since 2008 Professor Horstmann has been head physician at the Medical Park Clinic St. Hubertus Bad Wiessee. He is a member of several national and international scientific societies and professional associations, including the American College of Sports Medicine, the German Medical Society for Sports Medicine and Prevention (DGSP), the German Society for Manual Medicine (DGMM), the German Society for Orthopedic Trauma and Sports Medicine (GOTS), and the German Association of Leading Orthopedic and Accident Surgeons (VLOU).

Key Publications (all publications)

Horstmann T, Heitkamp HC, Haupt G, Merk J, Mayer F, Dickhuth HH: „Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Sporttherapie bei Coxarthrose- und Hüftendoprothesen-Patienten“. Dt Z Sportmed 2001; 52: S. 274 - 278.

Horstmann T, Mayer F, Maschmann J, Niess A, Roecker K, Dickhuth HH: “Metabolic reaction following concentric and eccentric endurance-exercise of the knee and ankle”. Med Sci Sports Exerc 2001; 33: S. 791 - 795.

Abstract

Grau S, Maiwald C, Krauss I, Axmann D, Best R, Horstmann, T: “What are Causes and Treatment Strategies for patellar-tendinopathy in female runners?” J. Biomech. 2008; 41(9): S. 2042 - 2046.

Abstract

Boeer J, Mueller O, Krauss I, Haupt G, Axmann D, Horstmann T: “Effects of a sensory-motor exercise program for older adults with osteoarthritis or prosthesis of the hip using measurements made by the Posturomed oscillatory platform”. J. Geriatic Phys. Ther. 2010; 33 (1): S. 10 - 15.

Abstract

Krauss I., Grau S., Maiwald C., Mauch M., Horstmann T: “Sex-related differences in foot shape of adult Caucasian – a follow-up study focussing on long and short feet”. Ergonomics 2011; 54 (3): S. 294 - 300.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Horstmann (*1961) forscht auf dem Gebiet der konservativen und rehabilitativen Orthopädie mit der Zielsetzung orthopädische Pathologien frühzeitig zu erkennen, ihre präoperative Versorgung zu verbessern und die postoperative Rückkehr der Patienten in den Alltag zu beschleunigen.

Prof. Horstmann studierte an der Universität Freiburg Humanmedizin und im Zweitfach Sportwissenschaft und promovierte (1987) in Freiburg. Seine Habilitation (1999) absolvierte er an der Universitätsklinik Tübingen, wo er als ärztlicher Leiter der Sportorthopädie vorstand. Seit 2008 ist Prof. Horstmann Chefarzt der Medical Park Klinik St. Hubertus Bad Wiessee. Er ist Mitglied in nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaften (American College of Sports Medicine, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Sportmedizin und Prävention e.V., Deutsche Gesellschaft für manuelle Medizin e.V., Gesellschaft für orthopädisch traumatologische Sportmedizin, Verband leitender Orthopäden und Unfallchirurgen).

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Horstmann T, Heitkamp HC, Haupt G, Merk J, Mayer F, Dickhuth HH: „Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Sporttherapie bei Coxarthrose- und Hüftendoprothesen-Patienten“. Dt Z Sportmed 2001; 52: S. 274 - 278.

Horstmann T, Mayer F, Maschmann J, Niess A, Roecker K, Dickhuth HH: “Metabolic reaction following concentric and eccentric endurance-exercise of the knee and ankle”. Med Sci Sports Exerc 2001; 33: S. 791 - 795.

Abstract

Grau S, Maiwald C, Krauss I, Axmann D, Best R, Horstmann, T: “What are Causes and Treatment Strategies for patellar-tendinopathy in female runners?” J. Biomech. 2008; 41(9): S. 2042 - 2046.

Abstract

Boeer J, Mueller O, Krauss I, Haupt G, Axmann D, Horstmann T: “Effects of a sensory-motor exercise program for older adults with osteoarthritis or prosthesis of the hip using measurements made by the Posturomed oscillatory platform”. J. Geriatic Phys. Ther. 2010; 33 (1): S. 10 - 15.

Abstract

Krauss I., Grau S., Maiwald C., Mauch M., Horstmann T: “Sex-related differences in foot shape of adult Caucasian – a follow-up study focussing on long and short feet”. Ergonomics 2011; 54 (3): S. 294 - 300.

Abstract