TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Urs Hugentobler

Professorship

Satellite Geodesy

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research focus of Professor Hugentobler (b. 1959) is precision geodetic applications for global satellite navigation systems such as GPS and Galileo. In addition to precise localization for geodynamic applications, this includes precise orbit determination and modeling for navigation satellites and low-orbit satellites, as well as time and frequency transfer. His research tasks also include scientific support for the operation of the Wettzell Geodetic Observatory in collaboration with the German Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy.

Professor Hugentobler studied theoretical physics at the University of Bern and received a doctorate in astronomy from the same university in 1997. After working as a postdoctoral researcher at the European Space Agency (ESA), he joined the University of Bern in 1999 as head of the GPS Research Group. He has headed TUM’s Department of Space Geodesy and TUM’s Space Geodesy Research Unit since 2006. He is Secretary General of the Project Geodesy (DGK) of the Bavarian Academy of Science.

Key Publications (all publications)

Štěpánek P, Hugentobler U, Buday M, Filler V: "Estimation of the Length of Day (LOD) from DORIS observations". Advances in Space Research. 2018; 62(2): 370-382.

Abstract

Hugentobler U, Montenbruck O: "Satellite Orbits and Attitude". In: Handbook of Global Navigation Satellite Systems. Editor: Teunissen P, Montenbruck O. Springer, 2017: 59-90.

Abstract

Montenbruck O, Steigenberger P, Hugentobler U: "Enhanced solar radiation pressure modeling for Galileo satellites". Journal of Geodesy. 2015; 89(3): 283-297.

Abstract

Rodriguez-Solano C, Hugentobler U, Steigenberger P, Bloßfeld M, Fritsche M: "Reducing the draconitic errors in GNSS geodetic products". Journal of Geodesy. 2014; 88(6): 559-574.

Abstract

Malservisi R, Hugentobler U, Wonnacott R, Hackl M: "How rigid is a rigid plate? Geodetic constraint from the TrigNet CGPS network, South Africa". Geophysical Journal International. 2013; 192(3): 918-928.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Urs Hugentobler

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt  von Prof. Hugentobler (*1959) liegt in der präzisen geodätischen Anwendung von globalen Satellitennavigationssystemen wie GPS und Galileo. Dazu gehören neben der präzisen Punktpositionierung für geodynamische Anwendungen die präzise Bahnbestimmung und -modellierung der Navigationssatelliten und tieffliegender Satelliten, sowie Zeit- und Frequenztransfer. Zu den Forschungsaufgaben gehört auch die wissenschaftliche Begleitung des Betriebs des Geodätischen Observatoriums Wettzell, zusammen mit dem Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie.

Prof. Hugentobler hat an der Universität Bern theoretische Physik studiert und in Astronomie promoviert (1997). Nach einem Aufenthalt als Wissenschaftler bei der europäischen Raumfahrtorganisation ESA hat er 1999 am Astronomischen Institut der Universität Bern die Leitung der GPS Forschungsgruppe übernommen. Seit 2006 ist er Leiter des Fachgebiets Satellitengeodäsie und der Forschungseinrichtung Satellitengeodäsie der TUM. Er ist Ständiger Sekretär des Projektes Geodäsie (DGK) der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Štěpánek P, Hugentobler U, Buday M, Filler V: "Estimation of the Length of Day (LOD) from DORIS observations". Advances in Space Research. 2018; 62(2): 370-382.

Abstract

Hugentobler U, Montenbruck O: "Satellite Orbits and Attitude". In: Handbook of Global Navigation Satellite Systems. Editor: Teunissen P, Montenbruck O. Springer, 2017: 59-90.

Abstract

Montenbruck O, Steigenberger P, Hugentobler U: "Enhanced solar radiation pressure modeling for Galileo satellites". Journal of Geodesy. 2015; 89(3): 283-297.

Abstract

Rodriguez-Solano C, Hugentobler U, Steigenberger P, Bloßfeld M, Fritsche M: "Reducing the draconitic errors in GNSS geodetic products". Journal of Geodesy. 2014; 88(6): 559-574.

Abstract

Malservisi R, Hugentobler U, Wonnacott R, Hackl M: "How rigid is a rigid plate? Geodetic constraint from the TrigNet CGPS network, South Africa". Geophysical Journal International. 2013; 192(3): 918-928.

Abstract