TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Susanne Ihsen

Deceased August 20, 2018

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Ihsen (1964 -2018) conducted research in gender studies with the goal of understanding the form and structure of organizations and their processes, in particular, within the engineering and natural sciences in an effort to enhance their innovation potential for humans and their technological development. This includes gender and diversity in (scientific) organizations, engineering education, the engineering profession and research as a whole.

After completing a training as a state accredited nursery and preschool teacher in Bielefeld, Prof. Ihsen studied social sciences at the University of Duisburg and RWTH Aachen,receiving her doctorate from RWTH in 1999. She then joined the Association of German Engineers (VDI), where she served as head of the Profession and Career Department in 2001. She was appointed to a professorship at TUM in 2004. She also served as deputy chair of the Technology & Diversity Equal Opportunity excellence cluster, chair of the Gender and Diversity working group of the Société Européenne pour la Formation des Ingénieurs (SEFI), and as a board member of the European Journal of Engineering Education.

Key Publications

Ihsen, S: „Technikkultur im Wandel: Ergebnisse der Geschlechterforschung in Technischen Universitäten. Bayerisches Institut für Hochschulforschung.“ Beiträge zur Hochschulforschung. 2010; 32: 80–97.

Ihsen S, Du X: “Diversity concepts and experiences in Engineering Education.” European Journal of Engineering Education. 2009; 34 (Special Issue on Diversity concepts and experiences in Engineering Education).

Ihsen S: „Ingenieurinnen.“ In: Handbuch Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung. Theorie, Methoden, Empirie. Editor: Becker, Kortendieck. 2008: 799-805

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Susanne Ihsen

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Ihsen (*1964) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Gender Studies/Geschlechterforschung mit der Zielsetzung, insbesondere für die Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften, Organisationen und ihre Prozesse in ihrer Gestaltung zu verstehen und hinsichtlich ihrer Innovationspotenziale in Bezug auf Menschen und deren technischer Entwicklungen zu verändern. Dies umfasst Gender und Diversity in (Wissenschafts-)Organisationen, in der Ingenieurausbildung und im Ingenieurberuf sowie in der Forschung selbst.

Nach einer Ausbildung zur Erzieherin in Bielefeld studierte sie Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität Duisburg und der RWTH Aachen und promovierte 1999 an der RWTH. Anschließend war sie beim Verein Deutscher Ingenieure (VDI), ab 2001 dort als Leiterin der Abteilung Beruf und Karriere tätig. 2004 erfolgte der Ruf an die TUM. Sie ist unter anderem  stellvertretender Vorstand des Kompetenzzentrums Technik-Diversity-Chancengleichheit, chairwoman der working group Gender and Diversity der Société Européenne pour la formation des Ingénieurs (SEFI) sowie boardmember des European Journal of Engineering Education.

Schlüsselpublikationen

Ihsen, S: „Technikkultur im Wandel: Ergebnisse der Geschlechterforschung in Technischen Universitäten. Bayerisches Institut für Hochschulforschung.“ Beiträge zur Hochschulforschung. 2010; 32: 80–97.

Ihsen S, Du X: “Diversity concepts and experiences in Engineering Education.” European Journal of Engineering Education. 2009; 34 (Special Issue on Diversity concepts and experiences in Engineering Education).

Ihsen S: „Ingenieurinnen.“ In: Handbuch Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung. Theorie, Methoden, Empirie. Editor: Becker, Kortendieck. 2008: 799-805