Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Alfons Kemper

Department

Informatics

Contact Details

Visitenkarte in TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof Kemper’s (b. 1958) research field is database systems. He explores ways to optimize information systems for operational and scientific applications as a way to combat the data explosion. His main areas of interest are optimization concepts for distributed information structures, data integration methods and main memory-based database systems.

After studying computer science at the University of Dortmund, he moved to the University of Southern California, Los Angeles. While there, he obtained his Master of Science and doctorate. Upon his return to Germany, he completed his lecturer qualification at the University of Karlsruhe. His first professorship was conferred by RWTH Aachen. After many years as Director of the Chair of Database Systems at the University of Passau, TUM offered him a position in 2004. From 2006 to 2010, he was Dean of the Department of Informatics at TUM. His textbook on database systems, published by Oldenbourg Verlag and now in its 8th edition, is a best-seller in German-speaking countries and is used in most universities and colleges.

Awards

  • Koautor eines der besten Paper der VLDB (1999)
  • Koautor eines der besten Paper der VLDB (Very Large Databases)-Konferenz (1998)
  • DAAD Stipendium für ein Studium in den USA (1980 – 1982)

Key Publications (all publications)

Kemper A, Eickler A: Datenbanksysteme. Eine Einführung (7. Auflage). Oldenbourg Verlag, 2008.

Abstract

Gmach D, Krompass S, Scholz A, Wimmer M, Kemper A: „Adaptive Quality of Service Management for Enterprise Services.” ACM Transactions on the Web (TWEB). 2008; 2(1): Article 8.

Abstract

Braumandl R, Kemper A, Kossmann D: “Quality of Service in an Information Economy.” ACM Transactions on Internet Technology (TOIT).2003; 3(4): 291 - 333.

Abstract

Braumandl R, Keidl M, Kemper A, Kossmann D, Kreutz A, Seltzsam S, Stocker K: “ObjectGlobe: Ubiquitous Query Processing on the Internet.” The VLDB Journal: Special Issue on E-Services. 2001; 10(3): 48-71.

Abstract

Kemper A, Moerkotte G: “Access Support Relations: An Indexing Method for Object Bases.” Information Systems. 1992; 17(2): 117-146.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Alfons Kemper

Fakultät

Informatik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof Kemper (*1958) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Datenbank-Systeme mit der Zielsetzung, Informationssysteme für betriebliche und wissenschaftliche Anwendungen zu optimieren, um der Datenexplosion zu begegnen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf Optimierungskonzepten für verteilte Informationsstrukturen, Datenintegrationsmethoden und Hauptspeicher-basierte Datenbanksysteme.

Nach dem Informatik-Grundstudium an der Universität Dortmund wechselte er an die University of Southern California (Los Angeles, USA), wo er zuerst den M.Sc.-Abschluss erwarb und danach promovierte. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland habilitierte er sich an der Universität Karlsruhe und trat anschließend seine erste Professur an der RWTH Aachen an. Nach der langjährigen Leitung des Lehrstuhls für Datenbanksysteme an der Universität Passau wurde er 2004 an die TUM berufen. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er Dekan der Fakultät für Informatik der TUM. Sein Lehrbuch über Datenbanksysteme, das mittlerweile in zehnter Auflage im Oldenbourg Verlag erschienen ist, gilt als marktführend im deutschsprachigen Raum und wird an den meisten Hochschulen eingesetzt.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Co-Autor des besten Paper, International Conference on Data Engineering ICDE (2014)
  • Co-Autor des bester Paper, Deutsche Datenbankkonferenz BTW (2015)
  • Fellow, Gesellschaft für Informatik GI (2016)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Kemper A, Eickler A: Datenbanksysteme. Eine Einführung (10. Auflage). Oldenbourg Verlag, 2016.

Abstract

Leis V, Bonzc P, Kemper A, Neumann T: "Morsel-Driven Parallelism: A NUMA-Aware Query Evaluation Framework for the Many-Core Age ACM SIGMOD". International Conference on Management of Data (SIGMOD '14). 2014.

Abstract

Leis V, Kemper A, Neumann T: "Exploiting Hardware Transactional Memory in Main-Memory Databases". IEEE International Conference on Data Engineering. 2014.

Abstract

Albutiu MC, Kemper A, Neumann T: "Massively Parallel Sort-Merge Joins in Main-Memory Multi-Core Database Systems". Proceedings of the 38th International Conference on Very Large Databases (VLDB). 2012.

https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=2336678

Kemper A, Neumann T: "HyPer: A hybrid OLTP&OLAP main memory database system based on virtual memory snapshots." International Conference on Data Engineering. 2011; 195-206.

Abstract