Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Heiko Lickert

Chair

Diabetes and Regeneration Research / Beta-Cell Biology

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Lickert is a full professor and holds the Chair of ß-Cell Biology at TUM School of Medicine. He is also director of the Institute of Diabetes and Regeneration Research (IDR) and adjunct professor at the Institute of Stem Cell Research (ISF) at Helmholtz Zentrum München. He is on the executive committee of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center (HDC) and TUMCells GMP Facility and on the research coordination board of the German Center for Diabetes Research (DZD).
He obtained his PhD from the University of Freiburg and Max Planck Institute in Freiburg. His postdoctoral studies were carried out at Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Canada. He is an expert on organ development and tissue homeostasis with emphasis on endocrine lineage formation in the gut and pancreas, insulin-producing ß-cell development, regeneration and replacement, as well as metabolic signaling and stem cell-based drug screening. His work has been funded by the European Research Council (ERC), a prestigious Emmy-Noether fellowship of the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the Helmholtz Association and the European Union.

Awards

  • Paula und Richard von Hertwig Prize for Interdisciplinary Cooperation (2011)
  • ERC Grant (2009)
  • Emmy Noether Fellow (2005)
  • Otto-Hahn-Medal, Max Planck Society (2003)
  • Hans-Spemann Prize, University of Freiburg (2002)

Key Publications (all publications)

Gegg M, Böttcher A, Burtscher I, Hasenöder S, Van Campenhout C, Aichler M, Walch A, Grant SGN, Lickert H: "Flattop regulates basal body docking and positioning in mono- and multiciliated cells". eLife. 2014; DOI: 10.7554.

Yang D, Lutter D, Burtscher I, Uetzmann L, Theis FJ, Lickert H: "miR-335 promotes mesendodermal lineage segregation and shapes a transcription factor gradient in the endoderm." Development. 2014; 141 (3):514-525.

Engert S, Burtscher I, Liao WP, Dulev S, Schotta G, Lickert H: "Wnt/β-catenin signalling regulates Sox17 expression and is essential for organizer and endoderm formation in the mouse." Development. 2013; 140(15): 3128-3138.

Van Campenhout CA, Eitelhuber A, Gloeckner CJ, Giallonardo P, Gegg M, Oller H, Grant SG, Krappmann D, Ueffing M, Lickert H: "Dlg3 trafficking and apical tight junction formation is regulated by nedd4 and nedd4-2 e3 ubiquitin ligases". Dev Cell. 2011;21(3):479-491.

Kinzel D, Boldt K, Davis EE, Burtscher I, Trümbach D, Diplas B, Attié-Bitach T, Wurst W, Katsanis N, Ueffing M, Lickert H: "Pitchfork regulates primary cilia disassembly and left-right asymmetry". Dev Cell. 2010; 19 (1): 66-77.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Heiko Lickert

Lehrstuhl

Diabetesforschung / Beta-Zell-Biologie

Fakultät

Medizin

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Lickert ist Full Professor und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für ß-Zellbiologie an der Fakultät für Medizin der TUM, Direktor des Institute of Diabetes and Regeneration Research (IDR) und außerplanmäßiger Professor am Institute of Stem Cell Research (ISF) des Helmholtz Zentrums München. Er ist Mitglied des Kuratoriums des Helmholtz Diabetes Zentrums (HDC) und der Herstellungseinrichtung TUMCells GMP und Mitglied des Forschungskoordinierungsgremiums des Deutschens Zentrums für Diabetesforschung (DZD).
Prof. Lickert promovierte an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität und am Max-Planck Institut in Freiburg. Es folgte ein Forschungsaufenthalt am Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Kanada. Er ist Experte für Organentwicklung und Gewebehomöostase mit dem Schwerpunkt auf endokrine Linienbildung im Darm und Pankreas, insulinproduzierende ß-Zellentwicklung, Regeneration und Ersatz, sowie metabolische Signale und stammzellbasiertes Wirkstoffscreening. Seine Forschung wurde vom Europäischen Forschungsrat (ERC), mit einem angesehenen Emmy-Noether Stipendium der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), von der Alexander-von-Humboldt Stiftung, von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und von der Europäischen Union gefördert.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Paula und Richard von Hertwig-Preis für interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit (2011)
  • ERC Grant (2009)
  • Emmy-Noether-Stipendium (2005)
  • Otto-Hahn-Medaille, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (2003)
  • Hans-Spemann-Preis, Albert-Ludwig-Universität Freiburg (2002)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Bader E et al: "Identification of proliferative and mature β-cells in the islets of Langerhans". Nature. 2016; 535(7612): 430-434.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27398620

Hoppe PS et al.: "Early myeloid lineage choice is not initiated by random PU.1 to GATA1 protein ratios". Nature. 2016; 535: 299-302.

https://www.nature.com/articles/nature18320

Roscioni S, Migliorini A, Gegg M, Lickert H: "Impact of islet architecture on β-cell heterogeneity, plasticity and function". Nat. Rev. Endocrinol. 2016; 12(12): 695-709.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27585958

Nikoletopoulou V et al: "Neurotrophin receptors TrkA and TrkC cause neuronal death whereas TrkB does not". Nature. 2010; 467(7311): 59-63.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20811452

Lickert H, Takeuchi JK, Von Both I, Walls JR, McAuliffe F, Adamson SL, Henkelman RM, Wrana JL, Rossant J, Bruneau BG.: "Baf60c is essential for function of BAF chromatin remodelling complexes in heart development". Nature. 2004; 432(7013): 107-112.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15525990