Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Harald Luksch

Chair

Zoology

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Luksch (b. 1965) has a background in neurobiology and explores sensory processing in the brains of vertebrates, in particular the midbrain. This area is essential for body orientation and plays a role in functions like the control of eye movements. His goal is to gain a mechanistic understanding of processes such as object selection and the integration of multimodal stimuli and make the findings available as algorithms for technical applications.

After studying biology in Bonn (graduated 1990) and Cologne (doctorate 1994), Prof. Luksch did postdoctoral research in Bremen and San Diego. He did his lecturer qualification at RWTH Aachen (2002) and in 2007 was appointed to the Chair of Zoology at TUM. As a member of the Leonardo da Vinci Bionics Center, he is involved in developing this interdisciplinary institute at TUM. He also plays an active role in the Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience and the Graduate School for Systemic Neuroscience.

Key Publications (all publications)

Heyers D, Manns M, Luksch H, Güntürkün O, Mouritsen H: “A putative magnetosensory pathway in migratory birds.” PLOS One 2007; 2 (937).

Abstract

Luksch H, Khanbabaie R, Wessel R: “Synaptic depression mediates form-cue invariant motion analysis”. Nature Neuroscience. 2004; 7: 380-388.

Abstract

Luksch H: “Cytoarchitecture of the avian optic tectum: Neuronal substrate for cellular computation”. Reviews in the Neurosciences. 2003; 14: 85-106.

Abstract

Luksch H, Karten HJ, Kleinfeld D, Wessel R: “Chattering and differential signal processing in  identified motion sensitive neurons of parallel visual pathways in chick tectum”. J Neurosci. 2001; 21: 6440 - 6446.

Abstract

Luksch H, Gauger B, Wagner H: “A Candidate Pathway for a Visual Instructional Signal to the Barn Owl’s Auditory System”. J Neurosci. 2000; 20: 70-74.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Luksch (*1965) forscht als Neurobiologe an den Grundlagen sensorischer Verarbeitung im Gehirn von Wirbeltieren und beschäftigt sich dabei vor allem mit dem Mittelhirn. Dieser Gehirnabschnitt ist essentiell bei der Orientierung eines Organismus im Raum und unter anderem an der Blicksteuerung beteiligt. Ziel ist es, Prozesse wie die Objektauswahl und die Integration multimodaler Stimuli mechanistisch nachzuvollziehen und als Algorithmen auch für technische Anwendungen verfügbar zu machen.

Nach dem Biologiestudium in Bonn (Diplom, 1990) und Köln (Promotion, 1994) schlossen sich Postdoktoranden-Aufenthalte in Bremen und San Diego an. An der RWTH Aachen habilitierte er (2002) und erhielt im Jahr 2007 den Ruf auf den Lehrstuhl für Zoologie an der TUM. Als Mitglied des Leonardo da Vinci-Zentrums für Bionik ist er am Aufbau dieser interdisziplinären Richtung an der TUM beteiligt; weiterhin ist er im Bernstein-Zentrum für Computational Neuroscience und der Graduate School for Systemic Neuroscience aktiv.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Heyers D, Manns M, Luksch H, Güntürkün O, Mouritsen H: “A putative magnetosensory pathway in migratory birds.” PLOS One 2007; 2 (937).

Abstract

Luksch H, Khanbabaie R, Wessel R: “Synaptic depression mediates form-cue invariant motion analysis”. Nature Neuroscience. 2004; 7: 380-388.

Abstract

Luksch H: “Cytoarchitecture of the avian optic tectum: Neuronal substrate for cellular computation”. Reviews in the Neurosciences. 2003; 14: 85-106.

Abstract

Luksch H, Karten HJ, Kleinfeld D, Wessel R: “Chattering and differential signal processing in  identified motion sensitive neurons of parallel visual pathways in chick tectum”. J Neurosci. 2001; 21: 6440 - 6446.

Abstract

Luksch H, Gauger B, Wagner H: “A Candidate Pathway for a Visual Instructional Signal to the Barn Owl’s Auditory System”. J Neurosci. 2000; 20: 70-74.

Abstract