Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Filip Mess

Associate Professor

Didactic Methods in Sport and Health

Academic Career and Research Areas

Filip Mess (b. 1976) conducts research in the field of sport pedagogy/didactics and sport psychology. The main emphasis of his work is on the determinants and effects of physical activity, focussing on its role in promoting health. In particular, his goal is to explore the physical activity of children and adolescents in schools settings and of adults in work settings. These research findings are then applied to the planning, implementation and evaluation of health promotion programs.
Mess studied sport science, mathematics and pedagogy at the University of Konstanz (2003). After earning his undergraduate degree, he went on to complete his PhD (2007) at the same university and acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) (2014) at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) (venia legendi in sport science). Between 2012 and 2014 he held the position of interim professor of the Social Science of Sport at the University of Konstanz. In 2014 he was appointed to a W3-professorship position at the University of Education in Schwäbisch Gmünd. At the beginning of the 2015/16 winter term he took on the professorship for Didactic Methods in Sport and Health at TUM.

    Awards

    • University of Konstanz Student-led Teaching Award (2013)
    • Doctoral Dissertation Publication Prize, Publishers Karl Hofmann (2008)

    Key Publications

    Mess F, Walter UN: „Körperliche Leistungsfähigkeit und Gesundheit bei älteren Arbeitnehmern“. Prävention und Gesundheitsförderung. 2013; 8(4): 228-233.

    Rauner A, Mess F, Woll A: „The relationship between physical activity, physical fitness and overweight in adolescents: a systematic review of studies published in or after 2000“. BMC Pediatrics. 2013; 13: 19.

    Mess F, Woll A: „Soziale Ungleichheit im Kindes- und Jugendalter am Beispiel des Sportengagements in Deutschland“. Zeitschrift für Soziologie der Erziehung und Sozialisation. 2012; 32(4): 359-379.

    Mess F, Woll A: „Sport und Sozialisation – eine empirische Studie zur Förderung der sozialen Integration von neuen Mitarbeitern in Betrieben“. Sport und Gesellschaft. 2010; 7(1): 27-44.

    Mess F: Sport und Sozialisation – Wege zur Integration neuer Mitarbeiter in Unternehmen. Schorndorf: Hofmann, 2008.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Filip Mess

Associate Professor

Sport- und Gesundheitsdidaktik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Mess (*1976) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Sportpädagogik/-didaktik und Sportsoziologie mit dem Schwerpunkt „Determinanten und Wirkungen sportlicher Aktivität mit dem Fokus Gesund­heits­förderung“. Sein Ziel ist, insbesondere die Aktivität von Kindern und Jugendlichen im Setting Schule zu erforschen sowie von Erwachsenen im Setting Betrieb. Diese grundlegenden Erkenntnisse fließen dann in die Planung, Durchführung und Evaluation von Gesund­heits­förderungs­programmen ein.
Prof. Mess studierte an der Universität Konstanz Sportwissenschaft, Mathematik und Pädagogik (2003). Nach dem Studium promovierte er an der Universität Konstanz (2007) und habilitiert sich schließlich 2014 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) (venia legendi für Sport­wissen­schaft). Von 2012 bis 2014 hatte er die Vertretungsprofessur für Sozialwissenschaften des Sports an der Universität Konstanz inne und wurde 2014 auf eine W3-Professur an der University of Education in Schwäbisch Gmünd berufen. Zum Wintersemester 2015/16 nahm er die Professur für Sport- und Gesundheitsdidaktik an der TU München an.

    Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

    • Lehrpreis der Universität Konstanz von Studierenden (2013) 
    • Publikationspreis im Karl Hofmann Verlag für die Dissertation (2008)

    Schlüsselpublikationen

    Spengler S, Rabel M, Kuritz A, Mess F: "Trends in motor performance of first graders: A comparison of cohorts from 2006 to 2015". Frontiers in Pediatrics. 2017; 5: 206.

    Becker C, Lauterbach G, Spengler S, Dettweiler U, Mess F: "Effects of Regular Classes in Outdoor Education Settings. A Systematic Review on Students’ Learning, Social and Health Dimensions". International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. 2017; 14(5): 485.

    Spengler S, Mess F, Woll A: "Do media use and physical activity behavior compete in adolescents? Results of the MoMo Study". Plos One. 2015; 10(12), e0142544.

    Rauner A, Mess F, Woll A: „The relationship between physical activity, physical fitness and overweight in adolescents: a systematic review of studies published in or after 2000“. BMC Pediatrics. 2013; 13: 19.

    Mess F, Woll A: „Soziale Ungleichheit im Kindes- und Jugendalter am Beispiel des Sportengagements in Deutschland“. Zeitschrift für Soziologie der Erziehung und Sozialisation. 2012; 32(4): 359-379.