Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Mewes

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Mewes (b. 1951) conducts research into genome-oriented bioinformatics and systems biology. He also develops methods for the systematic exploration of biological information. His particular interest lies in the complexity of biological processes in the multidimensional data area and describing them through systems biology, in particular with respect to neurodegenerative and metabolic diseases.

After studying chemistry at Philipps University in Marburg, Prof. Mewes worked as a researcher at the University of Heidelberg, the European Molecular Biology Laboratory and the Max Planck Institute (MPI) for Biochemistry in Martinsried. After obtaining his doctorate (1987), he set up a working group at the MPI for Biochemistry. This group did pioneering work in genome analysis with sequence analysis of the yeast and Arabidopsis genomes. He initiated the bioinformatics study program supported by the German Research Foundation in 1999. Since 2001, Prof. Mewes has been full professor of bioinformatics at TUM and Director of the Institute of Bioinformatics and Systems Biology at Helmholtz Zentrum München. In 1997, he founded Biomax Informatix AG. He is the author of 172 publications listed in the ISI. They have been cited on over 11,000 occasions.

Awards

  • Paula und Richard von Hertwig Preis für Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit (2010)
  • Honorarprofessor der Fakultät für Biologie der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (1999)

Key Publications

Rattei T, Tischler P, Arnold R, Hamberger F, Krebs J, Krumsiek J, Wachinger B, Stumpflen V, Mewes HW: "SIMAP--structuring the network of protein similarities." Nucleic Acids Res. 2008; 36.Database issue: D289-D292.

Abstract

Mewes HW, Amid C, Arnold R, Frishman D, Guldener U, Mannhaupt G, Munsterkotter M, Pagel P, Strack N, Stumpflen V, Warfsmann J, Ruepp A: "MIPS: analysis and annotation of proteins from whole genomes". Nucleic Acids Res. 2004; 32.1 : D41-D44.

Abstract

Mewes HW, Albermann K, Bahr M, Frishman D, Gleissner A, Hani J, Heumann K, Kleine K, Maierl A, Oliver SG, Pfeiffer F, Zollner A, "Overview of the yeast genome". Nature. 1997; 387.6632 Suppl S: 7-8.

Abstract

Goffeau A, Barrell BG, Bussey H, Davis RW, Dujon B, Feldmann H, Galibert F, Hoheisel JD, Jacq C, Johnston M. Louis EJ, Mewes HW, Murakami Y, Philippsen P, Tettelin H, Oliver SG:  "Life with 6000 genes". Science. 1996; 274: 546 ff.

Abstract

Dujon B, et al, Mewes HW (letzter Autor): "The complete sequence of chromosome XI of Saccharomyces Cerevisiae". Nature. 1994; 396: 371-79.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Mewes (*1951) forscht auf dem Gebiet der bioinformatischen Genomanalyse, der Systembiologie und entwickelt Methoden zur systematischen Exploration biologischer Information. Sein Interesse gilt der Komplexität biologischer Prozesse im multidimensionalen Datenraum und ihrer Beschreibung durch die Systembiologie, insbesondere mit Blick auf neurodegenerative und metabolische Erkrankungen.

Nach dem Chemiestudium an der Philipps Universität in Marburg forschte Prof. Mewes an der Universität Heidelberg, dem EMBL und dem MPI für Biochemie in Martinsried. Nach der Promotion (1987) etablierte er eine Arbeitsgruppe am MPI für Biochemie, die mit der Sequenzanalyse des Hefe- und Arabidopsisgenoms Pionierarbeit in der Genomanalyse leistete. Er initiierte den von der DFG geförderten Studiengang Bioinformatik (1999). Seit 2001 ist Prof. Mewes Ordinarius für Bioinformatik und leitet das Institut für Bioinformatik und Systembiologie am Helmholtz Zentrum München. Er gründete 1997 die Biomax Informatix AG. Er ist Autor von 172 in ISI gelisteten Publikationen, die mehr als 11.000 Mal zitiert wurden.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Paula und Richard von Hertwig Preis für Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit (2010)
  • Honorarprofessor der Fakultät für Biologie der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (1999)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Rattei T, Tischler P, Arnold R, Hamberger F, Krebs J, Krumsiek J, Wachinger B, Stumpflen V, Mewes HW: "SIMAP--structuring the network of protein similarities." Nucleic Acids Res. 2008; 36.Database issue: D289-D292.

Abstract

Mewes HW, Amid C, Arnold R, Frishman D, Guldener U, Mannhaupt G, Munsterkotter M, Pagel P, Strack N, Stumpflen V, Warfsmann J, Ruepp A: "MIPS: analysis and annotation of proteins from whole genomes". Nucleic Acids Res. 2004; 32.1 : D41-D44.

Abstract

Mewes HW, Albermann K, Bahr M, Frishman D, Gleissner A, Hani J, Heumann K, Kleine K, Maierl A, Oliver SG, Pfeiffer F, Zollner A, "Overview of the yeast genome". Nature. 1997; 387.6632 Suppl S: 7-8.

Abstract

Goffeau A, Barrell BG, Bussey H, Davis RW, Dujon B, Feldmann H, Galibert F, Hoheisel JD, Jacq C, Johnston M. Louis EJ, Mewes HW, Murakami Y, Philippsen P, Tettelin H, Oliver SG:  "Life with 6000 genes". Science. 1996; 274: 546 ff.

Abstract

Dujon B, et al, Mewes HW (letzter Autor): "The complete sequence of chromosome XI of Saccharomyces Cerevisiae". Nature. 1994; 396: 371-79.