Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Müller

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Müller (b. 1960) conducts research into structural dynamics and vibroacoustics, in particular dynamic soil structure interaction, structural dynamics, sound radiation and sound fields generated by vibrations in buildings and vehicles. For this research he applies hybrid deterministic and statistical approaches.
After studying civil engineering at TUM, Professor Müller completed his PhD at the same university (1989). His postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) is in engineering mechanics (1993). Between 1992 and 2004 he worked for a large engineering firm focussing on all aspects of sound, vibration and air pollution control. For nine years he was managing director of this firm. He has been a professor at TUM since 2004. He is executive president of the European Association for Structural Dynamics (EASD). In 2009/10 he was chairman of the umbrella association of the Faculty Associations for Engineering and Computer Science (4ING e.V.). Professor Müller is chairman of the Education Committee of the Bavarian Chamber of Engineers (Civil Engineers).  Since 2014 he has been Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs.

Key Publications (all publications)

Buchschmid M, Pospiech M, Müller G: "Coupling Impedance Boundary Conditions for Absorptive Structures with Spectral Finite Elements in Room Acoustical Simulations". Computing and Visualization in Science, accepted for publication.

Abstract

Müller G: „Räume für Musik, raumakustische Zielsetzung und Planung“. Plenary lecture. 2005; proc 31 Jahrestagung für Akustik DAGA.

Guggenberger J, Müller G: „Erschütterungen“. In: Taschenbuch der Technischen Akustik. Editor: Müller G, Möser M, (eds). 2004; 767-799.

Müller G: „Structure-borne sound – phenomena and prediction“. semi-plenary keynote lecture, Fifth European Conference on Structural Dynamics. 2002; EURODYN, Munich: 111-122.

Müller G: „Die Statistische Energieanalyse - Eine Methode der numerischen Akustik“. VDI-Berichte „Entwicklung lärm- und schwingungsarmer Produkte“. 1999; 1491: 23-45.

Müller G: „Wellenausbreitung im elastischen Halbraum infolge einer sich kreisförmig ausbreitenden Druckbelastung“. Ingenieur-Archiv. 1991; 61, 276 – 283.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Müller

Lehrstuhl

Baumechanik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Müller (*1960) beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der Strukturdynamik und der Vibroakustik, mit Fokus auf die dynamische Boden-Bauwerk-Wechselwirkung, die Baudynamik und durch Schwingungen induzierte Schallabstrahlungen und Schallfelder in Gebäuden oder Fahrzeugen. Er verwendet hierzu hybride deterministische und statistische Ansätze.
Nach dem Studium des Bauingenieurwesens an der TUM wurde Prof. Müller dort auch promoviert (1989). Er habilitierte im Fach Technische Mechanik (1993). Von 1992 bis 2004 war er in einem großen Ingenieurbüro tätig, welches sich mit verschiedensten Fragestellungen des Schall- und Schwingungsschutzes und der Luftreinhaltung befasst, davon neun Jahre als Geschäftsführer. Seit 2004 ist er Professor an der TUM. Er ist Präsident der European Association for Structural Dynamics (EASD). Im Zeitraum 2009/10 war er Vorsitzender des Dachverbandes der Fakultäten­tage der Ingenieurwissenschaften und der Informatik 4ING e.V.. Prof. Müller ist Vorsitzender des Ausschusses Bildung der Bayerischen Ingenieurekammer-Bau. Seit 2014 ist er Geschäfts­führender Vizepräsident für Studium und Lehre.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Buchschmid M, Pospiech M, Müller G: "Coupling Impedance Boundary Conditions for Absorptive Structures with Spectral Finite Elements in Room Acoustical Simulations". Computing and Visualization in Science, accepted for publication.

Abstract

Müller G: „Räume für Musik, raumakustische Zielsetzung und Planung“. Plenary lecture. 2005; proc 31 Jahrestagung für Akustik DAGA.

Guggenberger J, Müller G: „Erschütterungen“. In: Taschenbuch der Technischen Akustik. Editor: Müller G, Möser M, (eds). 2004; 767-799.

Müller G: „Structure-borne sound – phenomena and prediction“. semi-plenary keynote lecture, Fifth European Conference on Structural Dynamics. 2002; EURODYN, Munich: 111-122.

Müller G: „Die Statistische Energieanalyse - Eine Methode der numerischen Akustik“. VDI-Berichte „Entwicklung lärm- und schwingungsarmer Produkte“. 1999; 1491: 23-45.

Müller G: „Wellenausbreitung im elastischen Halbraum infolge einer sich kreisförmig ausbreitenden Druckbelastung“. Ingenieur-Archiv. 1991; 61, 276 – 283.