Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Tom Nilges

Department

Chemistry

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Nilges (b. 1971) conducts research into inorganic solid-state and materials chemistry, focusing on ion-conducting compounds, electrode materials for Li  batteries and thermoelectric materials. His research activities include developing new synthesis strategies as well as understanding and optimizing the physical properties of energy materials and devising new conceptual approaches for them. Much of his work involves investigating main group and late transition metal compounds and optimizing them in terms of their electric and thermoelectric properties.

Prof. Nilges attended the Universities of Siegen and Aberdeen, Scotland and obtained his chemistry diploma in 1998. He completed his doctorate in Siegen in 2001. Following a period of research at the University of Regensburg, he did his lecturer qualification in 2004 at the University of Münster, where he was appointed sub-project leader of Collaborative Research Center 458. In 2007, he worked as an interim professor at the same university. In 2009, he was a visiting professor at the University of Bordeaux, France. Since 2010, he has been professor of synthesis and characterization of innovative materials at TUM and delivers lectures for the Advanced Materials Science elite program.

Awards

  • International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) Scientific and Applied Award for an outstanding scientific paper (2009)    
  • Gastprofessur Universität Bordeaux (2009)
  • Forschungsförderung der Dr. Otto Röhm Gedächtnis-Stiftung (2008)

Key Publications (all publications)

Nilges T, Osters O, Bawohl M, Bobet JL, Chevalier B, Decourt R: “Reversible property switching, thermoelectric performance and d10-d10 interactions in Ag5Te2Cl”. Chem. Mater.  2010; 22(9): 2946–2954.

Abstract

Nilges T, Lange S, Bawohl M, Deckwart JM, Wiemhöfer HD, Decourt R, Chevalier B, Vannahme J, Eckert H, Weihrich R: “Reversible switching between p- and n-type conduction in the semiconductor Ag10Te4Br3”. Nature Mater. 2009; 8(2): 101–108.

Abstract

Lange S, Bawohl M, Weihrich R, Nilges T: “Mineralisation routes to polyphosphides: Cu2P20 and Cu5InP16”.  Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2008; 47(30): 5654–5657.

Abstract

Lange S, Bawohl M, Nilges T: “Crystal structures, thermal and electrical properties of the new silver (poly)chalcogenide halides Ag23Te12Cl and Ag23Te12Br”. Inorg. Chem. 2008; 47(7): 2625–2633.

Abstract

Lange P, Schmidt P, Nilges T: “Au3SnP7@black phosphorus: An easy access to black phosphorus”. Inorg. Chem. 2007; 46(10): 4028–4035.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Tom Nilges

Fakultät

Chemie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Nilges (*1971) forscht auf dem Gebiet der anorganischen Festkörper- und Materialchemie mit Fokus auf ionenleitenden Verbindungen, Elektrodenmaterialien für Li-Batterien und Thermoelektrika. Das Spektrum seiner Forschungstätigkeiten reicht von der Entwicklung neuer Synthesestrategien über das Verständnis und die Optimierung der physikalischen Eigenschaften bis hin zur Erarbeitung neuer konzeptioneller Ansätze für Energiematerialien. Schwerpunktmäßig werden Hauptgruppen- und späte Übergangsmetall-Verbindungen untersucht und bezüglich ihrer elektrischen und thermoelektrischen Eigenschaften optimiert.

Prof. Nilges absolvierte 1998 an den Universitäten Siegen und Aberdeen, Schottland sein Chemiestudium und promovierte in Siegen im Jahre 2001. Nach einer Station an der Universität Regensburg habilitierte er sich 2004 an der Universität Münster, wo er auch Teilprojektleiter des Sonderforschungsbereichs 458 war. 2007 vertrat er dort eine Professur, bevor ihn 2009 eine Gastprofessur an die Universität Bordeaux, Frankreich führte. Seit 2010 ist er Professor für Synthese und Charakterisierung innovativer Materialien an der TUM und arbeitet als Dozent im Elitestudiengang Advanced Materials Science.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) Scientific and Applied Award for an outstanding scientific paper (2009)    
  • Gastprofessur Universität Bordeaux (2009)
  • Forschungsförderung der Dr. Otto Röhm Gedächtnis-Stiftung (2008)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Nilges T, Osters O, Bawohl M, Bobet JL, Chevalier B, Decourt R: “Reversible property switching, thermoelectric performance and d10-d10 interactions in Ag5Te2Cl”. Chem. Mater.  2010; 22(9): 2946–2954.

Abstract

Nilges T, Lange S, Bawohl M, Deckwart JM, Wiemhöfer HD, Decourt R, Chevalier B, Vannahme J, Eckert H, Weihrich R: “Reversible switching between p- and n-type conduction in the semiconductor Ag10Te4Br3”. Nature Mater. 2009; 8(2): 101–108.

Abstract

Lange S, Bawohl M, Weihrich R, Nilges T: “Mineralisation routes to polyphosphides: Cu2P20 and Cu5InP16”.  Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2008; 47(30): 5654–5657.

Abstract

Lange S, Bawohl M, Nilges T: “Crystal structures, thermal and electrical properties of the new silver (poly)chalcogenide halides Ag23Te12Cl and Ag23Te12Br”. Inorg. Chem. 2008; 47(7): 2625–2633.

Abstract

Lange P, Schmidt P, Nilges T: “Au3SnP7@black phosphorus: An easy access to black phosphorus”. Inorg. Chem. 2007; 46(10): 4028–4035.

Abstract