Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Petzold

Department

Architecture

Contact Details

Visitenkarte in TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

The focus of research and lecturing at the Chair of Prof. Petzold (b. 1968) is on computer-aided architectural design. The work involves analyzing the activities of architects, formulating requirements for digital tools and – based on the latest technologies – creating concepts and developing and evaluating prototype solutions.

After studying applied computer science (specializing in a the Chair of Architectural Informatics at Bauhaus University Weimar. Following his doctorate in 2001, he was junior professor of architectural informatics there until he was appointed full professor at TUM. Prof. Petzold is a member of the Arbeitskreis für Architekturinformatik and Arbeitskreis Bauinformatik study group as well as various international bodies.

Key Publications

Schubert G, Anthes C, Petzold F, Kranzmüller D: „FROM PHYSICAL TO VIRTUAL: REAL-TIME IMMERSIVE VISUALISATIONS FROM AN ARCHITECT’S WORKING MODEL”. CONVR,  2012. Taipei, Taiwan.

Abstract

Langenhan C, Weber M, Liwicki F, Petzold F, Dengel A: „Sketch-based Methods for Researching Building Layouts through the Semantic Fingerprint of Architecture”. Proceedings of CAAD Future. 2011; 85-102.

Abstract

Langenhan C, Weber M, Liwicki M, Dengel A, Petzold F: „Topological Query on Semantic Building Models Using Ontology and Graph Theory”. Computing in Engineering: EG-ICE Conference; 2012, Shaker Verlag.

Abstract

Langenhan C, Seifert A, Teichert A, Petzold F: „ar:searchbox – Knowledge management for architecture students”. Proceedings of eCAADe, 2012.

Abstract

Schubert G, Artinger E, Yanev V, Petzold F, Klinker G: (2012): „3D Virtuality Sketching: Interactive 3D-sketching based on real models in a virtual scene”. Proceedings of ACADIA, 2011, San Francisco. USA.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Petzold

Fakultät

Architektur

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Der Lehrstuhl von Prof. Petzold (*1968) setzt sich sowohl in der Forschung, als auch der Lehre mit Fragestellungen der informationstechnischen Unterstützung im architektonischen Entwurfsprozess auseinander. Dabei werden die Tätigkeitsfelder in der Architektur analysiert, Anforderungen an digitale Werkzeuge erarbeitet und mit dem Wissen der neuen Technologien Konzepte erstellt, prototypische Lösungen entwickelt und evaluiert.

Nach dem Studium der angewandten Informatik mit Vertiefung Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen an der Hochschule für Architektur und Bauwesen Weimar war Prof. Petzold wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Professur für Informatik in der Architektur an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Nach seiner Promotion im Jahre 2001 hatte er eine Juniorprofessur für Architekturinformatik bis zu seiner Tätigkeit als Ordinus an der TUM inne. Prof. Petzold ist Mitglied des Arbeitskreises für Architekturinformatik und des Arbeitskreises Bauinformatik sowie Mitglied in verschiedenen internationalen Gremien.

Schlüsselpublikationen

Schubert G, Anthes C, Petzold F, Kranzmüller D: „FROM PHYSICAL TO VIRTUAL: REAL-TIME IMMERSIVE VISUALISATIONS FROM AN ARCHITECT’S WORKING MODEL”. CONVR,  2012. Taipei, Taiwan.

Abstract

Langenhan C, Weber M, Liwicki F, Petzold F, Dengel A: „Sketch-based Methods for Researching Building Layouts through the Semantic Fingerprint of Architecture”. Proceedings of CAAD Future. 2011; 85-102.

Abstract

Langenhan C, Weber M, Liwicki M, Dengel A, Petzold F: „Topological Query on Semantic Building Models Using Ontology and Graph Theory”. Computing in Engineering: EG-ICE Conference; 2012, Shaker Verlag.

Abstract

Langenhan C, Seifert A, Teichert A, Petzold F: „ar:searchbox – Knowledge management for architecture students”. Proceedings of eCAADe, 2012.

Abstract

Schubert G, Artinger E, Yanev V, Petzold F, Klinker G: (2012): „3D Virtuality Sketching: Interactive 3D-sketching based on real models in a virtual scene”. Proceedings of ACADIA, 2011, San Francisco. USA.

Abstract