Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Christian Pfleiderer

Department

Physics

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Pfleiderer (b. 1965) carries out research in the field of experimental solid state physics. The primary focus of his research is the systematic search for new material properties with unusual topological characteristics and strong electronic correlations in the areas of magnetism and superconductivity. His portfolio of experimental methods encompasses the single crystal growth of intermetallic compounds, the measurement of transport and volume properties under extreme conditions and a wide range of scattering methods.
Professor Pfleiderer studied physics in Tübingen and Denver. He acquired his doctoral degree from the University of Cambridge which he attended between 1990 and 1994. Subsequently he worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies Commission (CEA) in Grenoble (1994-1996) and headed a Helmholtz junior university research group in Karlsruhe. In 2004 he was appointed associate professor of magnetic materials and in 2014 full professor of topology of correlated systems at TUM. Prof. Pfleiderer is an active member of the steering committee of the DFG CRC Transregio 80 and its Integrated Graduate School, as well as Spokesperson of the DFG Priority Program SPP2137 (Skyrmionics). He is Deputy Coordinator of the Quantum Matter Division of the Cluster of Excellence Munich Center for Quantum Science and Technology (MCQST) and designated Founding Director of the TUM Center for Quantum Engineering (ZQE).

Awards

  • Max Born Prize of the Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft and the Institute of Physics (UK) (2016)
  • European Physical Society’s prestigious Europhysics Prize (2016)
  • Advanced grant of the European Research Council (2012, 2018)
  • Academy Prize of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (2004)

Key Publications

Chacon A, Heinen L, Halder M, Bauer A, Simeth W, Mühlbauer S, Berger H, Garst M, Rosch A, Pfleiderer C: "Observation of two independent skyrmion phases in a chiral magnetic material". Nature Physics. 2018; 14: 936-941.

Abstract

Ritz R, Halder M, Wagner M, Franz C, Bauer A, Pfleiderer C: “Formation of a Topological Non-Fermi Liquid in MnSi”. Nature. 2013; 497:231-234. 

Abstract

Jonietz F, Mühlbauer S, Pfleiderer C, Neubauer A, Münzer W, Bauer A, Georgii R, Böni P, Duine RA, Everschor K, Garst M,  Rosch A: "Spin Transfer Torques in MnSi at Ultra-low Current Densities". Science. 2010; 330: 1648.

Abstract

Pfleiderer C: “Superconducting phases of f-electron compounds”. Reviews of Modern Physics. 2009; 81: 1015.

Abstract

Mühlbauer S, Binz B, Jonietz F, Pfleiderer C, Rosch A, Neubauer A, Georgii R, Böni P: “Skyrmion lattice in a chiral magnet”. Science. 2009; 323: 915.

Abstract

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Prof. Dr. Christian Pfleiderer

Fakultät

Physik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Pfleiderer (*1965) arbeitet auf dem Gebiet der experimentellen Festkörperphysik. Ziel seiner Forschung ist die systematische Suche nach Quanten-Materialien mit ungewöhnlichen topologischen Charakteristiken und starken elektronischen Korrelationen im Bereich Magnetismus und Supraleitung. Das Portfolio der experimentellen Methoden umfasst die Einkristallzüchtung intermetallischer Verbindungen, die Messung von Transport- und Volumeneigenschaften unter extremen Bedingungen sowie ein breites Methodenspektrum der Neutronenstreuung.
Prof. Pfleiderer studierte Physik in Tübingen und Denver.  Von 1990 bis 1994 promovierte er an der University of Cambridge. Nach Tätigkeiten als Postdoc am CEA Grenoble (1994-1996) und als Assistent und Leiter einer Helmholtz-Hochschulnachwuchsgruppe in Karlsruhe wurde er 2004 zum Extraordinarius für Magnetische Materialien und 2014 zum Ordinarius für Topologie korrelierter Systeme an der TUM ernannt. Prof. Pfleiderer engagiert sich im Vorstand des Transregio 80 der DFG und der zugehörigen Integrierten Graduiertenschule sowie als Sprecher des Schwerpunktprogramms SPP2137 (Skyrmionics). Er ist stellvertretender Koordinator des Bereichs Quanten-Materie des Exzellenzclusters Munich Centre for Quantum Science and Technology (MCQST) und designierter Gründungsdirektor des TUM Zentrum für QuantenEngineering (ZQE).

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Max Born Preis der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft und des Institute of Physics (UK) (2016)
  • European Physics Preis der Abteilung kondensierte Materie der Europäischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft (2016)
  • Advanced Grant des European Research Council (2012, 2018)
  • Akademiepreis der Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften (2004)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Chacon A, Heinen L, Halder M, Bauer A, Simeth W, Mühlbauer S, Berger H, Garst M, Rosch A, Pfleiderer C: "Observation of two independent skyrmion phases in a chiral magnetic material". Nature Physics. 2018; 14: 936-941.

Abstract

Ritz R, Halder M, Wagner M, Franz C, Bauer A, Pfleiderer C: “Formation of a Topological Non-Fermi Liquid in MnSi”. Nature. 2013; 497:231-234. 

Abstract

Jonietz F, Mühlbauer S, Pfleiderer C, Neubauer A, Münzer W, Bauer A, Georgii R, Böni P, Duine RA, Everschor K, Garst M,  Rosch A: "Spin Transfer Torques in MnSi at Ultra-low Current Densities". Science. 2010; 330: 1648.

Abstract

Pfleiderer C: “Superconducting phases of f-electron compounds”. Reviews of Modern Physics. 2009; 81: 1015.

Abstract

Mühlbauer S, Binz B, Jonietz F, Pfleiderer C, Rosch A, Neubauer A, Georgii R, Böni P: “Skyrmion lattice in a chiral magnet”. Science. 2009; 323: 915.

Abstract