Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research activities of Professor Prenzel (b. 1952) focus on the conditions for the development of interests and competence. His research profile during the last decade is characterized by international comparative studies such as PISA, longitudinal studies (such as studies of teaching ability) and differentiated teaching analyses using video recordings or projects for the fostering of teaching ability (SINUS).  
After completing his studies in education, psychology and sociology with the award of a corresponding Master’s degree, Manfred Prenzel was awarded a doctorate at Munich’s Ludwig Maximilian University (1980), where he worked as an assistant until qualifying as a lecturer (1987). Following a professorship in educational psychology at the University of Regensburg, Professor Prenzel moved to the Leibniz Institute for Natural Sciences Education in Kiel in 1997. He served as Director of that institute until he joined TUM. Professor Prenzel is a member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (Acatech).

Awards

  • Erich-Hylla-Prize (2008)

Key Publications

Prenzel  M, Sälzer Ch, Klieme E, Köller O (Editors): PISA 2012: Fortschritte und Herausforderungen in Deutschland. Münster: Waxmann, 2013.

Prenzel M: „Initiativen und Perspektiven zur Weiterentwicklung der Lehrerbildung“. In: Handbuch Qualität in Studium und Lehre. Editors: Benz W, Kohler J, Landfried K. Berlin: Raabe Verlag, 2013: 1-22.

Prenzel M, Kobarg M, Schöps K, Rönnebeck S (Editors): Research on PISA. Research Outcomes of the PISA Research Conference 2009. Dordrecht: Springer, 2013.

Kobarg M, Prenzel M, Seidel T, Walker M, McCrae B, Cresswell J, Wittwer J: An international comparison of science teaching and learning – Further results from PISA 2006. Muenster: Waxmann, 2011.

Prenzel M, Reiss K, Seidel T: „Lehrerbildung an der TUM School of Education“. Erziehungswissenschaft. 2011; 22(43): 47-56.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Der Schwerpunkt der Forschung von Prof. Prenzel (*1952) liegt auf der Untersuchung von Bedingungen der Kompetenz- und Interessenentwicklung. Internationale Vergleichsstudien wie PISA, Längsschnittuntersuchungen (z.B. von Lehrerkompetenzen), differenzierte Unterrichtsanalysen mit Hilfe von Videos oder Projekte zur Unterrichtsentwicklung (SINUS) kennzeichnen das Forschungsprofil des letzten Jahrzehnts.

Nach dem Studium der Fächer Pädagogik, Psychologie und Soziologie und einem entsprechenden Master-Abschluss promovierte Manfred Prenzel an der LMU München (1980) und arbeitete dort als Assistent bis zur Habilitation (1987). Nach einer Professur für Pädagogische Psychologie an der Universität Regensburg wechselte Prof. Prenzel (1997) an das Leibniz-Institut für die Pädagogik der Naturwissenschaften in Kiel, das er bis zu seinem Wechsel an die Technische Universität München als Geschäftsführender Direktor leitete. Prof. Prenzel ist Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech). Anfang 2011 wurde Prof. Prenzel in den Wissenschaftsrat berufen.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Erich-Hylla-Preis (2008)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Prenzel  M, Sälzer Ch, Klieme E, Köller O (Editors): PISA 2012: Fortschritte und Herausforderungen in Deutschland. Münster: Waxmann, 2013.

Prenzel M: „Initiativen und Perspektiven zur Weiterentwicklung der Lehrerbildung“. In: Handbuch Qualität in Studium und Lehre. Editors: Benz W, Kohler J, Landfried K. Berlin: Raabe Verlag, 2013: 1-22.

Prenzel M, Kobarg M, Schöps K, Rönnebeck S (Editors): Research on PISA. Research Outcomes of the PISA Research Conference 2009. Dordrecht: Springer, 2013.

Kobarg M, Prenzel M, Seidel T, Walker M, McCrae B, Cresswell J, Wittwer J: An international comparison of science teaching and learning – Further results from PISA 2006. Muenster: Waxmann, 2011.

Prenzel M, Reiss K, Seidel T: „Lehrerbildung an der TUM School of Education“. Erziehungswissenschaft. 2011; 22(43): 47-56.