TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Andreas Putz

Department

Architecture

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Putz (*1981) is interested in the processes of observing, recording, and maintaining recent building heritage.

Andreas Putz studied architecture at the TU Dresden, the University of Edinburgh, and ETH Zürich. After graduating, he was employed as an architect first in Basel and later in Dresden. From 2009 onwards he was in charge of the conversion of Erich Mendelsohn’s former Schocken department store in Chemnitz. He moved to the Institute of Historic Building Research and Conservation at ETH Zürich to work as a research assistant with Prof. Uta Hassler. Here, he completed his doctoral thesis in 2015. Alongside his freelance work as a registered architect, he has worked as a research associate at IRS, Erkner/Berlin, and as a postdoctoral researcher with Prof. Laurent at the Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture (gta), ETH Zürich. Andreas Putz was appointed Tenure Track Assistant Professor for Recent Building Heritage Conservation at the Technical University of Munich in 2017. He is a member of the German National Commitee of ICOMOS, DOCOMOMO International, the Koldewey-Gesellschaft and the Arbeitskreis Theorie und Lehre der Denkmalpflege.

Awards

  • Theodor-Fischer-Award (2016)

Key Publications

Putz A: "Wo Paul und Paula lebten. Zur Erhaltung und „Rekonstruktion“ des Baubestands in der DDR". In: Rationelle Visionen. Raumproduktion in der DDR (Forschungen zum baukulturellen Erbe der DDR, 8). Editors: Mager T, Trötschel-Daniels B. Weimar: Bauhaus Universitätsverlag, [2018]: 80-99. [in press]

Putz A: "Sheltered. Parked. Respirated. Three underground spaces by Gottfried Schindler". In: Building Knowledge, Constructing Histories (Proceedings of the 6th International Congress on Construction History, July 9–13, 2018, Brussels, Belgium). Editors: Wouters I, van de Voorde S, Bertels I et al.. Leiden: CRC Press/Balkema, 2018: 1067-1074.

Putz A: "‚Alte Stadt’ und ‚Stadt der Techniker’ – Der Zürcher Baubestand und seine planerische Erfassung". In: Produkt Altstadt – Historische Stadtzentren in Städtebau und Denkmalpflege. Editor: Enss CM, Vinken G. Bielefeld: transcript, 2016: 165-182.

Abstract

van Aaken W, Putz A: "’Not the fault of the material, but of our attitude’ – Insulation materials in Switzerland from 1950-1970". 3rd Proceedings of the 5th International Congress on Construction History. Chicago, IL, USA. 03.-07.06.2015: 509-515. 

Abstract

Putz A: "Der Bestand der Stadt. Leitbilder und Praktiken der Erhaltung, Zürich 1930–1970." Dissertation ETH Zürich, 2015. 

Abstract

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Prof. Dr. Andreas Putz

Fakultät

Architektur

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Putz (*1981) befasst sich mit Fragen der Erfassung und Erhaltung des Bauerbes der jüngeren Vergangenheit.

Andreas Putz studierte Architektur an der TU Dresden, der University of Edinburgh und an der ETH Zürich. Er war zunächst als angestellter Architekt in Basel, später in Dresden beschäftigt, und betreute ab 2009 den Umbau des ehemaligen Kaufhaus Schocken von Erich Mendelsohn in Chemnitz. Er war wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Institut für Bauforschung und Denkmalpflege der ETH Zürich bei Prof. Uta Hassler, wo er 2015 promoviert wurde. Neben seiner freiberuflichen Tätigkeit als Architekt arbeitete er anschließend als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am IRS Erkner/Berlin und als Postdoc am Institut gta der ETH Zürich bei Prof. Laurent Stalder. 2017 wurde Prof. Putz auf die Tenure Track Assistant Professur für Neuere Baudenkmalpflege an die Technische Universität München berufen. Er ist Mitglied im Deutschen Nationalkomitee von ICOMOS, DOCOMOMO International, der Koldewey-Gesellschaft und im Arbeitskreis Theorie und Lehre der Denkmalpflege.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Theodor-Fischer-Preis (2016)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Putz A: "Wo Paul und Paula lebten. Zur Erhaltung und „Rekonstruktion“ des Baubestands in der DDR". In: Rationelle Visionen. Raumproduktion in der DDR (Forschungen zum baukulturellen Erbe der DDR, 8). Editors: Mager T, Trötschel-Daniels B. Weimar: Bauhaus Universitätsverlag, [2018]: 80-99. [in press]

Putz A: "Sheltered. Parked. Respirated. Three underground spaces by Gottfried Schindler". In: Building Knowledge, Constructing Histories (Proceedings of the 6th International Congress on Construction History, July 9–13, 2018, Brussels, Belgium). Editors: Wouters I, van de Voorde S, Bertels I et al.. Leiden: CRC Press/Balkema, 2018: 1067-1074.

Putz A: "‚Alte Stadt’ und ‚Stadt der Techniker’ – Der Zürcher Baubestand und seine planerische Erfassung". In: Produkt Altstadt – Historische Stadtzentren in Städtebau und Denkmalpflege. Editor: Enss CM, Vinken G. Bielefeld: transcript, 2016: 165-182.

Abstract

van Aaken W, Putz A: "’Not the fault of the material, but of our attitude’ – Insulation materials in Switzerland from 1950-1970". 3rd Proceedings of the 5th International Congress on Construction History. Chicago, IL, USA. 03.-07.06.2015: 509-515. 

Abstract

Putz A: "Der Bestand der Stadt. Leitbilder und Praktiken der Erhaltung, Zürich 1930–1970." Dissertation ETH Zürich, 2015. 

Abstract