Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Reinhart

Contact Details

Business card in TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Reinhart’s Chair conducts research into assembly technology, automation and robotics as well as production management and logistics.

He studied mechanical engineering (specializing in design & development) at TUM until 1982. In 1987, he did his doctorate at TUM’s Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management (iwb) under Prof. Dr.-Ing. J. Milberg. From 1988 to 1993, he worked at BMW AG, initially as head of the joining and handling development department and subsequently as director of the body paint shop in Munich. In 1993, Prof. Reinhart was appointed director of the iwb. From March 2002 to February 2007, he took a sabbatical to become the board member with responsibility for technology and marketing at IWKA AG in Karlsruhe. Since 2007, he and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Zäh have served as co-directors of the iwb at Garching and Augsburg. Since January 1, 2009, he has been Head of the Fraunhofer Research Institution for Casting, Composite and Processing Technology (IGCV) in Augsburg.

Awards

  • European Industrial Ethernet Award (2010)
  • Otto-Kienzle-Gedenkmünze der Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft für Produktionstechnik (WGP) (1991)

Key Publications

Zaeh MF, Reinhart G, Ostgathe M, Geiger F, Lau C: „A holistic approach for the cognitive control of production systems“. Advanced Engineering Informatics. 2010; 24(3): 300–307.

Abstract

Reinhart G, Lacour FF: „Physically based Virtual Commissioning of Material Flow Intensive Manufacturing Plants”. In: 3rd International Conferece on Changeable, Agile, Reconfigurable and Virtual Production(CARV), München. Editor: Zäh MF. 2009: 377-387.

Reinhart G, Tekouo W: “Automatic programming of robot-mounted 3D optical scanning devices to easily measure parts in high-variant assembly”. CIRP Annals - Manufacturing Technlogy. 2009; 58(1): 25-28.

Abstract

Reinhart G, Loy M: “Flexible Feeding of Complex Parts”. 2nd CIRP Conference on Assembly Technologies and Systems, Toronto / Kanada. 2008.

Krebs P, Müller N, Schellmann H, Reinhardt S, von Bredow M, Reinhart G, „Ganzheitliche Risikobewertung für produzierender Unternehmen“. ZWF Zeitschrift für wirtschaftlichen Fabrikbetrieb. 2009; 104 (3): 174–180.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Lehrstuhls umfassen die Bereiche Montagetechnik, Automation und Robotik sowie Produktionsmanagement und Logistik.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Reinhart studierte bis 1982 Maschinenbau (Schwerpunkt Konstruktion & Entwicklung) an der TUM und schloss 1987 die Promotion am Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften (iwb) der TUM bei Prof. Dr.-Ing. J. Milberg ab. Von 1988-1993 war er leitender Angestellter bei der BMW AG, anfangs zuständig für die Entwicklung von Füge- und Handhabungstechnologien, später für die Münchener Karossen-Lackiererei. 1993 wurde Prof. Reinhart in die Leitung des iwb berufen. Von März 2002 bis Februar 2007 war Prof. Reinhart beurlaubt und nahm die Aufgabe des Vorstands für Technik und Marketing bei der IWKA AG in Karlsruhe an. Seit 2007 leitet er gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Zäh das iwb an den Standorten Garching und Augsburg. Seit dem 1. Januar 2009 ist er Leiter der Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Gießerei-, Composite- und Verarbeitungstechnik (IGCV) in Augsburg.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • European Industrial Ethernet Award (2010)
  • Otto-Kienzle-Gedenkmünze der Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft für Produktionstechnik (WGP) (1991)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Zaeh MF, Reinhart G, Ostgathe M, Geiger F, Lau C: „A holistic approach for the cognitive control of production systems“. Advanced Engineering Informatics. 2010; 24(3): 300–307.

Abstract

Reinhart G, Lacour FF: „Physically based Virtual Commissioning of Material Flow Intensive Manufacturing Plants”. In: 3rd International Conferece on Changeable, Agile, Reconfigurable and Virtual Production(CARV), München. Editor: Zäh MF. 2009: 377-387.

Reinhart G, Tekouo W: “Automatic programming of robot-mounted 3D optical scanning devices to easily measure parts in high-variant assembly”. CIRP Annals - Manufacturing Technlogy. 2009; 58(1): 25-28.

Abstract

Reinhart G, Loy M: “Flexible Feeding of Complex Parts”. 2nd CIRP Conference on Assembly Technologies and Systems, Toronto / Kanada. 2008.

Krebs P, Müller N, Schellmann H, Reinhardt S, von Bredow M, Reinhart G, „Ganzheitliche Risikobewertung für produzierender Unternehmen“. ZWF Zeitschrift für wirtschaftlichen Fabrikbetrieb. 2009; 104 (3): 174–180.