Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Academic Career and Research Areas

The primary focus of the research group of Professor Rutschmann (b. 1954) and the affiliated Oskar von Miller Research Laboratory, a hydraulic engineering research institute in Obernach in Bavaria, Germany, is on teaching and carrying out research in the field of current and emerging hydraulic engineering technologies and water management. His particular interests lie in water power, flood prevention, flow morphology issues and environmental hydraulics. Research is conducted using hydraulic models as well as complex coupled three-dimensional flow programs. Hybrid modeling which utilizes both approaches simultaneously is also used.

Professor Rutschmann studied and received his doctorate at ETH Zurich (1988) where he subsequently carried out applied research for over twenty years. In 2002 he was appointed professor of hydraulics, hydrology and experimental hydraulic engineering at Innsbruck, where he headed the Institute of Hydraulic Engineering. Professor Rutschmann has been a professor at TUM since 2007. He invented the “shaft power plant I” design which was patented in 2010.

Awards

  • Beirat DWA Landesverband Bayern (seit 2009)
  • Vize-Präsident der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Hydrologie (bis 2008)

Key Publications

Bui M-D, Rutschmann P: “Numerical modelling of non-equilibrium graded sediment transport in a curved open channel”. Computers & Geosciences. 2010; 36: 792–800.

Abstract

Kruger S, Rutschmann P: “Modeling 3D Supercritical Flow with an Extended Shallow Water Approach”. ASCE Journal of Hydraulic Engineering. 2006; 132(9): 916-926.

Abstract

Naef D, Rickenmann D, Rutschmann P, McArdell B: “Comparison of flow resistance relations for debris flows using a one-dimensional finite element simulation model”. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences. 2006; 6: 155-165.

Abstract

Volkart PU, Rutschmann P: “Aerators on Spillways. Hydraulic Design Considerations, Air Entrainment in Free Surface Flows”. In: IAHR Hydraulic Structures Design Manual. Editor: Wood IR, Balkema AA, Rotterdam. 1991; 85-113.

Rutschmann P, Volkart PU, Vischer D: “Swirling Flow Problems at Intakes. Hydraulic Design Considerations, Intake structures”. In: IAHR Hydraulic Structures Design Manual. Editor: Knauss J, Balkema AA, Rotterdam. 1987; 91-100.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Peter Rutschmann

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Der Lehrstuhl von Prof. Rutschmann (*1954) und das angeschlossene „Oskar von Miller Versuchslabor“, die wasserbauliche Versuchsanstalt in Obernach, beschäftigen sich sowohl in der Lehre als auch in der Forschung mit aktuellen Fragen des Wasserbaus und der Wasserwirtschaft. Schwerpunktbereiche sind die Wasserkraft, der Hochwasserschutz, flussmorphologische Fragestellungen und die Ökohydraulik. Als Methoden werden sowohl der hydraulische Modellversuch als auch komplexe und gekoppelte dreidimensionale Strömungsprogramme eingesetzt. Eine Spezialität ist die gleichzeitige Anwendung der beiden Ansätze, die hybride Modellierung.

Prof. Rutschmann studierte und promovierte 1988 an der ETH Zürich, wo er auch über zwanzig Jahre in der angewandten Forschung arbeitete, bevor er 2002 auf die Professur für Hydraulik, Hydrologie und wasserbauliches Versuchswesen nach Innsbruck berufen wurde. Dort leitete er das Institut für Wasserbau. Prof. Rutschmann ist seit 2007 Ordinarius an der TUM und entwickelte das 2010 patentierte Schachtkraftwerk I.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Beirat DWA Landesverband Bayern (seit 2009)
  • Vize-Präsident der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Hydrologie (bis 2008)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Bui M-D, Rutschmann P: “Numerical modelling of non-equilibrium graded sediment transport in a curved open channel”. Computers & Geosciences. 2010; 36: 792–800.

Abstract

Kruger S, Rutschmann P: “Modeling 3D Supercritical Flow with an Extended Shallow Water Approach”. ASCE Journal of Hydraulic Engineering. 2006; 132(9): 916-926.

Abstract

Naef D, Rickenmann D, Rutschmann P, McArdell B: “Comparison of flow resistance relations for debris flows using a one-dimensional finite element simulation model”. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences. 2006; 6: 155-165.

Abstract

Volkart PU, Rutschmann P: “Aerators on Spillways. Hydraulic Design Considerations, Air Entrainment in Free Surface Flows”. In: IAHR Hydraulic Structures Design Manual. Editor: Wood IR, Balkema AA, Rotterdam. 1991; 85-113.

Rutschmann P, Volkart PU, Vischer D: “Swirling Flow Problems at Intakes. Hydraulic Design Considerations, Intake structures”. In: IAHR Hydraulic Structures Design Manual. Editor: Knauss J, Balkema AA, Rotterdam. 1987; 91-100.