Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Michael Rychlik

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Rychlik (b. 1964) develops analysis methods for physiologically active foodstuff ingredients such as mycotoxins, vitamins and odorants. In order to assess their biological activity, these substances and their metabolic products are examined in human, animal and plant testing. This provides information on bioavailability (e.g. of vitamins belonging to the folate group), toxicity (e.g. consumer exposure to mycotoxins deoxynivalenol and Tenuazonic acid) or the positive effects of odorants (e.g. 8-Prenylnaringenin).

Prof. Rychlik studied food chemistry at Kaiserslautern and completed his second state examination in 1989. After his doctorate at TUM (1996), he worked as a postdoc at TUM’s Chair of Food Chemistry. He acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) in 2003 about stable isotope dilution assays and declined offers for professorships from Bonn and Gießen. Prof. Rychlik heads the Chair of Analytical Food Chemistry and is managing director of the Research Department for Nutrition and Food Science at the TUM School of Life Sciences Weihenstephan. He furthermore is an honorary professor at the University of Queensland, Australia, and was a visiting professor to the National University of Singapore.

Awards

  • Kurt Täufel-Preis für Lebensmittelchemiker (2007)
  • Wiss. Förderpreis der Deutschen Großbäckereien (1997)

Key Publications (all publications)

Habler K, Rychlik M: “Multi-mycotoxin Stable Isotope Dilution LC-MS/MS Method for Fusarium Toxins in Cereals”. Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry, 2016; 408: 307-317.

Abstract

Mönch S, Netzel M, Netzel G, Ott U, Frank T, Rychlik M: “Folate Bioavailability from Foods Rich in Folates Assessed in a Short Term Human Study Using Stable Isotope Dilution Assays”. Food & Function. 2015; 6: 241 – 247.

Abstract

Rychlik M, Humpf H-U, Marko D, Dänicke S, Mally A, Berthiller F, Klaffke H, Lorenz N: “Proposal of a comprehensive definition of modified and other forms of mycotoxins including ‘masked’ mycotoxins”. Mycotoxin Research. 2014; 30: 197-205.

Abstract

Rychlik M: Fortified foods with vitamins. Analytical concepts to assure better and safer products. 1. Ed. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH, 2011. 

Abstract

Rychlik M, Asam S: “Stable isotope dilution assays in mycotoxin analysis”. Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry. 2008; 390(2): 617-628.

Abstract

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Rychlik (*1964) entwickelt Analysenmethoden für physiologisch aktive Lebensmittelinhaltsstoffe wie Mykotoxine, Vitamine und Flavonoide. Zur Beurteilung ihrer biologischen Aktivität werden diese Substanzen und ihre Stoffwechselprodukte auch in humanen, tierischen und pflanzlichen Proben untersucht. Damit sind Aussagen zur Bioverfügbarkeit (z.B. von Vitaminen der Folsäuregruppe), Toxizität (z.B. Verbraucherbelastung durch die Mykotoxine Deoxynivalenol und Tenuazonsäure) oder zu positiven Wirkungen von Flavonoiden (z.B. 8-Prenylnaringenin) möglich.

Nach dem Studium der Lebensmittelchemie an der TU Kaiserslautern legte er 1989 sein zweites Staatsexamen ab. 1996 promovierte er an der TUM und arbeitete dort anschließend als Assistent am Lehrstuhl für Lebensmittelchemie. Er habilitierte 2003 über Stabilisotopenverdünnungsanalysen und lehnte Rufe aus Bonn und Gießen ab. Prof. Rychlik leitet den Lehrstuhl für Analytische Lebensmittelchemie und ist Geschäftsführer des Forschungsdepartments Ernährungs- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften am Wissenschaftszentrum Weihenstephan. Daneben hat er eine Honorarprofessur an der Universität von Queensland, Australien, inne und war Gastprofessor an der National University of Singapore.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Kurt Täufel-Preis für Lebensmittelchemiker (2007)
  • Wiss. Förderpreis der Deutschen Großbäckereien (1997)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Habler K, Rychlik M: “Multi-mycotoxin Stable Isotope Dilution LC-MS/MS Method for Fusarium Toxins in Cereals”. Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry, 2016; 408: 307-317.

Abstract

Mönch S, Netzel M, Netzel G, Ott U, Frank T, Rychlik M: “Folate Bioavailability from Foods Rich in Folates Assessed in a Short Term Human Study Using Stable Isotope Dilution Assays”. Food & Function. 2015; 6: 241 – 247.

Abstract

Rychlik M, Humpf H-U, Marko D, Dänicke S, Mally A, Berthiller F, Klaffke H, Lorenz N: “Proposal of a comprehensive definition of modified and other forms of mycotoxins including ‘masked’ mycotoxins”. Mycotoxin Research. 2014; 30: 197-205.

Abstract

Rychlik M: Fortified foods with vitamins. Analytical concepts to assure better and safer products. 1. Ed. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH, 2011. 

Abstract

Rychlik M, Asam S: “Stable isotope dilution assays in mycotoxin analysis”. Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry. 2008; 390(2): 617-628.

Abstract