Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Michael Sattler

Department

Chemistry

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research of Prof. Sattler (b. 1965) focuses on the development and application of biomolecular nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR). His aim is to describe the structure, dynamics and molecular interactions of biological macromolecules (proteins, RNAs with each other and with small molecules and drug-like compounds). This should lead to a better understanding of the basic molecular principles of fundamental biological processes and disease mechanisms.

After studying chemistry and completing his doctorate (1995) at J.W. Goethe University in Frankfurt, Prof. Sattler went to Chicago to do research under Dr. Stephen W. Fesik (Abbott Laboratories). In 1997, he was group leader at the European Laboratory for Molecular Biology (EMBL) in Heidelberg. Since 2007, he has been full professor at TUM’s chemistry department in Garching. Prof. Sattler is also Director of the Institute of Structural Biology at Helmholtz Zentrum München and Director of the Bavarian NMR Center.

Key Publications (all publications)

Mackereth CD, Madl T, Bonnal S, Simon B, Zanier K, Gasch A, Rybin V, Valcarcel J, Sattler M: “Multi-domain conformational selection underlies pre-mRNA splicing regulation by U2AF”. Nature. 2011; 475(7356): 408-411.

Abstract

Corsini L, Bonnal S, Basquin J, Hothorn M, Scheffzek K, Valcarcel J, Sattler M: “U2AF Homology Motif interactions are required for alternative splicing regulation by SPF45”. Nat. Struct. Mol. Biol. 2007; 14: 620-9.

Abstract

Lingel A, Simon B, Izaurralde E, and Sattler M: “Structure and nucleic-acid binding of the Drosophila Argonaute 2 PAZ domain”. Nature. 2003; 426: 465-9.

Abstract

Liu Z, Luyten I, Bottomley MJ, Messias AC, Houngninou-Molango S, Sprangers R, Zanier K, Krämer A, Sattler M: “Structural basis for recognition of the intron branch site RNA by splicing factor 1”. Science. 2001; 294: 1098-102.

Abstract

Sattler M, Liang H, Nettesheim D, Meadows RP, Harlan JE, Eberstadt M, Yoon HS, Shuker SB, Chang BS, Minn AJ, Thompson CB, Fesik SW: "Structure of Bcl-xL-Bak peptide complex: recognition between regulators of apoptosis". Science. 1997; 275: 983-6.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Michael Sattler

Fakultät

Chemie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Die Forschung von Prof. Sattler (*1965) konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung und Anwendung der biomolekularen Kernspinresonanz Spektroskopie (NMR, nuclear magnetic resonance). Ziel unserer Untersuchungen ist es, die Struktur, Dynamik und molekularen Wechselwirkungen von biologischen Makromolekülen (Proteinen, RNA untereinander sowie mit kleinen Molekülen und Wirkstoffen) zu beschreiben und damit die molekularen Grundlagen von fundamentalen biologischen Prozessen und Krankheitsmechanismen zu verstehen.

Nach dem Chemiestudium und der Promotion (1995) an der J.W. Goethe Universität Frankfurt führte ein Forschungsaufenthalt Prof. Sattler nach Chicago zu Dr. Stephen W. Fesik (Abbott Laboratories). 1997 trat er eine Stelle als Gruppenleiter am Europäischen Laboratorium für Molekularbiologie (EMBL) in Heidelberg an. Seit 2007 ist er Ordinarius am Department Chemie der TUM in Garching. Er ist zugleich Direktor des Instituts für Strukturbiologie am Helmholtz Zentrum München und leitet das Bayerische NMR-Zentrum.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Gewähltes Mitglied der Leopoldina der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften (2017)
  • Gewähltes Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) (2012) 

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Hennig J, Militti C, Popowicz GM, Wang I, Sonntag M, Geerlof A, Gabel F, Gebauer F, Sattler M: "Structural basis for the assembly of the Sxl–UNR translation regulatory complex". Nature. 2014; 515: 287-90.

Abstract

Mackereth CD, Madl T, Bonnal S, Simon B, Zanier K, Gasch A, Rybin V, Valcarcel J, Sattler M: “Multi-domain conformational selection underlies pre-mRNA splicing regulation by U2AF”. Nature. 2011; 475(7356): 408-411.

Abstract

Corsini L, Bonnal S, Basquin J, Hothorn M, Scheffzek K, Valcarcel J, Sattler M: “U2AF Homology Motif interactions are required for alternative splicing regulation by SPF45”. Nat. Struct. Mol. Biol. 2007; 14: 620-9.

Abstract

Lingel A, Simon B, Izaurralde E, and Sattler M: “Structure and nucleic-acid binding of the Drosophila Argonaute 2 PAZ domain”. Nature. 2003; 426: 465-9.

Abstract

Liu Z, Luyten I, Bottomley MJ, Messias AC, Houngninou-Molango S, Sprangers R, Zanier K, Krämer A, Sattler M: “Structural basis for recognition of the intron branch site RNA by splicing factor 1”. Science. 2001; 294: 1098-102.

Abstract