Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Arne Skerra

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Skerra (b. 1961) conducts research in the field of protein engineering and design. The focus of this work is on the construction of artificial proteins with new customized functions, such as antibody fragments with biomedically relevant antigen specificity, anticalins as new biotech drugs for human therapy and enzymes for industrial biotechnology. Rational and combinatorial research approaches are pursued in tandem with protein biochemical and spectroscopic methods as well as protein crystallographic analyses.  
Following his chemistry studies at TU Darmstadt, Prof. Skerra obtained a doctorate at the Gene Centre of Munich’s Ludwig Maximilian University in 1989 and completed his lecturer qualification in biochemistry at the University of Frankfurt am Main in 1995. Before his appointment as full professor at TUM, he was professor of protein chemistry at TU Darmstadt from 1994 to 1998. Prof. Skerra is the founder and member of the supervisory board of Pieris AG, Vice-Coordinator of the Cluster of Excellence at the Munich Center for Integrated Protein Science and a member of the editorial board of the journal Nachrichten aus der Chemie. In 2008, he was elected to Acatech (German Academy of Technical Sciences). He is active in the German National Academic Association, the Society of German Chemists and the Bavarian Elite Academy.


  • 1. Preis im Science4Life Business-Plan Wettbewerb mit der XL-protein GmbH (2010)
  • Karl Heinz Beckurts-Preis (2005)
  • Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Medaille der TUM (2004)
  • Nominierung für den Deutschen Zukunftspreis (Preis des Bundespräsidenten für Technik und Innovation, 2004)

Key Publications (all publications)

Schönfeld D, Matschiner G, Chatwell L, Trentmann S, Gille H, Hülsmeyer M, Brown N, Kaye PM, Schlehuber S, Hohlbaum AM, Skerra A: “An engineered lipocalin specific for CTLA-4 reveals a combining site with structural and conformational features similar to antibodies”. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA. 2009; 106: 8198-8203.


Kim HJ, Eichinger A, Skerra A: “High affinity recognition of lanthanide (III) chelate complexes by a reprogrammed human lipocalin 2”. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2009; 131: 3565-3576.


Wiedersich J, Köhler S, Skerra A, Friedrich J: “Temperature and pressure dependence of protein stability: the engineered fluorescein-binding lipocalin FluA shows an elliptic phase diagram”. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA. 2008; 105: 5756-5761.


Schmidt TGM, Skerra A: “The Strep-tag system for one-step purification and high affinity detection or capturing of proteins”. Nat. Protoc. 2007; 2: 1528-1535.


Korndörfer IP, Dommel MK, Skerra A: “Structure of the periplasmic chaperone Skp suggests functional similarity with cytosolic chaperones despite differing architecture”. Nat. Struct. Mol. Biol. 2004; 11: 1015-1020.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Skerra (*1961) forscht auf dem Gebiet Protein Engineering & Design. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Konstruktion künstlicher Bindeproteine und Enzyme mit neuen, maßgeschneiderten Funktionen, insbesondere für Anwendungen in der medizinischen und industriellen Biotechnologie. Rationale und kombinatorische Forschungsansätze werden durch proteinbiochemische und spektroskopische Methoden sowie proteinkristallographische Analysen flankiert. Mehrere Technologien aus seinem Labor haben den Weg in die kommerzielle Anwendung gefunden: Strep-tag®, Anticalin®-Proteine und PASylation®.

Nach dem Chemiestudium (TU Darmstadt) wurde Prof. Skerra am GenZentrum der LMU München promoviert (1989), und er habilitierte sich im Fach Biochemie an der Universität Frankfurt/M. (1995). Vor seiner Tätigkeit als Ordinarius an der TUM war er von 1994 bis 1998 Professor für Proteinchemie an der TU Darmstadt. Prof. Skerra ist Gründer der Pieris Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (Nasdaq: PIRS) und der XL-protein GmbH. 2008 wurde er in die Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech) gewählt. Er engagiert sich in der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, der Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker, der Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, und er war Initiator und Vize-Koordinator des Exzellenzclusters "Munich Center for Integrated Protein Science" von 2006-2012. 

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Friedrich Bergius Award, Evonik Industries, Berlin (2018)
  • Burghausen Chemistry Award (2011)
  • Wahl in die Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften - acatech (2008)
  • Karl Heinz Beckurts-Preis (2005)
  • Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Medaille der TUM (2004)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Dauner, M., Eichinger, A., Lücking, G., Scherer, S. & Skerra, A.: "Reprogramming human siderocalin to neutralize petrobactin, the essential iron scavenger of Anthrax bacillus". Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2018; 57: 14619-14623.

Abstract

Martin, J., Eisoldt, L. & Skerra, A.: "Fixation of gaseous CO2 by reversing a decarboxylase for the biocatalytic synthesis of the essential amino acid L-methionine". Nat. Catal. 2018; 1: 555-561.

Abstract

Kuhn, S.M., Rubini, M., Müller, M.A. & Skerra A.: "Biosynthesis of a fluorescent protein with extreme pseudo-Stokes shift by introducing a genetically encoded non-natural amino acid outside the fluorophore". J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011; 133: 3708-3711.

Abstract

Schönfeld D, Matschiner G, Chatwell L, Trentmann S, Gille H, Hülsmeyer M, Brown N, Kaye PM, Schlehuber S, Hohlbaum AM, Skerra A: "An engineered lipocalin specific for CTLA-4 reveals a combining site with structural and conformational features similar to antibodies". Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA. 2009; 106: 8198-8203.

Abstract

Schmidt TGM, Skerra A: "The Strep-tag system for one-step purification and high affinity detection or capturing of proteins". Nat. Protoc. 2007; 2: 1528-1535.

Abstract