Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Rudi F. Vogel

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Vogel’s (b. 1955) research interests are food microbiology and food biotechnology. He focuses on the development of starter cultures for food fermentation, high pressure applications as an aid to studying cell biological reactions in microorganisms, and the detection, typing and control of unwanted microorganisms in food. His particular interest is lactic acid bacteria, as their metabolism and genetics as regards stress response and the formation of proteins, sugar polymers and metabolites determine the odor and structure of foods and the functionality and safety of probiotics.

After studying biochemistry at the University of Tübingen, he did his doctorate there in 1987 on the topic of the genetics of metabolic regulation in Saccharomyces cerevisiae. While qualifying as a lecturer at the University of Hohenheim (1992), he set up a workgroup on the genetics of lactic acid bacteria in raw sausage fermentation. Since 1994, he has been Head of the Chair of Technical Microbiology at TUM. From 1998 to 2000, he was Dean of the Department of Brewing, Food Technology and Dairy Science. From 2003 to 2004, he was Dean of Studies for Food Technology and Brewing.

Awards

  • Preis der Dr. Leni Schöninger-Stiftung (€ 80.000) für Arbeiten zur Nitritreduktion in Milchsäurebakterien (1993)

Key Publications

Lenz CA, Hew Ferstl MC, Vogel RF: “Sub-lethal stress effects on virulence gene expression in Enterococcus faecalis”. Food Microbiol. 2010; 27(3): 317-326.

Abstract

Behr J, Vogel RF: “Mechanisms of hop inhibitation include the transmembrane redox reaction”. Appl. Environ. Microbiol. 2010; 38(2): 34-47.

Abstract

Serrazanetti DI, Guerzoni ME, Corsetti A, Vogel RF: “Metabolic impact and potential exploitation of the stress reactions in lactobacilli”. Food Microbiology. 2009; 26(7): 700-719.

Abstract

Vogel RF, Ehrmann MA: “Effects of pressure on lactic acid bacteria”. In: High-Pressure Microbiology. Editors: Michiels C, Bartlett DH, Aertsen A. 2008; 117-144.

Hörmann S, Scheyhing C, Behr J, Pavlovic M, Ehrmann M, Vogel RF: “Comparative proteome approach to characterize the high-pressure response of Lactobacillus sanfranciscensis DSM 20451T”. Proteomics; 2006: 1878-1885.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Vogel  (1955) forscht auf dem Gebiet der Lebensmittelmikrobiologie und -biotechnologie. Seine Schwerpunkte sind die Entwicklung von Starterkulturen für Lebenmittelfermentationen, Anwendungen  von Hochdruck als Werkzeug zum Studium zellbiologischer Reaktionen in Mikroorganismen, und die Detektion, Typisierung und Kontrolle unerwünschter Mikroorganismen in Lebensmitteln. Hierbei liegt ein wesentlicher Fokus liegt auf Milchsäurebakterien, deren Metabolismus und Genetik hinsichtlich Stressantwort und der Bildung von Proteinen, Zuckerpolymeren und Metaboliten, die Aroma und Struktur von Lebensmitteln und die Funktionalität und Sicherheit von Probiotika bestimmen.

Nach seinem Biochemiestudium an der Universität in Tübingen hat er dort 1987 mit einer genetischen Arbeit zur Stoffwechselregulation in Saccharomyces cerevisiae promoviert. Während seiner darauffolgenden Habilitation an der Universität Hohenheim (1992) baute er eine Arbeitsgruppe zur Genetik von Milchsäurebakterien in der Rohwurstreifung auf. Seit 1994 ist er Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Technische Mikrobiologie an der TUM. Von 1998 bis 2000 war er Dekan der Fakultät für Brauwesen, Lebensmitteltechnologie und Milchwissenschaften und von 2003 bis 2004 Studiendekan für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Brauwesen.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Preis der Dr. Leni Schöninger-Stiftung (€ 80.000) für Arbeiten zur Nitritreduktion in Milchsäurebakterien (1993)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Lenz CA, Hew Ferstl MC, Vogel RF: “Sub-lethal stress effects on virulence gene expression in Enterococcus faecalis”. Food Microbiol. 2010; 27(3): 317-326.

Abstract

Behr J, Vogel RF: “Mechanisms of hop inhibitation include the transmembrane redox reaction”. Appl. Environ. Microbiol. 2010; 38(2): 34-47.

Abstract

Serrazanetti DI, Guerzoni ME, Corsetti A, Vogel RF: “Metabolic impact and potential exploitation of the stress reactions in lactobacilli”. Food Microbiology. 2009; 26(7): 700-719.

Abstract

Vogel RF, Ehrmann MA: “Effects of pressure on lactic acid bacteria”. In: High-Pressure Microbiology. Editors: Michiels C, Bartlett DH, Aertsen A. 2008; 117-144.

Hörmann S, Scheyhing C, Behr J, Pavlovic M, Ehrmann M, Vogel RF: “Comparative proteome approach to characterize the high-pressure response of Lactobacillus sanfranciscensis DSM 20451T”. Proteomics; 2006: 1878-1885.

Abstract