TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Udo Weilacher

Department

Architecture

Contact Details

Visitenkarte in TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Weilacher (*1963) conducts research on international landscape architecture and the transformation of industrial landscapes and urban spaces into natural and human habitats. His research also extends to contemporary landscape art, 20th century landscape architecture and creative analysis and design methods in his field.
After studying landscape architecture at TUM and California State Polytechnic University Pomona/Los Angeles, Prof. Weilacher was a research fellow and lecturer at the University of Karlsruhe and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich. In 2001, he did his doctorate with distinction at ETH Zurich. He was appointed professor of landscape architecture and design at the University of Hanover in 2002. He served as the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture and Landscape Sciences from 2006 to 2008. In 2009, he accepted the position of full professor at TUM. Prof. Weilacher is the author of numerous internationally published books. He is a member of the German Work Federation, the Bavarian Chamber of Architects, the German Society for Garden Art and Landscape Culture and the advisory board of the Center for Garden Art and Landscape Architecture. He is a member of the advisory board of the Center for Garden Art and Landscape Architecture at the University of Hanover (Leibniz Universität Hannover).

Awards

  • Mellon Fellow in Urban Landscape Studies, Dumbarton Oaks Research Centre (Harvard University), Washington, D.C. (2017)
  • John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize, New York (2011)
  • Medaille der ETH Zürich für Dissertation (2001)
  • Peter Joseph Lenné-Preis (1996)
  • Schinkelpreis (1995)

Schlüsselpublikationen (all publications)

Weilacher U: "Landscape Architecture Inspired by Land Art and Environmental Art". In: Ecological Thought in German Literature and Culture. Editor: Dürbeck G et. al. New York, London: Lexington Books, 2017: 407-425.

Weilacher U: "Neue Raumbilder der Kulturlandschaft/ New Spatial Images of the Cultivated Landscape". In: Urbane Transformationslandschaften/ Urban Landscape Transformation. Editor: Internationales Doktorandenkolleg Forschungslabor Raum. Berlin: Jovis Verlag 2016: 266-281.

Weilacher U: Syntax der Landschaft. Die Landschaftsarchitektur von Peter Latz und Partner. Basel – Berlin – Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 2008.

Weilacher U: In Gärten. Profile aktueller europäischer Landschaftsarchitektur. Basel – Berlin – Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 2005.

Weilacher U: Zwischen Landschaftsarchitektur und Land Art. Basel – Berlin – Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 1996.

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Weilacher (*1963) forscht über internationale Landschaftsarchitektur und die Transformation industriell geprägter Landschafts- und Stadträume in Lebensräume für Mensch und Natur. Zudem widmet er sich der Erforschung aktueller Landschaftskunst, der Landschaftsarchitektur des 20. Jahrhunderts und kreativer Analyse- und Entwurfsmethoden in seinem Fachgebiet.
Nach dem Landschaftsarchitekturstudium an der TUM und der California State Polytechnic University Pomona/Los Angeles war er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Karlsruhe und der ETH Zürich tätig. 2001 promovierte er mit Auszeichnung an der ETH Zürich und wurde als Professor für Landschaftsarchitektur an die Universität Hannover berufen (2002), wo er als Dekan der Fakultät für Architektur und Landschaft (2006-2008) tätig war. 2009 führte ihn ein Ruf als Ordinarius an die TUM. Prof. Weilacher ist Autor zahlreicher internationaler Buchpublikationen und u.a. Mitglied im Werkbund, in der Bayerischen Architektenkammer, in der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Gartenkunst und Landschaftskultur sowie Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Zentrums für Gartenkunst und Landschaftsarchitektur in Hannover.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Mellon Fellow in Urban Landscape Studies, Dumbarton Oaks Research Centre (Harvard University), Washington, D.C. (2017)
  • John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize, New York (2011)
  • Medaille der ETH Zürich für Dissertation (2001)
  • Peter Joseph Lenné-Preis (1996)
  • Schinkelpreis (1995)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Weilacher U: "Landscape Architecture Inspired by Land Art and Environmental Art". In: Ecological Thought in German Literature and Culture. Editor: Dürbeck G et. al. New York, London: Lexington Books, 2017: 407-425.

Weilacher U: "Neue Raumbilder der Kulturlandschaft/ New Spatial Images of the Cultivated Landscape". In: Urbane Transformationslandschaften/ Urban Landscape Transformation. Editor: Internationales Doktorandenkolleg Forschungslabor Raum. Berlin: Jovis Verlag 2016: 266-281.

Weilacher U: Syntax der Landschaft. Die Landschaftsarchitektur von Peter Latz und Partner. Basel – Berlin – Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 2008.

Weilacher U: In Gärten. Profile aktueller europäischer Landschaftsarchitektur. Basel – Berlin – Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 2005.

Weilacher U: Zwischen Landschaftsarchitektur und Land Art. Basel – Berlin – Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 1996.