Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Wolfrum

Assistant Professor

Neuroelectronics

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Wolfrum develops and investigates bioelectronic interfaces for the stimulation and recording of signals in neuronal networks. Specifically, he investigates electrochemical sensor arrays for mapping chemical cues from cells in real time. His goal is to develop a platform for neuroelectronic hybrids and on-chip neuroscience experiments. To this end, he employs micro-and nanofabrication technologies based on ink-jet printing and lithographical methods. Structured cell networks are designed using microfluidic cell-culture techniques and on-chip lesion models.
Professor Wolfrum studied physics in Göttingen and Santa Barbara (UCSB) before obtaining his PhD at the University of Göttingen in 2004. Afterwards he conducted postdoctoral research at the Institute of Bio and Nanosystems, Forschungszentrum Jülich, and the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, University of Delft. From 2009 until 2015 he led a Helmholtz Young Investigator group at the Peter Grünberg Institute. He had lectured as a junior professor at RWTH Aachen since 2011 before starting at TUM in 2015.

Awards

  • Helmholtz Young Investigator Grant (2009)
  • DFG Emmy Noether Fellowship (2008)
  • DFG Postdoctoral Fellowship (2006)
  • IEEE Ultrasonics Symposium Student Award (2003)
  • EAP Student Fellowship (UCSB) (1998)

Key Publications (all publications)

Wolfrum B, Kätelhön E, Yakushenko A, Krause KJ, Adly N, Hüske M, Rinklin P: “Nanoscale Electrochemical Sensor Arrays: Redox Cycling Amplification in Dual-Electrode Systems.” Accounts of Chemical Research. 2016; 49(9): 2031-2040.

Abstract

Kätelhön E, Krause KJ, Mathwig K, Lemay SG, Wolfrum B: “Noise Phenomena Caused by Reversible Adsorption in Nanoscale Electrochemical Devices”. ACS Nano. 2014; 8(5): 4924-4930.

Abstract

Kätelhön E, Krause KJ, Singh PS, Lemay SG, Wolfrum B: “Noise characteristics of nano-scaled redox-cycling sensors: Investigations based on random walks.” JACS. 2013; 135(24): 8874-888.

Abstract

Wolfrum B, Zevenbergen MAG, Lemay SG: “Nanofluidic redox-cycling amplification for the selective detection of catechol”. Analytical Chemistry. 2008; 80(4): 972-977.

Abstract

Wolfrum B, Mourzina Y, Sommerhage F, Offenhäusser A: “Suspended nanoporous membranes as interfaces for neuronal biohybrid systems.” Nano Letters. 2006; 6(3): 453-457.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Wolfrum

Assistant Professor

Neuroelektronik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Bei seinen Forschungsaktivitäten untersucht Prof. Wolfrum bioelektronische Schnittstellen für die Stimulation und Ableitung von Signalen in neuronalen Netzwerken. Ein Schwerpunkt dabei liegt auf der Entwicklung elektrochemischer Sensorfelder zur Beobachtung chemischer Signale von Zellen in Echtzeit. Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer neuroelektronischen Plattform zur Untersuchung von Zellnetzwerken. Für die Herstellung der Sensoren kommen Mikro- und Nanofabrikations­methoden basierend auf ink-jet printing und lithografischen Verfahren zum Einsatz. Die Strukturierung der Zellnetzwerke wird durch mikrofluidische Zellkulturtechniken und on-chip Läsionsmodelle realisiert.
Nach dem Studium der Physik in Göttingen und Santa Barbara (UCSB) wurde Prof. Wolfrum 2004 mit einer Doktorarbeit in Schwingungsphysik an der Universität Göttingen promoviert. Es folgten PostDoc-Aufenthalte am Forschungszentrum Jülich und am Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, TU Delft. Von 2009 bis 2015 leitete er eine Helmholtz Young Investigator Nachwuchsgruppe am Peter Grünberg Institut, Forschungszentrum Jülich. Seit 2011 lehrte er im Rahmen einer Junior-Professur an der RWTH Aachen, bevor er 2015 an die TUM berufen wurde.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Helmholtz Young Investigator Grant (2009)
  • DFG Emmy Noether Fellowship (2008)
  • DFG Postdoctoral Fellowship (2006)
  • IEEE Ultrasonics Symposium Student Award (2003)
  • EAP Student Fellowship (UCSB) (1998)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Wolfrum B, Kätelhön E, Yakushenko A, Krause KJ, Adly N, Hüske M, Rinklin P: “Nanoscale Electrochemical Sensor Arrays: Redox Cycling Amplification in Dual-Electrode Systems.” Accounts of Chemical Research. 2016; 49(9): 2031-2040.

Abstract

Kätelhön E, Krause KJ, Mathwig K, Lemay SG, Wolfrum B: “Noise Phenomena Caused by Reversible Adsorption in Nanoscale Electrochemical Devices”. ACS Nano. 2014; 8(5): 4924-4930.

Abstract

Kätelhön E, Krause KJ, Singh PS, Lemay SG, Wolfrum B: “Noise characteristics of nano-scaled redox-cycling sensors: Investigations based on random walks.” JACS. 2013; 135(24): 8874-888.

Abstract

Wolfrum B, Zevenbergen MAG, Lemay SG: “Nanofluidic redox-cycling amplification for the selective detection of catechol”. Analytical Chemistry. 2008; 80(4): 972-977.

Abstract

Wolfrum B, Mourzina Y, Sommerhage F, Offenhäusser A: “Suspended nanoporous membranes as interfaces for neuronal biohybrid systems.” Nano Letters. 2006; 6(3): 453-457.

Abstract