Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Thomas A. Wunderlich

Chair

Geodesy

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Wunderlich’s (b. 1955) research focuses on the development and application of geodetic methods for high-precision measurement in construction and industrial production. He uses geometry to gain insight into complex problems. This applies to all three processes: recording (geodetic surveying using navigation satellites, as-built surveying with terrestrial laser scanning), setting out (building machinery guidance with intelligent tachymeters) and monitoring (automated deformation monitoring of buildings, production plants and mass movements to minimize risks).

After studying geodesy at TU Vienna, he did his doctorate there in 1983. He completed his lecturer qualification in 1992 at the University of Hannover after receiving an Alexander von Humboldt grant to study there (1987/88). His first professorship was associate professor of applied geodesy in Vienna. He then succeeded K. Schnädelbach at TUM’s Chair of Geodesy in 2000. He is Permanent Secretary of the German Geodetic Commission (DGK) (2008) and a member of the Bavarian Commission for International Geodesy (KEG) at the Bavarian Academy of Sciences.

Awards

  • GeodäTUM-Preis für hervorragende Lehre (2011, 2010, 2009)
  • Ehrenprofessor der Universitatea Politehnica Timisoara (2010)
  • Ehrenmedaille der Fakultät Bauingenieur- und Vermessungswesen der TU Bratislava (2008)
  • Friedrich-Hopfner-Medaille der Österreichischen Geodätischen Kommission (2002)
  • Ehrenmitglied der Fakultät Bauingenieur- und Vermessungswesen der TU Bratislava (2001)

Key Publications

Thuro K, Wunderlich T, Heunecke O, Singer J, Schuhbäck S, Wasmeier P, Glabsch J, Festl J: „Low cost 3d early warning system for instable alpine slopes – the Aggenalm Landslide monitoring system”. Geomechanics and Tunneling. 2009; 2(3): 221-237.

Abstract

Wunderlich T, Neuhierl T, Schnädelbach K, Ingensand H, Ryf A:    „Inertial Navigation in Tunneling”. In: Proc. 70 Years of FCE STU, Sekcia 4. Editor: Kopacik A. STU Bratislava, 2008; 166-172.

Wunderlich T: „Geolokalisation – eine Position kennt ihre Umgebung“.    In: 12. Int. Geodätische Woche Obergurgl. Editors: Chesi G, Weinold T. Wichmann Verlag, Heidelberg, 2003; 178-192.

Kahmen H, Wieser A, Wunderlich T: „Technical Networks for High-Speed Railway Lines“. In: Proc. IAG-Symposium on Geodesy for Geotechnical and Structural Engineering. Editors: Kahmen H, Brückl E, Wunderlich T. Congress Centre Eisenstadt, 1998; 546-551.

Wunderlich T: „Die geometrischen Grundlagen der GPS-Einzelpunktbestimmung“. In: Ingenieurvermessung 92. Editors: Matthias A, Grün A. Dümmler Verlag, Bonn, 1992; 39-50.

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Prof. Dr. Thomas A. Wunderlich

Professur

Geodäsie

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte von Prof. Wunderlich (*1955) liegen in Entwicklung und Anwendung geodätischer Methoden für hochpräzise Messaufgaben des Bauwesens und der industriellen Produktion. Dabei wird betont der Bezug zur Geometrie gesucht, um selbst in komplexen Problemstellungen Anschaulichkeit zu erreichen. Dies gilt für alle drei Prozesse: die Aufnahme (Grundlagenvermessung mithilfe von Navigationssatelliten, as-built surveying mit terrestrischem Laserscanning), die Absteckung (Baumaschinenführung mit intelligenten Tachymetern) und die Überwachung (Automatisiertes Deformationsmonitoring von Bauwerken, Produktionsanlagen und Massenbewegungen als Beitrag zur Risikominimierung).

Nach dem Studium des Vermessungswesens an der TU Wien promovierte er dort (1983) und habilitierte (1992) an der Universität Hannover, wohin ihn ein AvH-Stipendium (1987/88) geführt hatte. Zuerst a.o. Professor für Angewandte Geodäsie in Wien, wurde er dann in Nachfolge von Prof. Schnädelbach auf den Lehrstuhl für Geodäsie der TUM  berufen (2000). Prof. Wunderlich war Ständiger Sekretär der Deutschen Geodätischen Kommission an der BAdW (2008-2015) und ist korrespondierendes Mitglied der Österreichischen Geodätischen Kommission.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Ehrenmedaille in Gold „Für eine gerechtere Welt“ des Förderkreises Bodenordnung und Landentwicklung München (2012)
  • GeodäTUM-Preis für hervorragende Lehre (2017, 2011, 2010, 2009)
  • Ehrenprofessor der Universitatea Politehnica Timisoara (2010)
  • Ehrenmedaille der Fakultät Bauingenieur- und Vermessungswesen der TU Bratislava (2008)
  • Friedrich-Hopfner-Medaille der Österreichischen Geodätischen Kommission (2002)

Schlüsselpublikationen

Wasmeier P, Reith C, Wiedemann W, Wunderlich T, Chmelina C: “IMU based orientation transfer at Semmering base tunnel”. Journal of Geodesy. 2018 (in review).

Zhou Y, Wagner A, Wunderlich T, Wasmeier P: “Calibration Method for IATS and Application in Multi-Target Monitoring Using Coded Targets”. Journal of Applied Geodesy. 2017; 11(2): 99-106.

Wunderlich T, Niemeier W, Wujanz D, Holst C, Neitzel F, Kuhlmann H: “Areal Deformation from TLS Point Clouds – the Challenge”. Allgemeine Vermessungs-Nachrichten. 2016; 123(12): 340-351.

Ge X, Wunderlich T: “Surface-based matching of 3D point clouds with variable coordinates in source and target system”. ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing. 2016; 111(1): 1-12.

Thuro K, Wunderlich T, Heunecke O, Singer J, Wasmeier P, Schuhbäck S, Festl J, Reith C, Glabsch J: „Low cost 3D early warning sytem for instable alpine slopes – the Aggenalm Landslide monitoring system”. In: Early Warning for Geological Disasters. Editors : Wenzel F, Zschau J. 2014; Springer: 289-306.