Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Stefan Wurster

Assistant Professor

Policy Analysis

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Stefan Wurster (b. 1980) conducts research on policy analysis in areas closely linked to sustainability such as education, research, innovation, environmental policy and energy policy. His specific research interests include the comparison of democracies and autocracies as well as different instruments of policy regulation.
Wurster studied political science, history and public law in Heidelberg and Barcelona. In 2010 he was awarded a PhD with distinction (summa cum laude). From 2009 to 2015 he was a research associate in Heidelberg. In 2010 he commenced a postdoctoral research project on “Sustainability and Regime Type”, successfully completing the interim evaluation in 2013. From 2012 to 2015 he coordinated a doctoral study program on the “Performance of Politics in Autocratic and Democratic Regimes” and from 2015 to 2016 he worked as an assistant professor at the University of Trier. Since 2016 he has been professor of policy analysis at TUM’s Bavarian School of Public Policy.

    Key Publications (all publications)

    Rohm C, Wurster S: „Volk oder Parlament: Wer entscheidet nachhaltiger? Eine vergleichende Untersuchung von Nachhaltigkeitsabstimmungen in der Schweiz“. Swiss Political Science Review. 2016; 22(2): 185-212.

    Abstract

    Wurster S, Auber B, Metzler L, Rohm C: „Institutionelle Voraussetzungen nachhaltiger Politikgestaltung“. Zeitschrift für Politik. 2015; 62(2): 177-196.

    Abstract

    Wurster S: „Comparing ecological sustainability in autocracies and democracies”. Contemporary Politics. 2013; 19(1): 76-93.

    Abstract

    Wurster S: „Sparen Demokratien leichter? – Die Nachhaltigkeit der Finanzpolitik von Demokratien und Autokratien im Vergleich“. dms – der moderne staat – Zeitschrift für Public Policy, Recht und Management. 2012; 5(2): 269-290.

    Abstract

    Wurster S: Zukunftsvorsorge in Deutschland - Ein Vergleich der Bildungs-, Forschungs-, Umwelt-, und Energiepolitik. Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2010.

    Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Wurster (*1980) befasst sich in seiner Forschung mit Policyvergleichen in Politikfeldern mit starkem Nachhaltigkeitsbezug, wie der Bildungs-, Forschungs-, Innovations-, Umwelt-, und Energiepolitik. Seine spezifischen Forschungsschwerpunkte sind neben dem Demokratie-Autokratievergleich unterschiedliche Instrumente politischer Steuerung.
Prof. Wurster studierte Politikwissenschaft, Geschichte und Öffentliches Recht in Heidelberg und Barcelona. Seine Promotion schloss er 2010 mit „summa cum laude“ ab. Von 2009 bis 2015 war er als Akademischer Mitarbeiter in Heidelberg beschäftigt. 2010 nahm er sein Habilitationsvorhaben zum Thema: „Zukunftsfähigkeit und Regimetyp“ auf und legte drei Jahre später die Zwischen­eva­lua­ti­on erfolgreich ab. Von 2012 bis 2015 koordinierte Prof. Wurster das durch die Landesgraduiertenakademie geförderte Promotionskolleg „Politikperformanz autokratischer und demokratischer Regime“. Danach war er von 2015 bis 2016 Juniorprofessor an der Universität Trier. Seit 2016 ist er Professor für Policy Analysis an der Hochschule für Politik München der TUM.

    Schlüsselpublikationen

    Wurster S, Hagemann C: “Two ways to success - Expansion of renewable energies in comparison between Germany's federal states”. Energy Policy. 2018; 119: 610-619.

    Abstract

    Rohm C, Wurster S: „Volk oder Parlament: Wer entscheidet nachhaltiger? Eine vergleichende Untersuchung von Nachhaltigkeitsabstimmungen in der Schweiz“. Swiss Political Science Review. 2016; 22(2): 185-212.

    Abstract

    Richter T, Wurster S: “Policy diffusion among Democracies and Autocracies. Trade Reforms and Nuclear Energy Policy in Comparison”. Global Policy. 2016; 7(4): 541–547.

    Abstract

    Wurster S: „Comparing ecological sustainability in autocracies and democracies”. Contemporary Politics. 2013; 19(1): 76-93.

    Abstract

    Wurster S: Zukunftsvorsorge in Deutschland - Ein Vergleich der Bildungs-, Forschungs-, Umwelt-, und Energiepolitik. Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2010.

    Abstract