Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Majid Zamani

Assistant Professor

Hybrid Control Systems

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research of Professor Zamani (b. 1983) mainly focuses on the formal verification and control of (stochastic) hybrid systems. These systems are composed of both continuous and discrete dynamics and due to their versatility and generality, methods for the analysis and design of these systems hold great promise in many safety-critical applications. Examples of such applications include automotive, aerospace, transportation systems, chemical processes, critical infrastructure, energy, robotics, healthcare, etc.
Professor Zamani received a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from Isfahan University of Technology in 2005 and a Master of Science degree in electrical engineering from Sharif University of Technology in 2007. In 2012 he received a PhD degree in electrical engineering and an MA degree in mathematics from the University of California, Los Angeles. From 2012 to 2013 he was a postdoctoral researcher in the Delft Center for Systems and Control at Delft University of Technology. Between December 2013 and May 2014 he was an assistant professor in the Design Engineering Department at Delft University of Technology. Since May 2014 Professor Zamani has been an assistant professor at TUM where he leads the Hybrid Control Systems Group in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology.

Key Publications (all publications)

Zamani M, Mohajerin Esfahani P, Majumdar R, Abate A, and Lygeros J: “Symbolic control of stochastic systems via approximately bisimilar finite abstractions”. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. Special Issue on Control of Cyber-Physical Systems. 2014; forthcoming.

Zamani M, Abate A: “Approximately bisimilar symbolic models for randomly switched stochastic systems”. Systems & Control Letters. 2014; 69: 38-46.

Zamani M, van de Wouw N, Majumdar R: “Backstepping controller synthesis and characterisations of incremental stability”. Systems & Control Letters. 2013; 62(10): 949-962.

Zamani M, Pola G, Mazo Jr. M, Tabuada P: “Symbolic models for nonlinear control systems without stability assumptions”. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. 2012; 57(7): 1804-1809.

Zamani M and Tabuada P: “Backstepping design for incremental stability”. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. 2011; 56(9): 2184-2189.

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Majid Zamani

Assistant Professor

Hybride Regelungssyteme

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Zamani (b. 1983) befasst sich bei seiner Forschung mit der formalen Überprüfung und Kontrolle von (stochastischen) Hybridsystemen. Diese Systeme setzen sich aus sowohl kontinuierlichen als auch diskreten dynamischen Systemen zusammen. Aufgrund ihrer Vielseitigkeit und Allgemeingültigkeit sind die Methoden der Analyse und des Designs dieser Systeme in vielen sicherheitskritischen Anwendungen sehr vielversprechend. Beispiele solcher Anwendungen finden sich in den Bereichen Automobiltechnik, Raumfahrt, Transportsysteme, chemische Prozesse, kritische Infrastruktur, Energie, Robotik, Gesundheitswesen usw.
Prof. Zamani studierte Elektrotechnik an der Technischen Universität Isfahan (IUT) (B.Sc.,2005) und an der Scharif-Universität für Technologie (M.Sc., 2007). 2012 promovierte er in Elektrotechnik und absolvierte gleichzeitig ein Masterstudium in Mathematik, beides an der University of California, Los Angeles. Von 2012 bis 2013 war er Postdoktorand im Delft Center for Systems and Control (DCSC) an der Technischen Universität Delft. Von Dezember 2013 bis Mai 2014 war er Assistant Professor am Lehrstuhl für Konstruktionstechnik an der Technischen Universität Delft. Seit Mai 2014 ist Prof. Zamani Assistant Professor an der TUM, wo er das Fachgebiet Hybride Regelungssysteme in der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik leitet.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Zamani M, Mohajerin Esfahani P, Majumdar R, Abate A, and Lygeros J: “Symbolic control of stochastic systems via approximately bisimilar finite abstractions”. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. Special Issue on Control of Cyber-Physical Systems. 2014; forthcoming.

Zamani M, Abate A: “Approximately bisimilar symbolic models for randomly switched stochastic systems”. Systems & Control Letters. 2014; 69: 38-46.

Zamani M, van de Wouw N, Majumdar R: “Backstepping controller synthesis and characterisations of incremental stability”. Systems & Control Letters. 2013; 62(10): 949-962.

Zamani M, Pola G, Mazo Jr. M, Tabuada P: “Symbolic models for nonlinear control systems without stability assumptions”. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. 2012; 57(7): 1804-1809.

Zamani M and Tabuada P: “Backstepping design for incremental stability”. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control. 2011; 56(9): 2184-2189.