Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Cordt Zollfrank

Associate Professor

Biogene Polymere

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research work of Professor Zollfrank (b. 1969) is focused on applying bioinspired synthetic methods to the development of innovative structural and functional materials. A key area of his work is the formation of biogenic (polymeric) structures and their conversion to composite materials for engineering and biomedical applications. The fundamental chemical and physical transformation processes involved in these conversions are investigated at each level of the structural hierarchy.

Cordt Zollfrank studied chemistry at TUM. He then changed to the Institute for Wood Research at LMU, which later became part of TUM, where he gained a PhD in forest science with a special emphasis on the chemical aspects. Between 2000 and 2002 he worked as a postdoctoral research fellow at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg (Department of Materials Science and Engineering - Glass and Ceramics) conducting research focused on biomimetic material synthesis. As of 2002 he became a group leader (senior researcher) and set up a bioengineered ceramics and biomaterials research group. In 2009 he acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) in material sciences. On October 1, 2011 he accepted the position as professor for biogenic polymers at TUM’s Science Center for Renewable Resources in Straubing.

Key Publications (all publications)

Van Opdenbosch D, Zollfrank C:  „Cellulose-based biotemplated silica structuring“. Advanced Engineering Materials. 2014; 16(6): 699-712.

Abstract

Zollfrank C: „Bioinspired Materials Surfaces – Science or Engineering?“. Scripta Materialia. 2014; 74: 3-8.

Abstract

Van Opdenbosch D, Dörrstein J, Klaithong S, Kornprobst T, Plank J, Hietala S, Zollfrank C: „Chemistry and water-repelling properties of phenyl-incorporating wood composites“. Holzforschung. 2013; 67: 931-940.

Abstract

Paris O , Fritz-Popovski G , Van Opdenbosch D , Zollfrank C: „Recent advances on the nanoscale replication of biological tissues“. Advanced Functional Materials. 2013; 23: 4408-4422.

Jin X, Götz M, Wille S, Mishra YK, Adelung R, Zollfrank C: „A novel concept for self-reporting materials: Stress sensitive photoluminescence in ZnO tetrapod filled elastomers“. Advanced Materials. 2013; 25: 1342-1347.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Cordt Zollfrank

Extraordinariat

Biogene Polymere

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Bei seinen Forschungsarbeiten entwickelt Prof. Dr. Zollfrank (*1969) neuartige Struktur- und Funktionsmaterialien im Rahmen von bioinspirierten Synthesemethoden. Ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Erzeugung biogener (Polymer-)Strukturen und ihrer Überführung in Kompositmaterialien für technische und biomedizinische Anwendungen. Dabei werden die beteiligten grundlegenden chemischen und physikalischen Transformationsprozesse auf allen Strukturhierarchieebenen erforscht.

Cordt Zollfrank studierte Chemie an der TUM. Anschließend wechselte er an das Institut für Holzforschung der LMU, später TUM, wo er über ein holzchemisches Thema zum Doktor der Forstwissenschaften promovierte. Von 2000-2002 forschte er zunächst als Postdoktorand an der Universität-Erlangen-Nürnberg am Lehrstuhl für Glas und Keramik im Bereich der „Biomimetischen Materialsynthese“. Ab 2002 baute er als wissenschaftlicher Assistent die Arbeitsgruppe "Biotechnische Keramik und Biomaterialien" auf und habilitierte sich 2009 für das Fach Werkstoffwissenschaften. Zum 1. Oktober 2011 wurde er zum Professor für das Fachgebiet „Biogene Polymere“ am TUM Campus Straubing berufen.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Poppinga S, Zollfrank C, Prucker O, Rühe J, Menges A, Cheng T, Speck T: „Towards a new generation of smart biomimetic actuators for architecture“. Advanced Materials. 2018; 30: 1870135.

Abstract

Ghofraniha N, La Volpe L, Van Opdenbosch D, Zollfrank C, Conti C: „Biomimetic random lasers with tunable spatial and temporal coherence“. Advanced Optical Materials. 2016; 4(12): 1998-2003.

Abstract

Van Opdenbosch D, Fritz-Popovski G, Wagermaier W, Paris O, Zollfrank C: „A moisture-driven ceramic bilayer actuator from a biotemplating approach“. Advanced Materials. 2016; 28: 5235–5240.

Abstract

Fritz-Popovski G, Van Opdenbosch D, Zollfrank C, Aichmayer B, Paris O: „Development of the fibrillar and microfibrillar structure during biomimetic mineralization of wood“. Advanced Functional Materials. 2013; 23: 1265-1272.

Abstract

Jin X, Götz M, Wille S, Mishra YK, Adelung R, Zollfrank C: „A novel concept for self-reporting materials: Stress sensitive photoluminescence in ZnO tetrapod filled elastomers“. Advanced Materials. 2013; 25: 1342-1347.

Abstract