Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Ullmann

Assistant Professor

Scientific Computing

Department

Mathematics

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Elisabeth Ullmann (b. 1979) conducts research in the area of uncertainty quantification using tools from numerical analysis, applied probability theory and computational science and engineering. Her work focuses on efficient discretizations, iterative solvers and estimators for partial differential equations with random coefficients.
Ullmann studied applied mathematics at TU Bergakademie Freiberg. She obtained her doctorate in Freiberg and subsequently worked as a postdoctoral researcher on DFG priority program “Extraction of quantifiable information from complex systems”. In 2009 she was a visiting research associate at the University of Maryland, College Park. From 2011 to 2014 she was a research associate at the University of Bath in England and subsequently at the University of Hamburg. In 2015 she joined TUM as an assistant professor.

Key Publications (all publications)

Ullmann E, Papaioannou I: „Multilevel estimation of rare events“. SIAM/ASA Journal on Uncertainty Quantification. 2015; 3(1): 922-953.

Abstract

Graham IG, Scheichl R, Ullmann E: „Mixed finite element analysis of lognormal diffusion and multilevel Monte Carlo methods“. Stochastic Partial Differential Equations: Analysis and Computations. 2015.

Abstract

Ullmann E, Elman HC, Ernst OG: „Efficient iterative solvers for stochastic Galerkin discretizations of log-transformed random diffusion problems“. SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing. 2012; 34(2): A659-A682.

Abstract

Ullmann E: „A Kronecker product preconditioner for stochastic Galerkin finite element discretizations“. SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing. 2010; 32(2): 923-946.

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Ullmann

Fakultät

Mathematik

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Ullmann (*1979) erforscht mathematische Methoden der Unsicherheitsquantifizierung an der Schnittstelle von Numerischer Mathematik, Data Science, und Computational Science and Engineering. Ziel ihrer Arbeit sind die Entwicklung und Analyse effizienter Algorithmen und Schätzer für partielle Differentialgleichungen mit zufälligen Koeffizienten. Aktuelle Schwerpunkte sind Bayes’sche Inverse Probleme, seltene Ereignisse und die optimale Steuerung mit PDE-basierten Nebenbedinungen.

Prof. Ullmann studierte Angewandte Mathematik an der TU Bergakademie Freiberg. 2008 wurde sie dort promoviert und war anschließend Postdoc im DFG Schwerpunktprogramm „Extraktion quantifizierbarer Informationen aus komplexen Systemen“. 2009 absolvierte sie einen Forschungsaufenthalt an der University of Maryland, College Park. Von 2011 bis 2014 war sie als Postdoc an der University of Bath in England und danach an der Universität Hamburg tätig. 2015 wurde sie an die TUM berufen.

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Latz J, Papaioannou I, Ullmann E: “Multilevel Sequential^2 Monte Carlo for Bayesian Inverse Problems”. Journal of Computational Physics. 2018; 368: 154-178.

Abstract

Ahmad Ali A, Ullmann E, Hinze M: “Multilevel Monte Carlo analysis for optimal control of elliptic PDEs with random coefficients”. SIAM/ASA Journal on Uncertainty Quantification. 2017; 5(1): 466-492. 

Abstract

Ullmann E, Papaioannou I: „Multilevel estimation of rare events“. SIAM/ASA Journal on Uncertainty Quantification. 2015; 3(1): 922-953.

Abstract

Ullmann E: „A Kronecker product preconditioner for stochastic Galerkin finite element discretizations“. SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing. 2010; 32(2): 923-946.

Abstract

Ernst OG, Powell CE, Silvester DJ, Ullmann E: “Efficient solvers for a linear stochastic Galerkin mixed formulation of diffusion problems with random data”. SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing. 2008/09; 31(2): 1424-1447.

Abstract