Faculty

The faculty of the Technical University of Munich includes 594 professors, who represent the core subjects of the 15 departments. Honorary professors lecture on specific aspects of professional practice. The staff currently consists as follows:

  • 594 Professors
    thereof 43 joint appointments with non-university research institutes
  • 217 Honorary Professors
  • 67 TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professors

For easy reading, the profiles of full-time faculty members are listed as short summaries – alphabetically and by faculty – in the professor portal. Detailed descriptions can be found on the websites of the TUM Departments.

Through its consistent hiring policy, the Technische Universität München has been able to significantly increase its number of full-time female professors. The proportion of women in the professorate is currently 20,9% (compared to 16% at ETH Zurich, Oxford University 25%, MIT 24,9%).

All Photos - Copyright TUM/ Uli Benz, Astrid Eckert and Andreas Heddergott

Professorenkollegium

Das Professorenkollegium der Technischen Universität München umfasst 594 Professorinnen und Professoren, die die Kernfächer der 15 Fakultäten repräsentieren. Spezifisch berufspraktische Aspekte in der Ausbildung sind durch Honorar­professuren abgebildet. Das Gesamtkollegium setzt sich derzeit wie folgt zusammen:

  • 594 Professorinnen und Professoren (Professors)
    davon 43 gemeinsam mit außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen
  • 217 Honorarprofessorinnen und -professoren (TUM Honorary Professors)
  • 67 Ehrenprofessorinnen und -professoren (TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professors)

Die Professorenprofile sind zur leichteren Lesbarkeit als Kurzfassungen im Professorenportal alphabetisch bzw. nach Fakultäten aufgeführt. Ausführliche Darstellungen finden sich auf den Homepages der Fakultäten.

Durch eine konsequente Berufungspolitik konnte die Technische Universität München die Zahl der hauptberuflichen Professorinnen in der Vergangenheit erheblich vergrößern. Der Frauenanteil in der Professorenschaft beträgt aktuell 20,9% (zum Vergleich: ETH Zürich 16%, Oxford University 25%, MIT 24,9%).

Fotonachweis: Alle Fotos in diesem Portal von TUM/ Uli Benz, Astrid Eckert und Andreas Heddergott