Prof. Dr. Constantinos Antoniou

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research area of Constantinos Antoniou (b. 1973) is transportation systems engineering. His research focuses primarily on the modelling and simulation of emerging transportation systems, intelligent transport systems (ITS), the calibration and optimization of applications, and the application of behavioral economics in transport, road safety and sustainable transport systems. 

Professor Antoniou holds a degree in civil engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in Greece (1995) as well as a master’s degree in transportation (1997) and a PhD in transportation systems (2004) from MIT (USA). He has authored more than 400 scientific publications, including more than 135 papers in international, peer-reviewed journals, 250 published in international conference proceedings, three books and 25 book chapters. He is a member of several scientific organizations and committees, including of the Transportation Research Board and the Road and Transportation Research Association (FGSV). Professor Antoniou is Deputy Editor in Chief of IET Intelligent Transportation Systems, Associate Editor of Transportation Research Part A: Policy and Practice, Transportation Letters, and EURO Journal on Transportation and Logistics, and sits on the editorial boards of various international journals such as Transportation Research - Part C: Emerging Technologies, Accident Analysis and Prevention and Journal of Intelligent Transportation Systems. 

Awards

  • Best Simulation Application Paper Award, Transportation Research Board (TRB) (2018)
  • Outstanding Paper Award, TRB Committee (2013)
  • Outstanding Application Award, IEEE ITS (2011)
  • Marie Curie Fellowship, International Reintegration Grant, European Union (2006-2008)
  • Milton Pikarsky Memorial Award "For an Outstanding Master of Science Thesis" (1997)

Narayanan S, Chaniotakis E, Antoniou C: “Shared Autonomous Vehicle Services: a Comprehensive Review”. Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies. 2020; 111: 255-293.

Abstract

Al Haddad C, Chaniotakis E, Straubinger A, Plötner K, Antoniou C: “Factors affecting the adoption and use of urban air mobility”. Transportation Research Part A: Policy and Practice. 2020; 132: 696–712.

Abstract

Antoniou C, Dimitriou L, Pereira F: “Mobility Patterns, Big Data and Transport Analytics. Tools and Applications for Modeling”. Elsevier, 2018.

Abstract

Antoniou C, Koutsopoulos HN Yannis G: "Dynamic Data-Driven Local Traffic State Estimation and Prediction". Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies. 2013; 34: 89-107.

Abstract

Tyrinopoulos Y, Antoniou C: "Public transit user satisfaction: Variability and policy implications". Transport Policy. 2008; 15(4): 260-272.

Abstract

Prof. Dr. Constantinos Antoniou

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Antonious (*1973) Forschungsgebiet umfasst den Bereich der vernetzten Verkehrssysteme. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich dabei hauptsächlich auf die Modellierung und Simulation von neuartigen Verkehrssystemen und intelligenten Transportsystemen (ITS), die Kalibrierung und Optimierung von Anwendungen sowie die Anwendung der Verhaltensökonomie auf die Bereiche Verkehr, Verkehrssicherheit und öffentliche Verkehrssysteme. 

Prof. Antoniou erwarb einen Abschluss als Diplom-Bauingenieur an der National Technical University of Athens in Griechenland (1995) sowie einen Masterabschluss (1997) und einen PhD im Bereich Verkehrssysteme (2004) am MIT (USA). Er hat mehr als 400 wissenschaftliche Publikationen veröffentlicht, darunter mehr als 135 in internationalen Peer-Review-Zeitschriften, 250 bei internationalen Konferenzen, drei Bücher und 25 Buchkapitel. Er ist Mitglied mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Organisationen und Ausschüsse, u.a. des Transportation Research Boards und der Forschungsgesellschaft für Straßen- und Verkehrswesen sowie Deputy Editor in Chief von IET Intelligent Transportation Systems, Associate Editor von Transportation Research Part A: Policy and Practice, Transportation Letters, und EURO Journal on Transportation and Logistics, und Redaktionsmitglied internationaler Fachpublikationen wie Transportation Research - Part C: Emerging Technologies, Accident Analysis and Prevention und Journal of Intelligent Transportation Systems.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Best Simulation Application Paper Award, Transportation Research Board (TRB) (2018)
  • Auszeichnung für eine hervorragende Veröffentlichung, TRB-Ausschuss ANB20 (2013)
  • Outstanding Application Award, IEEE ITS (2011)
  • Marie Curie-Forschungsstipendium "International Reintegration", Europäische Union (2006-2008)
  • Milton Pikarsky Memorial Award "für eine hervorragende Masterarbeit", Council of University Transportation Centers (1997)

Narayanan S, Chaniotakis E, Antoniou C: “Shared Autonomous Vehicle Services: a Comprehensive Review”. Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies. 2020; 111: 255-293.

Abstract

Al Haddad C, Chaniotakis E, Straubinger A, Plötner K, Antoniou C: “Factors affecting the adoption and use of urban air mobility”. Transportation Research Part A: Policy and Practice. 2020; 132: 696–712.

Abstract

Antoniou C, Dimitriou L, Pereira F: “Mobility Patterns, Big Data and Transport Analytics. Tools and Applications for Modeling”. Elsevier, 2018.

Abstract

Antoniou C, Koutsopoulos HN Yannis G: "Dynamic Data-Driven Local Traffic State Estimation and Prediction". Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies. 2013; 34: 89-107.

Abstract

Tyrinopoulos Y, Antoniou C: "Public transit user satisfaction: Variability and policy implications". Transport Policy. 2008; 15(4): 260-272.

Abstract