Prof. Dr. Benedikt Boucsein

Professorship

Urban Design

Department

Architecture

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Boucsein (b. 1979) conducts research into the conversion of everyday post-war city districts, negotiation processes surrounding large urban infrastructures, projects pioneering radical change towards sustainable urban living, and the production conditions of architecture and urban development. The main focus of his work is on the European Megalopolis.

Benedikt Boucsein studied architecture at the RWTH Aachen and the ETH Zurich from 1999 to 2005 and received his doctorate from 2005 to 2008 at the Institute for History and Theory of Architecture of the ETH under Andreas Tönnesmann on the "Grey Architecture" of the post-war period. From 2007 to 2017 he researched and taught at the ETH Zurich for Felix Claus and Kees Christiaanse. In 2007 he founded BHSF Architects in Zurich with Axel Humpert and Tim Seidel (since 2020 also in Munich). Together with them and Jeanette Beck he edited the magazine Camenzind from 2005-2018. In 2018 he was appointed to the professorship for Urban Design at the TUM.

Boucsein B, Kasioumi E, Fettahoglu-Özgen E: „The front side-backyard-multiplicity“. archimaera. 2021; Nr. 9.

Boucsein B, Christiaanse K, Kasioumi E, Salewski C: “The Noise Landscape. A Spatial Exploration of Airports and Cities”. Rotterdam: nai010 publishers, 2017.

Boucsein B: "The Need for Compromise, and Other Lessons from West Germany’s Grey Architecture". Dialectic – The Journal of the School of Architecture. 2017.

Boucsein B: "Situation. Vom Sehen, Erleben und Verändern städtischer Räume." In: Die Stadt als Ressource. Texte und Projekte 2005-2014. Editor: Rieniets T, Kretschmann N, Perret M. Berlin: jovis, 2014; 25-34.

Boucsein B: “Graue Architektur. Bauen im Westdeutschland der Nachkriegszeit”. Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König. 2010.

Prof. Dr. Benedikt Boucsein

Professur

Urban Design

Fakultät

Architektur

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Boucseins (*1979) Forschungsgebiete sind der Umbau alltäglicher Stadtquartiere der Nachkriegszeit, Aushandlungsprozesse im Kontext städtischer Infrastrukturen, Pioniere einer nachhaltigen urbanen Lebensweise sowie die Produktionsbedingungen von Architektur und Städtebau. Der Hauptfokus seiner Arbeit liegt auf der Europäischen Megalopolis.

Benedikt Boucsein studierte von 1999 bis 2005 an der RWTH Aachen und der ETH Zürich Architektur und promovierte von 2005 bis 2008 am Institut für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur der ETH bei Andreas Tönnesmann zur "Grauen Architektur" der Nachkriegszeit. Von 2007 bis 2017 forschte und lehrte er an der ETH Zürich bei Felix Claus und Kees Christiaanse. 2007 gründete er mit Axel Humpert und Tim Seidel das Büro BHSF Architekten in Zürich (seit 2020 mit Zweigstelle in München). Gemeinsam mit ihnen und Jeanette Beck war er zudem von 2005-2018 Gründer und Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift Camenzind. 2018 wurde er auf die Professur für Urban Design an die TUM berufen.

Boucsein B, Kasioumi E, Fettahoglu-Özgen E: „The front side-backyard-multiplicity“. archimaera. 2021; Nr. 9.

Boucsein B, Christiaanse K, Kasioumi E, Salewski C: “The Noise Landscape. A Spatial Exploration of Airports and Cities”. Rotterdam: nai010 publishers, 2017.

Boucsein B: "The Need for Compromise, and Other Lessons from West Germany’s Grey Architecture". Dialectic – The Journal of the School of Architecture. 2017.

Boucsein B: "Situation. Vom Sehen, Erleben und Verändern städtischer Räume." In: Die Stadt als Ressource. Texte und Projekte 2005-2014. Editor: Rieniets T, Kretschmann N, Perret M. Berlin: jovis, 2014; 25-34.

Boucsein B: “Graue Architektur. Bauen im Westdeutschland der Nachkriegszeit”. Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König. 2010.