TUM – Technical University of Munich Menü

Prof. Dr. Alessio Gagliardi

Academic Career and Research Areas

Professor Gagliardi’s research focuses on the development and application of numerical models to simulate nanostructured devices, in particular, new solar cells (organic semiconductors, perovskite based), electrochemical systems (nanostructured cathodes for fuel cells) and organic semiconductor materials. The development of new models spans from nanoscale (Density Functional Theory, Quantum Green functions) to mesoscale (Kinetic Monte Carlo) and the macroscopic (Drift-diffusion). He also develops TiberCAD and GDFTB software. His most recent research concerns multiscale modeling for organic semiconductors and the use of machine/deep learning approaches to material science.

After studying engineering at the University of Rome Tor Vergata (Italy), Professor Gagliardi received his doctorate in physics from the University of Paderborn in 2007. He later worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the Bremen Center for Computational Material Science and in Rome, before being appointed tenure track assistant professor at TUM in 2014.

Key Publications (all publications)

Lederer J, Kaiser W, Mattoni A, Gagliardi A: "Machine Learning–Based Charge Transport Computation for Pentacene". Advanced Theory and Simulations. 2018; 1800136-1800146.

Abstract

Rück M, Bandarenka A, Calle-Vallejo F, Gagliardi A: "Oxygen Reduction Reaction: Rapid Prediction of Mass Activity of Nanostructured Platinum Electrocatalysts". The journal of physical chemistry letters. 2018; 9(15): 4463-4468.

Abstract

Albes T, Gagliardi A: "Charge Pair Separation Dynamics in Organic Bulk‐Heterojunction Solar Cells". Advanced Theory and Simulations. 2018; 1800032.

Abstract

Gagliardi A, Abate A: "Mesoporous Electron Selective Contacts Enhance the Tolerance to Interfacial Ions Accumulation in Perovskite Solar Cells". ACS Energy Letters. 2017; 12: 1-20.

Abstract

Schulze G, Franke KJ, Gagliardi A, Romano G, Lin C, Da Rosa A, Niehaus TA, Frauenheim Th, Di Carlo A, Pecchia A, Pascual JI: “Resonant Electron Heating and Molecular Phonon Cooling in Single C60 Junctions”. Physical Review Letter. 2008; 100: 136801.

Abstract

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Gagliardi erforscht die Entwicklung und Anwendung numerischer Modelle für die Simulation nanostrukturierter Bauelemente. Sein Fokus liegt dabei auf neuen Solarzellen (organische, auf Perowskit basierende Halbleiter), elektrochemischen Systemen (nanostrukturierte Kathoden für Brennstoffzellen) und organischen Halbleitermaterialien. Die Entwicklung neuer Modelle reicht von der Nanoskala (Density Functional Theory, Quantum Green Functions) über die Mesoskala (Kinetic Monte Carlo) bis hin zur Makroskopie (Drift-Diffusion). Er entwickelt auch TiberCAD- und GDFTB-Software. Seine neuesten Forschungsarbeiten befassen sich mit der Multiskalenmodellierung für organische Halbleiter und der Verwendung von Machine- / Deep-Learning-Ansätzen in der Materialwissenschaft.

Nach dem Ingenieurstudium an der Universität Rom Tor Vergata (Italien) promovierte Professor Gagliardi 2007 an der Universität Paderborn in Physik. Später arbeitete er als Postdoc am Bremer Zentrum für Computermaterialien und in Rom, bevor er 2014 zum Tenure Track Assistant Professor an der TUM ernannt wurde.

H Michaels, M Rinderle, R Freitag, I Benesperi, T Edvinsson, R Socher, A Gagliardi, M Freitag: “Dye-sensitized solar cells under ambient light powering machine learning: towards autonomous smart sensors for the internet of things”. CHEMICAL SCIENCE. 2020; 11:2895-2906.

Abstract

B Garlyyev, K Kratzl, M Rück, J Michalička, J Fichtner, J M. Macak, T Kratky, S Günther, M Cokoja, A Bandarenka, A Gagliardi, R. A. Fischer: “How small: selecting the optimal size of Pt nanoparticles for enhanced oxygen electro-reduction mass activity”. Angewandte Chemie. 2019; 58, 9596-9600.

Abstract

M Rinderle, W Kaiser, A Mattoni, A Gagliardi: “Machine-Learned Charge Transfer Integrals for Multiscale Simulations in Organic Thin Films”. Journal of Physical Chemistry C. 2020; 124: 17733-17743.

Abstract

M Rück, B Garlyyev, F Mayr, A S Bandarenka, A Gagliardi: “Oxygen Reduction Activities of Strained Platinum Core–Shell Electrocatalysts Predicted by Machine Learning”. Journal of physical chemistry letters. 2020; 11: 1773-1780.

Abstract

W Kaiser, A Gagliardi: “Kinetic Monte Carlo Study of the Role of the Energetic Disorder on the Open-Circuit Voltage in Polymer/Fullerene Solar Cells”. Journal of physical chemistry letters. 2019; 10 (20): 6097-61041.

Abstract