Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Prof. Bernhard Hemmer

Contact Details

Business card at TUMonline

Academic Career and Research Areas

Prof. Hemmer (b. 1963) has been Director of the Neurology Clinic at TUM’s rechts der Isar clinic since 2007. He specializes in the field of neuroimmunology. His work focuses on research into B-cells and T-cells in inflammatory diseases of the central nervous system, especially multiple sclerosis (MS). Furthermore, he is investigating genetic factors relevant to the development and treatment of MS.  
After studying human medicine, Prof. Hemmer obtained his doctorate at the University of Freiburg in 1991. He worked at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, USA, in 1995 thanks to a German Research Foundation (DFG) grant. He obtained his specialist medical training at the university hospitals in Freiburg and Marburg. He worked as a senior physician in Marburg and as Deputy Clinic Director in Düsseldorf. Since 2007, Prof. Hemmer has been professor of neurology at TUM. He is on the board of the disease-oriented Competence Network Multiple Sclerosis, the medical advisory board of the German Multiple Sclerosis Society, the excellence cluster SyNery and the EU project MultipleMS. He has been a member of the executive committee of the European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis since 2012 and has been its president since 2018.

Awards

  • Sobek Research Prize (2013)
  • Heisenberg Fellowship (2001)
  • Heinrich Pette Award of the German Neurological Society (2000)
  • Langheinrich Prize (1998)

Key Publications

Srivastava R, Aslam M, Kalluri SR, Schirmer L, Buck D, Tackenberg B, Rothhammer V, Chan A, Gold R, Berthele A, Bennett JL, Korn T, Hemmer B: „The Potassium Channel KIR4.1 as an Immune Target in Multiple Sclerosis“. NEJM. 2012; 367: 115-23.

Bennett JL, Lam C, Kalluri SR, Saikali P, Bautista K, Dupree C, Glogowska M, Case D, Antel JP, Owens GP, Gilden D, Nessler S, Stadelmann C, Hemmer B : „Intrathecal Pathogenic Anti–Aquaporin-4 Antibodies in Early Neuromyelitis Optica“. Ann Neurol. 2009; 66(5): 617-629.

Abstract

Cepok S, Zhou D, Srivastava R, Grummel V, Büssow K, Nessler S, Sommern N, Hemmer B: “Identification of Epstein-Barr-Virus proteins as putative targets of the immune response in multiple sclerosis”. J. Clin. Invest. 2005; 115: 1352-1360.

Abstract

Hemmer B, Gran B, Zhao Y, Marques A, Pinilla C, Pascal J, Tzou A, Kondo T, Cortese I, Bielekova B, Straus S, McFarland HF, Houghten R, Simon R, Martin R: “Identification of candidate T-cell epitopes and molecular mimics in chronic Lyme disease”. Nat. Med. 1999; 5: 1375-1382.

Hemmer B, Fleckenstein BT, Vergelli M, Jung G, McFarland HF, Martin R, Wiesmüller KH: “Identification of high potency microbial and self ligands for a human autoreactive class-II restricted T cell clone”. J. Exp. Med. 1997; 185: 1651-1660.

Prof. Bernhard Hemmer

Professur

Neurologie

Fakultät

Medizin

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Prof. Hemmer (*1963) ist seit 2007 Direktor der Klinik für Neurologie am TUM-Klinikum rechts der Isar. Er ist Spezialist auf dem Gebiet der entzündlichen Erkrankungen des Nervensystems insbesondere der Multiplen Sklerose. Wissenschaftlich beschäftigt er sich mit den Ursachen, dem Verlauf und der Behandlung der Multiplen Sklerose.

Nach dem Studium der Humanmedizin promovierte Prof. Hemmer 1991 an der Universität Freiburg. Ein DFG-Stipenium führte ihn 1995 an die National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, USA. Seine Facharztausbildung erhielt er an den Universitätskliniken in Freiburg und Marburg. Als Oberarzt war er in Marburg und als stellvertretender Klinikdirektor in Düsseldorf tätig. Seit 2007 ist Prof. Hemmer Ordinarius für Neurologie an der TUM. Er ist im Vorstand des Krankheitsorientierten Kompetenznetzes für Multiple Sklerose, des Ärztlichen Beirats der Deutschen Multiplen Sklerose Gesellschaft, des Exzellenzclusters SyNery und des EU Projekt MultipleMS. Von 2012 bis 2020 war er im Executive Committee des European Congress for the Treatment and Research of Multiple Sclerosis vertreten und stand diesem von 2018 bis 2020 als Präsident vor. Seit 2020 ist er Mitglied des Nationalen Steuerungsgremiums der Medizininformatik Initiative. Von 2010 bis 2019 war er Prodekan und seit 2019 ist er Dekan der Fakultät für Medizin der TUM.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Sobek Forschungspreis (2013)
  • Heisenbergstipendium (2001)
  • Heinrich Pette-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Neurologie (2000)
  • Langheinrich Preis (1998)

Gasperi C, et al, Hemmer B. “Intrathecal immunoglobulin G synthesis is associated with disability worsening in multiple sclerosis.“ Jama Neurol. 76:841-84 (2019).

Abstract

Srivastava R, Aslam M, Kalluri SR, Schirmer L, Buck D, Tackenberg B, Rothhammer V, Chan A, Gold R, Berthele A, Bennett JL, Korn T, Hemmer B: „The Potassium Channel KIR4.1 as an Immune Target in Multiple Sclerosis“. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2012; 367: 115-23.

Abstract

Bennett JL, Lam C, Kalluri SR, Saikali P, Bautista K, Dupree C, Glogowska M, Case D, Antel JP, Owens GP, Gilden D, Nessler S, Stadelmann C, Hemmer B : „Intrathecal Pathogenic Anti–Aquaporin-4 Antibodies in Early Neuromyelitis Optica“. Ann Neurol. 2009; 66(5): 617-629.

Abstract

Cepok S, Zhou D, Srivastava R, Grummel V, Büssow K, Nessler S, Sommern N, Hemmer B: “Identification of Epstein-Barr-Virus proteins as putative targets of the immune response in multiple sclerosis”. J. Clin. Invest. 2005; 115: 1352-1360.

Abstract

Hemmer B, Gran B, Zhao Y, Marques A, Pinilla C, Pascal J, Tzou A, Kondo T, Cortese I, Bielekova B, Straus S, McFarland HF, Houghten R, Simon R, Martin R: “Identification of candidate T-cell epitopes and molecular mimics in chronic Lyme disease”. Nature Medicine. 1999; 5(12): 1375-1382.

Abstract