Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Academic Career and Research Areas

The research activities of Professor Pail (b. 1972) focus on physical and numerical geodesy with the main emphasis on the global and regional modeling of the earth’s gravity field and gravity data from satellites. Models of the earth’s gravity field play a decisive role in the definition of elevation systems and make significant contributions to the monitoring of climate-relevant mass transport processes, such as ocean circulation, rising sea levels and the melting of ice masses, and to the geophysical modeling of the earth’s core.
After studying geophysics at the University of Vienna, Professor Pail received his doctorate in engineering sciences (sub auspiciis praesidentis) from TU Graz in 1999. Subsequently he was an assistant professor at TU Graz until 2009. In 2010 he was appointed to the Chair of Astronomical and Physical Geodesy at TUM. Professor Pail is President of the IAG (International Association of Geodesy) Commission 2 “Gravity Field”, and a member of several national and international committees.

Awards

  • Young Authors Award 2005 der International Association of Geodesy (2006)
  • Allmer-Löschner-Preis der Österreichi¬schen Geodätischen Kommission (2000)
  • Josef-Krainer-Förderungspreis(2000)
  • Promotion „sub auspiciis praesidentis“ (1999)
  • Würdigungspreis des Bundesministers für Wissenschaft und Verkehr für hervorragende Studienleistungen (1999)

Key Publications (all publications)

Fecher T, Pail R, Gruber Th, GOCO Consortium: “GOCO05c: A New Combined Gravity Field Model Based on Full Normal Equations and Regionally Varying Weighting”. Surveys in Geophysics. 2017. DOI: 10.1007/s10712-016-9406-y.

Abstract

Pail R, Bingham R, Braitenberg C, Dobslaw H, Eicker A, Güntner A, Horwath M, Ivins E, Longuevergne L, Panet I, Wouters B: “Science and User Needs for Observing Global Mass Transport to Understand Global Change and to Benefit Society”. Surveys in Geophysics. 2015; 36(6): 743-772.

Abstract

Pail R, Bruinsma S, Migliaccio F, Förste C, Goiginger H, Schuh W-D, Höck E, Reguzzoni M, Brockmann JM, Abrikosov O, Veicherts M, Fecher T, Mayrhofer R, Krasbutter I, Sansó F, Tscherning CC: “First GOCE gravity field models derived by three different approaches”. Journal of Geodesy. 2011; 85(11): 819-843.

Abstract

Pail R, Goiginger, Schuh WD, Höck E, Brockmann JM, Fecher T, Gruber T, Mayer-Gürr T, Kusche J, Jäggi A, Rieser D: „Combined satellite gravity field model GOCO01S derived from GOCE and GRACE“. Geophysical Research Letters 2010; 37, L20314, doi: 10.1029/2010GL044906.

Abstract

Pail R: “A parametric study on the impact of satellite attitude errors on GOCE gravity field recovery”. Journal of Geodesy. 2005; 79(4-5), 231-241.
DOI: 10.1007/s00190-005-0464-z

Abstract

Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

Wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und Forschungsgebiete

Die Forschungsaktivitäten von Prof. Pail (*1972) umfassen Themen der physikalischen und numerischen Geodäsie, mit den Schwerpunkten  globale und regionale Modellierung des Schwerefeldes der Erde und Satelliten-Schwerefeldmissionen. Modelle des Erdschwerefeldes spielen eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Definition von Höhensystemen und liefern wichtige Beiträge zur Überwachung von Massentransportprozessen, wie z.B. Ozeanzirkulation, Meeresspiegelanstieg oder Abschmelzen von Eismassen, sowie zur geophysikalischen Modellierung des Erdinneren.

Nach dem Studium der Geophysik an der Universität Wien promovierte er 1999 an der TU Graz sub auspiciis praesidentis zum Doktor der Technischen Wissenschaften und habilitierte sich im Jahre 2002. Bis 2009 war er als außerordentlicher Universitätsprofessor an der TU Graz tätig. 2010 wurde Prof. Pail auf den Lehrstuhl für Astronomische und Physikalische Geodäsie der TUM berufen. Prof. Pail ist Vorsitzender der IAG Sub-Commission 2.3 „Dedicated Satellite Gravity Mapping Missions“ und Mitglied in diversen nationalen und internationalen Gremien.

Wichtigste Auszeichnungen

  • Young Authors Award 2005 der International Association of Geodesy (2006)
  • Allmer-Löschner-Preis der Österreichi¬schen Geodätischen Kommission (2000)
  • Josef-Krainer-Förderungspreis(2000)
  • Promotion „sub auspiciis praesidentis“ (1999)
  • Würdigungspreis des Bundesministers für Wissenschaft und Verkehr für hervorragende Studienleistungen (1999)

Schlüsselpublikationen (alle Publikationen)

Pail R, Goiginger, Schuh WD, Höck E, Brockmann JM, Fecher T, Gruber T, Mayer-Gürr T, Kusche J, Jäggi A, Rieser D: „Combined satellite gravity field model GOCO01S derived from GOCE and GRACE“. Geophysical Research Letters 2010; 37, L20314, doi: 10.1029/2010GL044906.

Abstract

Pail R, Reguzzoni M, Sansó F, Kühtreiber N: “On the combination of global and local data in collocation theory”. Studia Geophysica et Geodaetica. 2010, 54(2): 195-218. DOI: 10.1007/s11200-010-0010-1.

Abstract

Pail R, Kühtreiber N, Wiesenhofer B, Hofmann-Wellenhof B, Of G, Steinbach O, Höggerl N, Imrek E, Ruess D, Ullrich C: „The Austrian Geoid 2007“. VGI - Österreichische Zeitschrift für Vermessung und Geoinformation. 2008; 96(1): 3-14.

Abstract

Pail R: “A parametric study on the impact of satellite attitude errors on GOCE gravity field recovery”. Journal of Geodesy. 2005; 79(4-5), 231-241.
DOI: 10.1007/s00190-005-0464-z

Abstract

Pail R, Plank G: “Assessment of three numerical solution strategies for gravity field recovery from GOCE satellite gravity gradiometry implemented on a parallel platform”. Journal of Geodesy. 2002; 76(8), 462-474. DOI: 10.1007/s00190-002-0277-2

Abstract