Humboldt Professors

The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship is Germany’s most prestigious international research award. The winners are selected through a highly competitive process. Qualifiers must play a pivotal and internationally visible role in shaping their field of research. Recipients of the Humboldt Professorship take up a chair at the university that nominated them. Set up in 2008, the Professorship is awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

Burkhard Rost (2009)

Gerhard Kramer (2010)

Hans-Arno Jacobsen (2011)

Matthias Tschöp (2012)

Andreas Schulz (2014)

Marco Caccamo (2018)

Daniel Rückert (2020)

Angela Schoellig (2021)

Stefanie Jegelka (2024)

Suvrit Sra (2024)

Prof. Burkhard Rost Burhard Rost is one of the researchers who has decisively shaped the development of bioinformatics into the indispensable discipline we know today. 2008 Rost came from Columbia University to Technische Universität München.
(a film of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation)

Prof. Gerhard Kramer is one of the world’s leading researchers in information theory and communications engineering. His innovative achievements in the most diverse areas of telecommunications technology, from radio engineering to optical data communication, have been highly acclaimed. Since 2010 he has been Alexander von Humboldt Professor at Technische Universität München.
(a film of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation)

Prof. Hans-Arno Jacobsen is a renowned researcher in information systems. After studying and completing his doctorate in Germany, France and the USA, Hans-Arno Jacobsen did a postdoc in Paris before moving to the University of Toronto in 2001. There, he held the positions of professor of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Department of Computer Science. His pioneering research lies at the interface between computer science, computer engineering and information systems. He holds numerous patents and was involved in important industrial developments with partners like Bell Canada, CA, IBM and Yahoo!. He is particularly interested in the distributed management of workflows. His research explores event-based computing with a wide range of applications in enterprise data processing, the design and development of ultra-large-scale systems and energy management. Hans-Arno Jacobsen joined TUM in the 2011/12 winter semester.
(a film of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation)

Prof. Matthias Tschöp (formerly of the University of Cincinnati) is one of the world’s leading researchers for the metabolic diseases diabetes and obesity. His work focuses on molecular signaling pathways, which play a role in diabetes and insulin resistance. Matthias Tschöp will be a valuable addition to the Diabetes Research Group, which TUM and Helmholtz Zentrum München have earmarked as a long-term research priority. Prof. Tschöp is the first MD to be awarded a Humboldt Professorship.
(a film of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation)

Prof. Andreas S. Schulz (formerly of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology) is one of the world’s leading experts in Operations Research. His appointment provides a springboard for the establishment of an interdisciplinary research center uniting Mathematics and Management Sciences at TUM. Prof. Schulz is a leading light in this interdisciplinary field of study, which develops mathematical models and methods to help find meaningful solutions to complex economic, technical and societal decision problems.
(a film of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation).

With the appointment of Prof. Marco Caccamo to a Humboldt Professorship in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, TUM has further enhanced its faculty with one of the world's most renowned experts in the field of safety-critical, real-time systems. In addition to basic research in real-time computing, Caccamo works with industrial partners to develop concrete applications. Safety-critical real-time systems are indispensable to the Internet of Things (IoT) and play a key role, for example, in nuclear power plants, in the aviation industry or in self-driving vehicles. At TUM, Prof. Caccamo will be tasked with establishing a new, interdisciplinary institute for cyber-physical systems.
(a film of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation)


Computer scientist Prof. Stefanie Jegelka has made a name for herself with her fundamental work on better understanding and optimizing graph neural networks (GNNs). In Munich, she will advance the theoretical understanding of machine learning and develop algorithms and trustworthy machine learning tools.
(a film by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation)


When mathematics meets AI and optimization meets machine learning: With his fundamental work on optimization methods, mathematician Prof. Suvrit Sra has contributed to the theoretical understanding and further development of learning systems like no other. With the Humboldt Professorship for Artificial Intelligence, the Technical University of Munich (TUM) aims to further expand its leading position in the field of artificial intelligence.
(a film by the Alexander Humboldt Foundation)